We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff, a short walk from the Fort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbour Winds Hotel
Ranked #60 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff, a short walk from the Fort.”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Harbour Winds so much, we stayed 3 extra nights! It is a great hotel, just away from the city madness. A short walk to all the main things in Galle. The Fort is about 10 minutes away, the train station about 15mins. The rooms are clean, have TV's and WI-FI. The picture on our TV wasn't good, and it was replaced with a new one the following day. A good size pool, for all the family to use. The food is very good, and an affordable price. I have to say the best thing about this Hotel is the fresh cakes!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyHonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The small size of the hotel ensures a very relaxed and uncrowded stay. It's very tastefully designed down to the smallest details, making it a pleasure to just laze around appreciating the details! We just stayed a night, and it was such a refreshing change from the hustle and bustle of the city we decided to stay in the next morning instead of touring the city in the burning sun.

The location of Harbour Winds is convenient as well, just a skip away from the Galle city, and not at all difficult to locate. The staff is very obliging, and the food is great. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upstair rooms have a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yazblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A private residence, recently transformed into a five room hotel is a fresh air break from the heat and humidity in Galle Fort. The staff are very motivated and keen to please, while prices are reasonable both for room, meals and drinks. This is a very good alternative to the Lady Hill hotel for both quiet and price. Quick access to local markets, cricket grounds (just drop in ) and wonderful UNESCO heritage site of Galle Fort. We especially enjoyed walking down to old city in later afternoon to watch sunset and enjoy cooler temperatures,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMT-JWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

great place to live or spend your hall vacation,with your family or friends.have a break from your busy life &get some peas full environment with great service.relaxing @ pool watching harbor & sea with cold frappe or a panorama lounge facing to harbor with nice breeze.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Me and my friends stayed here for the New Years and we found the hotel very pleasant. It is totally worth the money you spent. Since there is only 4 rooms hotel is not crowded. Hotel does not have a huge variety of food items yet the sandwiches they have are just awesome, fresh and tasty. loved the staff who are accommodating and helpful. Hotel is very close to Galle town so you can actually walk. rooms are Clean and nice. Did not have a great view though.card payment facilities were not available at the moment.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were four medical elective students staying at Harbour Winds for two weeks.

The hotel is very stylishly furnished in the colonial ambience that is typical for Sri Lanka. The terrace gives you an open view over Galle and the bay area. There is also a nice and clean pool. We were served breakfast and delicious Rice and Curry and also sandwiches and other snacks during the day, always freshly cooked. The rooms are quite big, fully air-conditioned and with attached bathrooms.

The ambience is very matey and intimate since the staff is so small. They were very caring and always there for us to give us advices or tips for planning our free time or even give us a ride with the tuktuk.

The hotel is not located in the fort but a bit above the local market, which we considered to be quite convenient. The food market, other shops, banks, bus stations and also the fort are within walking distance. The environment is a little less invaded by tourists than the fort.

The price is higher than what students usually pay for a stay, but considering this a hotel with quite luxurious ambitions, the price is worth it.

If you can't afford staying there, you should at least stop by for their delicious Rice and Curry!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duplo156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Harbour Winds for 6 nights during the England v Sri Lanka Test Match. We had originally been booked into top-end accommodation in Galle Fort (Galle Heritage Villa) but had been let down badly by them (just two days before we flew out even though we had booked nine months in advance). So when we were transferred to the Harbour Winds we did not know what to expect. Everywhere else was fully booked.

The location is great, just up the hill on Dickson Road (which is where the Sun House, Dutch House and Ladyhill Hotel are also located). This meant that the cricket stadium was an easy walk and the train and bus stations, and fish, fruit and clothing markets were also close to hand. We had a large room with balcony looking out over the Dutch market and the harbour.

However, proximity to the mosque (morning call to prayer at 0530), noise from trains and other residents, and lack of effective curtains to block out morning sun caused some sleeping problems.

The building is 70's in style and has enormous potential for refurbishment. The furnishings and decor are dated and worn and some thorough cleaning is needed. But everything worked (give or take the odd power cut). There is a new swimming pool, not overly large but with a great view. It proved very attractive for some kingfishers when we were taking breakfast.

The manager and his wife were very attentive, providing a good breakfast every morning and on occasion the manager gave us a lift into town in his tuktuk.

It was also very reasonably priced at 7000rs (£35) per room for B&B. We have rated it according to price as representing good value in comparison to other hotels in Galle.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.2 mi away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#12 of 23 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galle Centre Home
Galle Centre Home
#38 of 121 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Renaissance
Villa Renaissance
#34 of 128 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sanron Home Stay
#57 of 128 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atapattu Walawwa House
Atapattu Walawwa House
#54 of 128 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Light Breeze Residence
#67 of 128 in Galle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Winds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Winds Hotel

Property: Harbour Winds Hotel
Address: 12 Upper Dickson Road, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Winds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small PRIVATE Villa hotel comprising just 5 air conditioned luxury rooms, each with ensuite bathroom is tastefully furnished with local charm and modern conveniences. Experience the typical Sri Lankan hospitality on a quiet hillock overlooking the Galle harbour at Harbour Winds by Na Tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Harbour Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing