We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a magical Find,”
Review of Fort Bliss Galle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Bliss Galle
Ranked #4 of 121 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a magical Find,”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Have just spent a week out of our 15 day holiday in Sri Lanka at this quaint hotel within the walls of the now infamous Galle Fort. Apart from the hosts seemlessly making my wife, 2 kids and I feel totally at home, they go to unexpected lengths to suprise and deliver at every turn. At the very affordable price, we were blown away. I can't recommend this experience enough. We will most definitely return. No pool or fitness centre, but free WiFi throughout, and being 2 minutes walk from Lighthouse beach more than makes up for there being no pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the master bedroom above reception, it is massive and an absolute treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZVantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    93
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
149
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Very clean, spacious rooms with good wifi, great hot shower and lovely view. Great restaurants nearby and only a 20 minute walk to the train station.

Staff were helpful and we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegTAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

There were definitely aspects of this boutique hotel to enjoy. The location is good, within the fort. The reception/lounge/dining area was very nice and a cool breeze came through the room. The Manager was able to provide adapters when we needed them. The breakfast omelette was superb.

Down sides - no hot water in one of the bathrooms, breakfast was agreed for 7 am as we were leaving at 8 but wasn't served until 7.50 and only then after we asked again. One of our rooms was downstairs (there is only one) and it is next to the kitchen/laundry with the staff room after that. It was very annoying that late at night there were very loud conversations - not angry, just very loud, that actually woke us up and for some reason there was drilling being done late at night that made the shower run!!
A very disturbed night with little sleep.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortBlissGalle, Manager at Fort Bliss Galle, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry over the inconveniences caused and would like to deeply apologize. Concerning the late breakfast service, we have spoken to the staff about it and are keen to improve ourselves to simply serve our customers better. However the drilling was on the other side of the wall in a neighboring house, and unfortunately was beyond our control.

I take this opportunity to welcome you back to Fort Bliss another time, for a better and more fruitful experience.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A very friendly guest house in Galle Fort which served the best breakfasts that we had over our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka (go for the Sri Lankan breakfast - it is worth it!). Fort Bliss is a friendly small guest-house (not a hotel) with clean spacious rooms and decent showers in a great location to explore Galle Fort. One note - payment is cash only

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Beautifully maintained small friendly hotel. They only serve breakfast but this does not matter as there is an excellent choice of restaurants within walking distance in Galle and the staff at the hotel are happy to make good recommendations. You should try the Sri Lankan breakfast with hoppers which is excellent. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Was really pleasantly surprised by Galle (Fort) and this hotel.

Beautiful room overlooking ocean. Clean, hot water worked perfectly as long as you switch it on - great shower.

Easy to walk around the Fort. Breakfast was huge and pretty good.

Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: One overlooking ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt1357908642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent three days here after having seven days at another guesthouse in Galle Fort. The room was very nice with view over the rampart, comfortable, good bathroom. Wi-fi did not work in that end room. Nice lounge area for Wi-fi,ing downstairs and performance was good. But the two young staff were not up to the standard expected for the pricing. They tried their best and were quite pleasant but they were not well trained in their profession, did not present all that well and seemed to have a few friends popping in from time to time. It was difficult to communicate at times and the contrast with our other Galle Fort experience was quite stark. Just not worth the dollars asked!

Room Tip: Upstairs end room has view but no Wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortBlissGalle, Manager at Fort Bliss Galle, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments, as it aids us tremendously in bettering the guest house. We are sincerely sorry for the troubles incurred by you and apologize on behalf of the staff as well. The WI-FI has since been fixed, and as of now it functions in throughout the villa. Regarding the staff, we have looked into the additional persons entering the property, and have also taken your remarks into consideration.

We hope you visit us on your next trip to Galle, and experience superior service and a more ‘blissful’ stay.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#2 of 121 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Bliss Galle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Bliss Galle

Property: Fort Bliss Galle
Address: 84 Lighthouse Street | Fort, Galle 1992, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Bliss Galle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Bliss Galle, a breath taking Dutch-style colonial villa situated in the paradise Fort of Galle, a UNESCO world heritage site. Overlooking the green swept ramparts and armed with an electrifying sea view, the villa is a sight to behold. Antique furniture alongside intricate Moroccan lamps adorn this exquisitely decorated four bedroom getaway. Modern facilities such as A/C, ceiling fans, hot water, Wi-Fi and cable TV in the lounge area are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Bliss Galle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing