We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“class and character...”
Review of Deco On 44

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deco On 44
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we booked deco on 44 based on the excellent reviews on tripadvisor, and it did not disappoint. this boutique hotel has class and character throughout with high ceilings, tasteful decor with a touch of decadence. the rooms are spacious and have everything you can need (including A/C, wifi, safe, tea/coffee, minibar, toiletries), the bathroom was particularly classy. our room (aurora) was straight off the beautiful pool area, lovely for an early morning dip to the sound of the birdsong. the food was as good as in any london restaurant. breakfast, served on the picturesque verandah, was top quality: fresh coffee, fruit and juice, bread selection and eggs cooked to order. the staff were extremely helpful and service minded, advising us with travel arrangements and ensuring we had a take away breakfast for our early start the next morning. this peaceful hotel is located in the heart of galle fort area, perfect for exploring the fort and for walks around the ramparts to watch the sunset. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Deco on 44 is nicely located in the center of the Galle fort, giving the opportunity to visit the town as a nice walking promenade.
The pool of a decent size is refreshing. Suites (we were in a suite, I cannot say for rooms) are nice in size and decoration.
Staff is always attentive to your needs and helpful.
Overall, the hotel is a very nice stop in Galle with one of the best price to quality ratio.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank J.Chr.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We are not use too so high ranking hotels but we were very impressed by the quality of the service in this place.

The room (Neptune) is a lovely suite with one bedroom, one bathroom, and one living room.

The bedroom offers direct view on the pool and is also quiet (besides for the birds in the morning)

You can choose between three breakfasts menus and they all are really tasty.

One recommendation though for the owner: it would be nice to be able to sleep in the dark instead of having the sun waking you up at 6am.

Staff and swimming pool are really awesome and worth your money.

We recommend the place!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank JulienAndPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

There are quite a few hotels inside the Fort in Galle, some excellent and many mediocre. Deco on 44 is a great place. They have a few suites named after the bastions on the fort. The staff is really great and friendly and can help you with a lot of tips on sightseeing. They even gave us bicycles to use for the day, granted they were not in the best of conditions, they worked for us. The rooms are neat and clean. The whole establishment is done up in art deco style. They only have a few rooms, so book in advance. we were able to get the room just for a day as the next day they were fully booked. It is perhaps a tad bit more expensive than many of the others around.

Room Tip: If you would like to try Sri Lankan food for breakfast, order it the night before
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here two nights and it was a nice hotel. The pool was always quiet and it is well located for nearby shops. The food was not fantastic on an evening although breakfast was nice. It was a menu breakfast rather than a buffet but you got a wide choice. The hotel also had a DVD player and DVDs but a few we tried did not work or the sound did not work so they need to have a check through the collection. Lovely staff and a nice stay. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Quite boutique hotel, air conditioned, water and towels changed twice daily. Charming, comfy, and staff are friendly, and helpful. Enjoyed our stay in an interesting city and enjoyed the hotel. Great breakfasts!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived late to the hotel and left early the following morning so didn't have time to enjoy this centrally located hotel. Our room opened onto a shared pool and I did have to time to enjoy the pool and it was so nice to have the pool to myself. The hotel is in a quiet street and the employees of the hotel were so nice and helpful, nothing was too much for them. We ordered a takeaway breakfast and it was ready in the morning. I wish we had had more time to enjoy the hotel and facilities and also Galle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 26 in Galle
1,834 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
3 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#6 of 26 in Galle
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 26 in Galle
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 26 in Galle
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#12 of 26 in Galle
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco On 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco On 44

Address: 44 Lighthouse Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Galle
Price Range: £122 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deco On 44 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the historic Galle Fort in the south of Sri Lanka, Deco on 44 offers you the finest luxury accommodation within this unique, historic, UNESCO World Heritage Site. Originally built in the 1930’s by a wealthy gem merchant, Deco on 44 has been renovated and decorated keeping in mind the art deco theme of its original architects. We are Sri Lanka’s only art deco hotel and we welcome you to relax in our beautiful rooms and enjoy our scrumptious cuisine and personalized service that truly is a taste of paradise. The hotel contains 3 large suites(2 with private balconies, 1 with a sitting room), 1 Junior Suite on the upper floor and 3 Deluxe Rooms overlooking the fantastic swimming pool. Tours from the hotel can be arranged for a variety of activities including Whale watching. Enjoy the Galle Fort from one of its finest hotels. We await to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deco On 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing