We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Commendably good service ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deco On 44

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deco On 44
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Commendably good service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a quick break in Galle. Chose it for its good offpeak prices on Agoda and for the fact that it's currently #1 in Galle on TripAdvisor.

The style and decor is generally well executed and "art deco-ey" although some areas are better finished than others: the dining area, in particular, is outstanding. The pool is not art deco and there is an unpleasant, possibly septic tank smell at one end. There is a beautiful roof terrace which is advertised on the website as offering sheeha, but possibly owing to it being off season, it is currently unused and we had to persuade staff to let us have a drink up there. No sheesha, and sadly no cocktails either, but the potential certainly exists for some excellent sundowners. We also had two meals at the hotel, and their food is reasonable if Westernised.

If not for the service we received, we would have been surprised at the high TripAdvisor scores for Deco. By local standards, their level of service is nothing short of excellent: helpful, friendly, and efficient. It was this - not the decor and certainly not the food - that was the standout feature of our stay there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bazyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    117
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
261
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed just one night in Galle and chose Deco on 44 to be in the centre of things. Certainly the location was great and our welcome was friendly and obliging. Breakfast with a big fruit platter was good, and we really enjoyed our dinner on the terrace.

However, the hotel itself - its fabric - disappoints. The decor and furnishings are poor and we found our room (Aeolus) pretty basic for the price. Dark brown was the main colour and the TV was tacked onto the wall like a budget room. The worse thing for us, though, was that the bathroom (including the toilet) was only separated from the main room by a partition that did not reach the ceiling. Not very pleasant.

Location will get this small hotel through for some time to come, but with more competition they'll need to raise the bar and provide something of higher quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We adored staying at this special hotel at the end of our trip. It was total fun to be surrounded by 30s style pictures. Staff was incredibly friendly and easy. We absolutely loved to take a swim in the pool in the evening, or to enjoy the amazing views from the rooftop. The area is great, in the center of Galle, easy to just walk around. Would absolutely like to come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zsuzsanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Such value for money we stayed somewhere extortionately priced before this and deco on 44 was just as good. Excellent staff very polite and helpful, great food also! Pool was beautiful right outside our door no one bar us ever used it so felt
Like a private pool!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cawhigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pacific
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Really fabulous boutique hotel within the fort. Set in a beautifully restored old mansion, the rooms are tastefully appointed with quality fittings in well proportioned rooms. The staff are all most personable, professional and friendly. Each staff member is proud of their workplace which shows in their commitment to making each guest feel comfortable and valued. The eye for detail is also most appreciated. Food is excellent and sitting on the verandah overlooking the garden and watching the world go by is lovely. Would not hesitate in recommending to others and hope to return. Very easy access to all the fort has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanglesSouthPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
357 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Make no mistake, this hotel is oozing with charm of the art deco era, friendly staffs, rooms are clean and well maintained. Great food served at their restaurants too, prices, although a bit high, but the good quality justified it. I was given the room Triton which is just by the lovely pool!

I could have given them a 4 stars but had to take one off because of an accident which happened in the bathroom. They have a nice bathroom (shower only) with a rather long concrete sort of a corridor, nice to look at for sure, However when feet were well, it was slippery as hell! Unfortunately I had a bad fall after my shower and broke my forehead, which now left a nasty scar and some body aches. It was lucky that I was travelling with my friend who happened to be a doctor, he attended to me to stop the bleeding and dressed the wound properly. Otherwise, it could have had been worse.

The hotel staffs were concerned and helpful, on a very rainy night, they went out to get medicine for me from far away hospital (pharmacy already closed after 9pm) I had to give them credits for that. They need to do something about making the floor of the bathroom not so slippery, or at least put up a sign to warn their guests. If a pregnant woman or old person had a fall, there could be very serious circumstances and they could be sued for that.

The next morning, a splendid Sri Lankan style breakfast was served, overall, the experience was good, minus the accident.

Room Tip: Be very careful when after the shower, it is extremely slippery when your feet are wet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A beautiful place with a serene and relaxing atmosphere. The food was amazing and they catered for your requirements very well if you wanted a changed to the menu. The surroundings made for a special evening. Live music of an evening which was brilliant and not too loud. We enjoyed this as a family. The staff are extremely polite and welcoming. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the beautiful Fort of Galle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cio1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#17 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
1.8 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco On 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco On 44

Property: Deco On 44
Address: 44, Lighthouse Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deco On 44 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the historic Galle Fort in the south of Sri Lanka, Deco on 44 offers you the finest luxury accommodation within this unique, historic, UNESCO World Heritage Site. Originally built in the 1930’s by a wealthy gem merchant, Deco on 44 has been renovated and decorated keeping in mind the art deco theme of its original architects. We are Sri Lanka’s only art deco hotel and we welcome you to relax in our beautiful rooms and enjoy our scrumptious cuisine and personalized service that truly is a taste of paradise. The hotel contains 3 large suites(2 with private balconies, 1 with a sitting room), 1 Junior Suite on the upper floor and 3 Deluxe Rooms overlooking the fantastic swimming pool. Tours from the hotel can be arranged for a variety of activities including Whale watching. Enjoy the Galle Fort from one of its finest hotels. We await to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Deco On 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing