We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Deco On 44

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deco On 44
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family had dinner here last week during our weekend visit to Galle and it was really awesome.First of all the manager came to say hello and welcome us which was super hospitable,the staff were so warm and friendly, smiled a lot and came around from time to time as we ate to know if the food was okay or if we needed anything else. We ordered the "fisherman's luck" platter, which consists of a variety of seafood and the "Vietnamese chicken" dish, and they were both amazing. It was generally a wonderful experience, we had fun and felt so comfortable, almost like having dinner at home :D. There was also live music, a lot of familiar songs that we could sing along to because my family loves music. Deco on 44 is a must visit when in Galle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Deco On 44
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great rooms, lovely pool, excellent service, and fantastic food. Provided hotel car for me to get business meetings in region. Excellent internet connection. Location in old fort also makes it a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and myself were very very lucky to find this amazing boutique in a little piece of paradise in an amazing part of town. After spending 2 nites in Cololmbo, my first experience of Sri Lanka people, were unfriendly. As soon as we arrived in my little piece of paradise, my opinion changed. The staff here, are SO SO friendly and cannot do enough for you. The rooms are out of this world,so clean fresh modern and appealing, pool area is exactly what was needed after walking around the Forte.Food is sensational, the hotel itself is so charming and clean. We were told to .. relax .. this is your home whilst you stay here, so … we did… They organised transport for us to our next destination.. too easy. We enjoyed out stay so much, we have decided to spend our last nite here.. in our home… before we leave this amazing island. Cannot thank the hotel, management and staff enough, for making our adventure, so easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely arte deco hotel, converted from a former mansion. Only about 10 rooms or so. Location is superb, right in the centre of old Galle and the Fort area. Nothing is more than a few paces away.

We had a large room on the first floor, (the star room) which was spacious and airy with a high ceiling. Just outside the door was a cosy lounge area.

They have a pretty, compact pool at the back, which is big enough to take a dip, and swim a lap, and a half.
The rest of the building houses a small restaurant the front.

The good :
1. cosy, and classy
2. Excellent satellite tv selection
3. Free WiFi
4.Spacious, comfortable rooms

Could improve on :
1. Breakfast is leisurely. Very leisurely. It is a la carte, choosing from either continental, American or local. But it takes a long time to reach you. If you are on a tight schedule, tell then to rush.

2. No real seating area or lounge.


It is almost a 5 rating, but not quite.

I would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Travel-Luxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I came here for the restaurant so cannot comment on the hotel. I had it recommended to me by the guest house I am staying at.

I am currently writing this on the free wifi - offered as soon as it was seen I was looking at my phone.

I had the seared pepper yellow tuna on grilled vegetables and saffron rice. And all for 1200 slr (about aus $11).
It was the most amazing tuna I have ever eaten. I would be delighted had I spent $40 on it back in Australia. The passionfruit creme brulee for dessert was delicious and had a great 'crack' of the brulee.

The service was kind, attentive and made me feel completely welcome. While I was here two guestd needed to check a booking so were immediately given user of the computer.

I am only sad that this is my last night in Galle and I cannot come again.
Cannot recommend the seafood highly enough.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank LizD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the Sun suite and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and the service outstanding. The location is great for wandering around the town. The chef produced excellent breakfasts with French Toast and honey, fresh squeezed juices and local Sri Lanka style. Dinner was also good and we ended up eating there all three nights.

Room Tip: Try one of the suites as they have lovely terraces to relax on.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OverHere_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Classy little boutique hotel in a restored mansion, this is the perfect stay to explore the quaint fort area of Galle. This hotel is stylish and tastefully appointed, providing heaps of character and charm without forgoing the necessities. The pool area is a little oasis of peace and, as we were a small group travelling together, the rooms around the pool were perfect for socialising. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we were taken care of and equipped with everything needed to make our stay special. The restaurant at Deco is lovely but the hotel is also well located to sample the many cute cafes, bars and restaurants of the town. Thank you for a beautiful stay. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
538 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#14 of 23 in Galle
15 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 23 in Galle
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco On 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco On 44

Address: 44 Lighthouse Street | Galle Fort, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Price Range: £72 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deco On 44 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the historic Galle Fort in the south of Sri Lanka, Deco on 44 offers you the finest luxury accommodation within this unique, historic, UNESCO World Heritage Site. Originally built in the 1930’s by a wealthy gem merchant, Deco on 44 has been renovated and decorated keeping in mind the art deco theme of its original architects. We are Sri Lanka’s only art deco hotel and we welcome you to relax in our beautiful rooms and enjoy our scrumptious cuisine and personalized service that truly is a taste of paradise. The hotel contains 3 large suites(2 with private balconies, 1 with a sitting room), 1 Junior Suite on the upper floor and 3 Deluxe Rooms overlooking the fantastic swimming pool. Tours from the hotel can be arranged for a variety of activities including Whale watching. Enjoy the Galle Fort from one of its finest hotels. We await to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deco On 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing