We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for 1 night away from beach”
Review of Fort Bliss Galle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort Bliss Galle
Ranked #2 of 153 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

The inn is located in a great spot near the sea walls, but within the fort. The room was very nice...we had a problem also with the hot water...our fault we turned off the switch by accident..English did seem to be a problem...email the website while you are there...problems solved..breakfast was fine..fruit, juice,eggs ,and toast..not great bread...Don't miss Crepology !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Given all the good reviews we did hv some expectations about Fort Bliss. It does look pretty on the outside but scratch the surface just a bit and things r less than blissful. Hot water wasn't working (although this was fixed by the second day - problem with the switch), stains on the bedsheet, half hearted attempts at making the room (bed not made properly, broom left in toilet) were just a few eg.s.

staff were obliging but we just didn't get the warm feeling that we got in other guesthouses we stayed in in sri lanka - at the same prices. even our local driver communicated to us that he did not trust the caretaker and advised us not to ask him too many questions.

we were served mixed fruit juice with our first breakfast, v nice and fresh, but at the second breakfast, it tasted diluted and we kinda guessed they must hv diluted it with water as there were more guests at the table (4 more ppl joining us). i read with envy the banana pancakes posted by another reviewer - we didn't get those!

Overall, there were no serious problems but compared to other similarly priced places we stayed at, Fort Bliss fell short. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Master bedroom is definitely bigger and probably doesn't cost much more. Our room at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Fort Bliss was our 5 th stop on our trip around Sri Lanka. It is situated inside the fort and right by the edge of the ramparts overlooking the sea. It's an attractive and original Colonial building with 4 rooms so a nice homely feel to it. As you entered there was a large 'living area' where we ate breakfast.
Our room was upstairs right at the end so a beautiful sea view over the ramparts!! Good sized room with a nice bathroom.
Breakfast was freshly made with fresh fruit platter, eggs,toast, all you really need!
Well situated for exploring the fort area.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, we would highly recommend this guest house for a trip to Galle especially if you want to stay within the Fort area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

A lovely small guest house within the Old Fort, our room was immaculate, clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast was nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay there again if visiting Galle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is situated in Galle Fort, an ancient Fort devoloped during the colonial eras of Portugese, Dutch and English. The hotel also inherits the colonial architecture. Hotel and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Two pleasant boys are available for services. Ideal place for sight seen as two ancient churches one Dutch and Protestant, Marine museum and all the ancient buildings are just around Fortbliss. Hotel provides superb breakfast. The banana pancake not to be missed by visitors as nowhere else to be tasted. Good if the two boys would be clad in traditional colonial indigenous dresses.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at this charming B&B recently & absolutely enjoyed it. We had a room with a view of the beautiful ramparts & the ocean, the sound of the sea most pleasing, finely furnished, clean linen & a well appointed ensuite. An early morning stroll just outside offers magnificent sunrise views. Being a house with only 4 bedrooms, it has just enough guests at full house to make the shared living areas warm & communal but not crowded. The caretaker & cook are most helpful & serve a very fine breakfast, the pancakes excellent. Galle Fort in itself is such a ver charming place and this,a very handy place to explore it from. So many choices for eating places just a stroll away, quaint, posh, stylish, off the beaten track... or to any preference.

Room Tip: The end room upstairs has got to be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilpand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

A wonderful old building that is so well situated in the old part of Galle Fort.A group of six ,so we had the place to ourselves .The upstairs rooms had views of the Indian Ocean ,I stayed in the room downstairs winch was a bit noisy when the workers arrived in the morning .
We were there during the monsoons so we had a lot of rain!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
0.2 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 153 in Galle
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#1 of 153 in Galle
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antic
Antic
#5 of 153 in Galle
87 reviews
1 mi away
Kikili House
Kikili House
#10 of 153 in Galle
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Bliss Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Bliss Galle

Address: 84 Lighthouse Street | Fort, Galle 1992, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £50 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Bliss Galle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Bliss Galle, a Dutch-style colonial villa situated in the paradise Fort of Galle, a UNESCO world heritage site. Overlooking the ramparts with a sea view, the villa is a sight to behold. Antique furniture alongside intricate Moroccan lamps adorn this four bedroom getaway. Facilities such as A/C, ceiling fans, hot water, Wi-Fi and cable TV are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Bliss Galle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing