We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax by the sea”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Relax by the sea”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This was our third visit to The Jetwing Lighthouse, and so you could say we're fans. The hotel's position on a promontory overlooking the sea is exceptional, and the staff are first class. We also like the large rooms (all sea facing) and the good selection of well prepared food in the restaurant. You can, if you wish, opt for a romantic dinner on the outside terrace, accompanied by the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks.

There are two large swimming pools, one having a lovely sunbathing lawn with sunbeds and hammocks. Light lunches can be had at the Pool Bar, where you can observe a monkey, which seems to have adopted the hotel (but please don't feed it).

We were also fortunate this time, in that the Womens T20 World Cup was being played in nearby Galle, so we got to see England play and win twice. Galle is only a 10 minute tuk tuk ride (500 rupees return including waiting time). The hotel have their own tuk tuk drivers, trained as one of their community programme initiatives....which includes teaching local children to swim in a specially built pool near the hotel. Galle Fort is well worth a couple of visits to see the old Dutch buildings and to walk the Fort Wall from the Clocktower to the old lighthouse. We like to buy our quality gifts in the Fort at The Orchid House (next to old lighthouse) and Style on Church Street. Best though to buy spices outside the Fort at the spice stall in the main market.

Between November and March the hotel runs whale watching trips, led by their resident and knowledgeable environmentalist, which we hope to try on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mendiprambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    469
    145
    36
    27
See reviews for
443
757
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Lighthouse Hotel has never failed to impress us with it's excellent location on a rocky outcrop, friendly service and dedication to conserving it's idyllic surroundings. The rooms are spacious, the high point being the large bathroom and views of the swimming pools and the Indian Ocean beyond.

As you walk in, watch out for the iconic display of an encounter between the Portuguese and the Island inhabitants artistically spiraling up the main stairway. The main restaurant has an impressive panorama of the waves breaking against the rocks where you can enjoy a Continental Buffet meal with a succulent array of seafood or just watch the soft glow of the sunset as you relax with a cocktail in the evening.

One of the impressive points that ticks my check list is the fact that the Lighthouse Hotel is dedicated to being an Eco-friendly hotel, striving to reduce their carbon footprint and visibly encouraging guests to share in this vision, e.g. instead of flowers randomly picked from trees you would find artistically arranged dry twigs in your room.

This fantastic hotel stemming from acclaimed architect Geoffrey Bawa's designs is also undoubtedly one of the best places to set off on a quest to experience Whales and Dolphins (although one really needs to allow these majestic creatures their personal space - so best to watch from a distance!). Don't forget to soothe your mind, body and senses at the Spa - a definite winner!

What a fabulous weekend stay at the Lighthouse Hotel - we'r definitely returning for more! :)

Room Tip: Higher Floors offer the best view of the ocean :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Sri Lanka Navy has held two maritime conferences(two day events) named "Galle Dialogue" in 2010 and 2011. I attended both events as an organizer and Liaison staff. The five course menu served for official guest dinner was the best I have had, the feel, the looks and the taste were at its best. We will be going there in Dec 2012 for this years conference and I hope they will do an even better show for participants from Sri Lanka and 20 other countries.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our trip to Sri Lanka for the world twenty20 cricket. On arrival we were met warmly by the staff and invited to managers cocktails that evening. Our room was wonderful, maintained to a high standard (although our mini bar fridge broke down but they soon replaced it). Towels and mineral water were replaced on a daily basis. Breakfast consists of a fantastic buffet with cooked western breakfast possible as well as omelettes cooked to order and all the usual cereal and fruit options. We had one evening meal in the fine dining restaurant which was nice and not too expensive. The main restaurant serves a curry buffet each night and we only ate there on the special BBQ night for Poya. This meal was a treat; Mongolian cooking, BBQ meat done to order as well as loads of salad, sushi etc.
the hotel is situated about 10 mins in a tuk tuk from town which should only
Cost you 300rs. Watch out for the throng of tuk tuk drivers hanging around outside, they have a tendency to over charge for standard trips to unawatuna etc. sometimes it was better to walk a bit down the road to hail a tuk tuk and haggle on the price.
The hotel has a naturalist so you can use him to book safaris etc. but be warned, he is not the cheapest. We went down to the tourist info in town and sourced a driver there.
The hotel has a gym and two swimming pools, one of which is 25m long so is
Ideal for doing lengths.
Overall we had a lovely experience, there is nothing quite like the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks to rock you to sleep each night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlmackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hotel is still very beautiful and having stayed there few years back, it was definitely a place i wanted to drop by at least for a drink during my visit to Galle. The apple/pineappple/melon combo fruit drink was rather watery. The iced tea was still very very good. The stewards were very polite, welcoming and helpful. This was in contrast to the attitude of a manager who was anything but welcoming. Perhaps it was because me and my friends were the only locals on our own on the terrace area or maybe it was because we were not overnight guests. The manager stared a few times and seemed to find our presence annoying. Then a security manager type comes and very politely goes about finding out what we are doing there. When I mention that we're waiting for our drinks he promises to make sure the drinks arrive soon. I did notice he did not ask any of the foreigners or the locals who were with foreigners there the same question. I felt it was an insulting and demeaning way to treat customers, and far from what i expect from a hotel I've patronized more than once before. Though it is definitely a beautiful hotel, a warmer welcome is best found elsewhere if you are not white skinned.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The entrance and reception was strange and Looked like car park, but once you are shown upstairs to the lobby the hotel was very open and inviting. The rooms were large and comfortable. Beware of the elevator which is ever small and smells dirty. On arriving on a Saturday I was happy to find out that on Saturdays the hotel has a Barbeque buffet dinner which was wonderful which made the al-cart menu the next day seem a little ordinary. In retrospect it may have been better not to get half board unless staying on a Saturday night. Breakfast was always a highlight.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seemed better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pookie2199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I went to Galle, Sri Lanka with my wife and 3 kids last summer to check out a country where my 17 year old son was going to spend a gap year after graduating from high school teaching English at an orphanage. I picked Jetwing LIghthouse after reading the reviews from Tripadvisor. The hotel sent a van to pick up us at the Colombo Airport.

Everything about our experience at the Jetwing Lighthouse was amazing: The courtesy of the driver, the reception with the manager (Manoj Silva) greeting and treating us a royalty, the room (Chinese suite), the service of all the staff, the food and the pool and beach.

I should make a special mention about the food. We had all our meals at the hotel. The restaurant is surrounded by big windows with 180 degree view of the ocean and a rock pounded by the waves. You can choose between sitting inside the comfort of the air condition, or outside in the shade but with the mist of the breaking waves. The food is of a great variety of international and local dishes. I had a taste of a little bit of many dishes and they all tasted great.

The room was very big, with bathtub and shower, plus full of books about Sri Lanka and Geophrey Bawa. Bawa is an architect from Sri Lanka from last century who designed many hotels in the Island, and they are all very well integrated into the nature and the local landscape. He is a pioneer in green eco friendly architecture well ahead of its time. This hotel is a great example of his style.

The only bad thing is that we did not stay longer. I will be go back for sure, and stay for a longer time. The hotel is right in front of a beautiful beach, literally a few yards away from where the waves break. You can hear the ocean from your room.

After our stay at Galle we hired the driver (Saman) to take us to other sites in Sri Lanka, and stayed with him for 5 days and were delighted with his service.

Room Tip: I found the suites very reasonable priced and took 2 conecting rooms at the Chinese Suite (301 and 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 24 in Galle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 24 in Galle
515 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
670 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 24 in Galle
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing