We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined dining in the fort”
Review of Amangalla

Amangalla
Ranked #24 of 139 Restaurants in Galle
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Mornington, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Refined dining in the fort”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a stunning luncheon for our family here yesterday. Dining room is beautiful as is the food. Expensive for sti Lanka but excellent quality and memorable experience

Helpful?
Thank Jacsea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    88
    38
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Amangalla is a really nice spot for High Tea (starts 15:00). The price for two is a quite reasonable 4500LKR (inclusive of all taxes and service charges) and includes a good selection of teas alongside sandwiches, cakes and superb freshly-baked scones. You're given quite a lot though, and my wife and I struggled to finish it all. There is also an optional glass of Prosecco (1000LKR p/p) or champagne if you're feeling frivolous. Service was exactly what I expected from an Aman - discrete, polite and professional. In fact the only downside was that tuk-tuks and school buses drove past quite frequently and the verandah got a bit noisy.

Helpful?
Thank jamesc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had lunch here while we were wandering around the Fort. It is a lovely hotel with a lovely dining room. The service was outstanding, and the food was also excellent. We each had a sandwich, and it was a welcome break from our usual Sri Lankan curries. The wine list was good, and if we are ever back in Sri Lanka, we will return to the Amangalla.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fingal, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Style & Substance”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The Amangalla hotel is so beautiful set in the historical Galle Fort. The Zaal houses the salon where pre dinner drinks were served. The decor is classic colonial. The menu has both European & Sri Lankan choices with the emphasis on locally available produce. The tuna entree our daughter & I had was the best ever. Perfectly cooked & presented. My husband had the Sri Lankan curries which were perfect for flavor & not overwhelmed by chilli. Congratulations to the chef & a wonderful team. PS our night was made by the presence of a beautiful French family at the table next to us. With 5 children under 10 the were so well behaved as well as gorgeous looking & dressed as only French can do in navy polos & white shorts!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea fail”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The experience should have been so much better. I booked it the day before but we ended up being seated at a tiny table in the lobby. No dazzling white linen here. Sandwiches were of the dry curled up variety. Cream scones were the redeeming feature. We had to ask the waiter if he could ask the cleaner to stop machine polishing the hardwood floor by our table whilst we ate. Who does that when guests are eating! No apology. Definitely not a 5 star treat! We left and went to Galle Fort Hotel for drinks, a far better experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amangalla also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Amangalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing