We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem- BEST Rice & Curry in Unawatuna!”

Sri Dhara Tourist Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 134 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
1 review
“Hidden Gem- BEST Rice & Curry in Unawatuna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Sri Dhara is a real hidden gem in Unawatuna- We ate a fabulous dinner last night and couldn't help but return again today for lunch! Although the meals are usually Vegetarian (unless you make a special request), the food is cooked to perfection and will not leave you craving meat at all... I have been eating home cooked SriLankan rice and curry all my life and the food at Sri Dhara gives you a delicious authentic feel for SriLankan cuisine. (Note: For those who don't like spice, when you pre-order your meal you can specify this.) Value for money (much cheaper than all the beach front restaurants) and the best home-made Rice & Curry in Unawatuna. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best food I had all trip (It's in Unawatuna not Galle)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I've been in Sri Lanka for a month and this is definitely the best food I've had anywhere. All home cooked and fresh - the owner has a secret recipe/cooking technique that he won't give to anyone.

Hands down the place to eat in Unawatuna and worth visiting the town just for that. It's about halfway between the main road and the beach.

Be aware that you need to give him 2 hours to prepare lunch or dinner!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marmadukke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Sri Lankan home cooked food, vegetarian and medicine food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed in unawatuna for one month! I ended up eating here daily because of the value and quality of the home cooked food! I was on a vegetarian diet for auyervedic treatment reasons and told them what I was and wasn't allowed and they came up with amazing tasting vegetarian options for me! Herbs pittu and Dahl with onion chutney being my favourite, oh and the amount of new vegetables I was introduced to my this lovely family was incredible, many of which are grown in their garden! There are tables and chairs out in the garden or you can eat in the house in a big porch area! Lovely for quiet meals at very cheap prices away from the noisy expensive restaurants!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Okhhbgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal (both times)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Sri Dhara was so great that we went back twice - although they only have 4 options (all vegetatian) listed on their board outside if you ask they will make you anything you like (fish/chicken). The food is made fresh to order and there are a couple of tables outside the blue house so you feel like you are part of the family.

The food was not only the best we ate but the price was amazing too! Great value for money.

You have to book and order during the day so make sure to pop down during the day (it is on the corner near Ceylon South and Jina's). We couldn't recommend more!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Dhara Tourist Restaurant also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Sri Dhara Tourist Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing