We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Old Dutch House
Ranked #95 of 160 Galle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The hotel looks fantastic inside, no shoes allowed so its very clean with varnished wood and tiles throughout. The rooms were superb, much more luxurious than the price and the breakfast was one of the best in Sri Lanka.
The only negative is we only stayed for one night!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

We booked this place because of the good mentioning in the Lonely Planet, but this was a big mistake.

We made a phone booking and received a confirmation that they had a room for us during requested nights. When we some days later arrived to the hotel, they told us that no room was available at the main hotel, so they would put us in another of their places. We had to load our stuff in to a Tuk Tuk, and then they drove us to a very basic shabby home stay. For this they wanted the same amount as the main hotel. When we refused they told us everything in Galle was fully booked and we had 15 minutes to decide if we wanted the room or not. Of cause we refused, left and found out that there where plenty of other places available.

Later we met some other people who experienced the same, which makes us to believe that this is some kind of scam going on. (I asked for the managers name 3 times, and every time he gave me a different name)

This was also the first and only time we met unfriendly and unhelpful people in Sri Lanka.

So just stay away, so many better and nicer places in Galle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed two nights in the walled city and if there is a cleaner place to stay, I need to know about it! Friendly staff, decent breakfast, soft spoken, warm manager who will softly invite you into the jewelry store, but with no pressure. We stayed in a small room with no adjoining bathroom due to a late booking. This place fills up so book ahead. It is so convenient to all attractions in the old city ( as are any hotels within), but the cleanliness and brightness was great. Stay in the larger rooms by booking ahead. Very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

While the staff is extremely attentive (Sri Lankan people are truly amazingly friendly) this place is too expensive. The hotel has been nicely renovated, but it remains a basic hotel in the middle of the Fort. There are a lot of other hotels in the Fort, and unless it is the busiest season of all, I would suggest anyone not booking in advance, but just arrrive to Galle and pay a tuktuk 2 dollars to take you around the fort and look at the hotels. I have no particular complaints about the place, other than the price. The rooms are spacious and ok, although there was no bedside tables and the bathroom was a little haphardous, with some bad smell. Other than that, breakfast was decent enough for what you can expect from an included breakfast and the location is okay.

Room Tip: Do not make any reservations in Galle, just arrive and look at the different hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Based on the comments in lonely planet we booked a room. Unfortunately we got one of the rooms on the ground floor where all walls are completely moulded and just overpainted. Of course there was a really bad smell in this room. After my complaint we got the junior suite which is tiny and has a shared bathroom. Unfortunately no money back from the manager altough it was half price of our booked room. The rooms in the first floor are fine but if you don't wanna be cheaten book another hotel and get what you pay for without any troubles.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed at the guest house for 8 nights. Overall, it was a good experience. The room was nice and comfortable, the guest house was kept neat and tidy. The owner was extremely helpful and polite, the waiters and the staff were extremely courteous and went out of their way to help you at times.

Inside the room, there was a few issues with the AC, wasn't cooling to the optimum level. Hot water wasn't available as promised, even though there was a geyser in the room, but these are just minor issues.

It is on the expensive side. Unfortunately, WIFI wasn't catching inside the room, so every time I needed access to emails or internet, had to sit in the lobby.

Food wise - Basic English breakfast with toasts, bread, omelette and tea/coffee. The Typical Sri Lankan breakfast was ordinary.

Overall, I'd rate it at 7 on a scale of 10. If you want to stay in town and not away from the city centre, go for it. Very close to the fort, bus stop, shopping market etc, so it gives you the convenience.

Room Tip: Choose a double room if you really want a comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainshanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Lovely little guesthouse and it would have been a pleasant stay if the owner just left you alone instead of trying to sell you gems and other things. And he was most persistent despite me telling him on many occasions that I did not want to buy anything. Some of the staff I also found to be a bit pushy.
Apart from that I thought the guesthouse was rather nice and charming. I had a lovely large room with attached bathroom. The room was nicely furnished. In a corner was a very very small TV with satellite channels and AC was available.
The communal areas were comfortable and cosy.
The bathroom was very small and whenever I had the shower everything in the bathroom got wet
The breakfast was very basic although on the second day they gave me yoghurt with honey for which I was very gratefull.
Also I think this guesthouse is a bit expensive .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msmarinaalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.3 mi away
Millennium Resort & Gems
0.3 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 26 in Galle
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#5 of 160 in Galle
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedlar62 Guest House
Pedlar62 Guest House
#7 of 160 in Galle
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Dew Guest House
Fort Dew Guest House
#18 of 160 in Galle
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Old Dutch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Old Dutch House

Address: 21 Middle Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £14 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Old Dutch House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Old Dutch House is situated in Fort, Galle the southern capital of Sri Lanka. Suite rooms with air-condition, attached bathrooms with hot water, satellite TV, WIFI internet and Minibar in a two story building. New Old Dutch House is provides accommodations and also serves as a business center for the tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your New Old Dutch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing