We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearly's Dream Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pearly's Dream Cabanas
Ranked #17 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Galle
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Staying at Dream Cabanas feels truly special, Pearly, Sunil and their sons welcomed us as if we were part of their family, cooking delicious food, and enjoying conversations as we sat by the perfect little beach hidden from the crowds of unawatuna. The other reviews don't lie, our time there was so lovely we doubled our stay as we really couldn't think how the gorgeous setting, the beautiful beach and the lovely family could possibly be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I'm almost reluctant to review this quite as emphatically as I'm about to, since the selfish part of me wants to keep this gorgeous hidden gem all to myself. However…

Pearly's Dream Cabanas are pure magic. Pearly, Sunil and their three wonderful boys have created something really quite special here in this little-visited corner of beach, near (but not too near) to the overcrowded Unawatuna. Come for cheap, delicious home-cooked rice and curry and fish BBQs; for morning tea and fresh fruits on the balcony with the waves crashing beside you; for palm-fringed hammock lounging and paddling in the ocean; for walks along the beach to the bar for an ice-cold Lion beer; for hijinks on the rope swing in the back garden; and for finding a gorgeous Sri Lankan family to call your own.

Just don't expect to find it easy to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pearly's Dream Cabanas are truely wonderful. After meeting Pearly, Sunil and their 3 wonderful children we've returned to Sri Lanka and will continue to come back. The cabanas are simple and have everything you need. The food is delicious and the beach is beautiful. The location is ideal because the beach is very quiet but a short walk and you are at beachside restaurant/bars and a spot were the reef forms a natural swimming pool that is perfect for the children (and adults). The best part of our trips here have been getting to know Pearly and her family. Everyone really goes out of their way to make you feel at home. I highly recommend staying at Pearly's Dream Cabanas to anyone considering a trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our stay at Pearly's Dream Cabana's was the highlight of my three month trip for so many reasons. I would have to say that the main reason for this was the lovely welcome by Pearly, Sunnil and their three lovely boys. They are so helpful, friendly and carling, always on stand-by to offer help with anything they can (partiularly tea and food, lovely breakfast). The cabana's themselves are clean, comfortable and good size with big balcony and set in the most stunnning position. The beach is amazing, although you can't always swim outside the cabana's (due to currents) there is a sheltered lagoon and swimming area within 5 mins walk. The cabana's are near to Unawantana if you fancy a night out, but they are far enough away if you would like a quiet secluded stay away with only the sound of the sea soothing you off to sleep at night. This is not luxury accommodation, but I didn't want for anything during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had the best time! We started our vacation staying at a more fancy hotel down the beach, but soon switched to Dream Cabana. We could not have made a better choice! The rooms (we tried both the upper and the lower one during our stay) are simple, but clean and spacious. The view from the cabanas are priceless, and the beach outside is just wonderful. Eventhough the cabana is just a few hundred meters from the nice bars and restaurants at Unawatuna bay, this stretch of the beach is almost free from tourists. We spent numerous sunrises and sunsets alone at the beach, watching the water, stars, and palm trees.

Pearly, Sunnil and the three boys are tremendous hosts. The breakfast, lunch, dinner and service is perfect. Pearly also hooked us up with her nephew, Amila, who drove us up to Adam's Peak and showed us a great time in the mountains.

If you want a personal touch, stay at Dream Cabana!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

what can I say, fabulous location right on the beach,lovely spacious rooms and balconies and a brilliant host family. This place has everything. Its a great place to sample to beauty of southern Sri Lanka away from the hustle of Unawatuna. Be sure to try Sunnils fresh caught lobsters, and Pearly's devilled prawns. Check out the website www.pearlysdreamsrilanka.webeden.co.uk

Room Tip: Upstairs room has best view,downstairs room has fold away bunks for children and easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northern_Viking_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.1 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
Rock Fort Hotel & Spa
#21 of 29 in Unawatuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.3 mi away
EKA Beach
EKA Beach
#1 of 10 in Talpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
SAYURA Beach Hotel
SAYURA Beach Hotel
#10 of 140 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearly's Dream Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearly's Dream Cabanas

Property: Pearly's Dream Cabanas
Address: Dalawella Junction, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 256 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing