We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but excellent”
Review of Mama Wok

Mama Wok
Ranked #85 of 137 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
London
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
466 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the Wok on the wild side. The place is small and the food is prepared in front of you. The ingredients are fresh and the food is delicious. We ordered and share several dishes and they were all excellent. The two members of staff were very efficient and extremely friendly. It is not a cheap place but the prices are OK.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Trendy decor but unremarkable food”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I ate here once in mid-February, and found the food average and the prices high. While the quality of ingredients is good, the dishes are no more delicious than those from a Chinese takeaway joint in the West, but with smaller portions and similar prices.

This place has potential, but more generous servings of food (not rice or noodles) are necessary in order for it to merit a higher ranking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LingBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“White meat chicken, fresh identifiable vegetables and great taste”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The place was not as inviting, and looked like it would be hot; but not at all. The fans inside kept the air moving and was very comfortable. And the food was terrific. When traveling I often want vegetables that I can relate to, and there were plenty of them in my chicken stir fry WITH LOTS OF CASHEWS. 900 rupees, and excellent. Oh, and quick service, right here in Sri Lanka.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fresh food, friendly owners and great music!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Living here in Fort for several months, I walked into this place only some time ago. The food was delicious. It is a very cosy small place with an open kitchen. All of the vegetables are fresh and although it is not the cheapest, it is not expensive either (+-900Rs). This together with the friendly stff and their very tasteful music (Louis Armstrong) made it one of the best dining experiences so for in Sri Lanka. Will definitely go more.
In contrary to other places in the Fort, you can still walk in this place at 8.30 or 9pm and have dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food amazing!! Music was great as well !”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I was walking past & I needed something different to SL curries - the food was fresh & so tasty - highly recomend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Wok also viewed

Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Mama Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing