We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place for a family holiday.”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a family holiday.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my family stayed at this hotel last year. We enjoyed everything except for the food as it was set menu and because the waiter messed up our order. The beach was really fun and we played on the beach. My little sister made sandcastles while me and my friends played on the rocks. The sea spray was awesome. There were crabs too.
The hotel room is spacious and luxurious. It's very comfortable and homely. The bed is just fine.
This hotel is in Galle and we went the polhena beach for a swim as it's one of the best beaches in Sri Lanka. It's not far away from the hotel.
The hotel has a spacious restaurant and it's peaceful and quiet. It's landscaped very beautifully. The pools at also nice. We saw a serpent, I think it was a viper near the changing rooms, so watch out!
Overall it's a nice place c

Room Tip: Book the rooms on time, before hand. And come during the season for the best of everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse Galle. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality.

We were however concerned to learn of the other observations brought up and are sorry for any inconvenience caused. And we hope these isolated incidents would not deter you from visiting us again.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    470
    145
    36
    27
See reviews for
443
758
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was here for one night only .
The room was large and had a comfortable bed . Two singles made up a double so there really was no double bed unless you wanted to sleep in a v hole .
It had a huge washroom with a shower and separate tub.
The rain-forest shower was great but they use those ceramic dispensers here which are dangerous if you ever dropped them .
There is a lack of electrical outlets for recharging ....had to use the bathroom outlet .
There should be a window to open but it is a solid piece of glass.
The balcony is small .
Breakfast was good and was probably the best one experienced of all the Jetwings that we experienced in the country .
The staff were pleasant and very helpful .
A great sunset overlooking the Indian ocean can be viewed from the restaurant.
Do not eat outside and leave your table unattended as the ravens/crows will have it all ate for you by the time you return ...they are very clever and are opportunistic feeders,

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skip n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, experiencing the comfortable and spacious accommodation the hotel has to offer as much as the attractive spread at the breakfast.

As for the ceramic dispensers, Jetwing hotel policy dictates environmentally-friendly materials to be used for our amenities. A refillable ceramic container was introduced. We have also noted the rest of the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced.
We appreciate your kind sentiments and we hope you would visit us again soon.

We thank you for your kind patronage.

Sincerely,

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Must say that after a 14 day tour of Sri Lanka this was almost a welcome home, a cool drink a cold cloth and a view of the Indian ocean made this entrance. Room (204) huge high bed, window view of the ocean and a balcony to relax upon. Food ( we were half board) excellent and the breakfast buffet overwhelming in choice. Staff wonderful and made our 4 day stay before returning to Europe a joy and we relaxed after our hectic tour.

Room Tip: Get a room away for the swimming pool overlooking the ocean avoid the spa wing if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GhentPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are glad that you had a perfect stay with us in room # 204 and have also enjoyed the spread in the buffet at the restaurant.

We appreciate very much your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and we hope you would visit us again for a longer stay.

Thank you for your patronage.

Ayubowan! (May you live long)

PriyanthikaWijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago as two couples. Initial impressions were good. Check-in a bit slow but we're not that picky! Our rooms were on the top floor of the old block and although showing their age a bit we all thought they were terrific. Very spacious, huge bed and large bathroom and balcony. Loved the facilities too; two good pools, plenty of space and attentive staff. The spa was excellent as well. The Fort is a few minutes Tuk Tuk ride away; well worth spending some time mooching about. We eat there twice, The Lucky Fort and the Deco 44, both excellent.
One minor negative about the Jetwing was the food. It wasn't bad, just not as good as you might expect from such a classy hotel. The service was a bit chaotic, lots of front-of- house but no sense of order. Also, I was still getting used to room temperature food!

Room Tip: Top floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAB605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read reviews from our satisfied guests.

We appreciate your kind sentiments and we hope that your next stay with us would be a longer one. We thank you for your kind understanding on the inconveniences faced and we hope these isolated incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toorak, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The bathroom of room 37 was really very nice and the room has a good view over the second pool across to the ocean, close to the Spa. The common areas are very nice and 5 star. our room had a leak from the ceiling that was dripping on the the parquetry which we reported, and several lights were not working on our arrival. (I wish guests would report this type of problem for the sake of the next guest!) A very nice fruit basket was supplied which served as breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality. We appreciate very much your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

However, we have noted the issues related to the wet ceiling and have consulted our maintainance team to check on the stated electrical issues. Our sincere apologize for the inconvenience you faced and rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

Thank you for your patronage.

PriyanthikaWijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A few k out of the fort, but still really well located right on the water, we were initially worried at the size of the hotel, and the fact our AC was working so poorly in our room. But the AC was remedied and over our 3 days stay, we had excellent service in a very comfortable room. We stayed in a newer wing where breakfast was served separately from the main dining room and had excellent service from a very personable woman. We ate one night at Cinnamon, the fine dining rooftop restaurant and had a nice meal in an otherwise empty restaurant. From reading the reviews, we never bothered to eat in the main dining room, so can't comment on the less the positive comments some other reviewers made. The pool area is nicely spread out on a lawn and you overlook the non-swimming beach.

Room Tip: We thought the new wing, although furthest from the lobby, may have nicer rooms, based on some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse Galle. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, experiencing a comfortable room to stay in and also savoring great food at our restaurants from around the world.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours and we are glad that you had a memorable stay at our new wing.

While thanking you for your kind understanding on the inconveniences faced and we hope these isolated incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle.

Sincerely,

PriyanthikaWijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Sri Lanka has always been renowned for hospitality, the staff at the Jetwing typify this, being very attentive and professional.

My wife and I arrived 4th January for a two week stay, so as to get married and spend two weeks relaxation. We had read a few negative reports prior to going, but we both feel that if we had chosen an alternative, we would have missed something special, that really was a holiday of a lifetime. We have lived, travelled and worked in 104 countries in the World, with each being special for different reasons, this is one of the few places I would not hesitate to return.

So we shall deal with the criteria

1. Service - just perfect. It can be a little slow, but we liked this, actually giving time for conversation, to reminisce and to plan. It was not painfully slow, the courses came along in good time. Most hotels nowadays give you 5 courses in 30 minutes, along with the bill, this is a refreshing change.

2. Value - This hotel is excellent value, the service and facilities made it worthwhile.

3. Sleep quality - the rooms were excellent. The only problem we had were with irresponsible guests, something the hotel can not be held accountable, we moved rooms, and all was perfect

4. Cleanliness - I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel, the staff take great care with cleanliness and maintenance

5. Location - the hotel is located on a beach, just out of town. It is a nice 20 minute walk to the fort, or there are taxi/tuk-tuk available (300 rupee). There are some very nice beaches in the area, good little coffee shops and the usual tourist traps. We had no problems getting out and about.

6. Rooms - to us, the hotel rooms were excellent, such a difference from the usual 5 star business hotels we stay in. Very large and comfortable, with a colonial touch. Beds are huge and very comfortable, everything good quality. We only have one slight complain in that the wardrobe was not long enough to hang long dresses. (I know quite a petty moan).

7. Breakfast - the food is fresh, plentiful, very good quality. No complaints, only we ate too much and ended the holiday fat.

All the restaurants are excellent, food variety is great, the Cinnamon Room is awesome, the lobster is perfect, as is everything else they cook. We went on a full board basis, this was not necessary as the menu is a bit restrictive and the food is cheap.

We had our wedding on the 10th January at the hotel, this was just perfect. It did rain for the first time in 5 weeks, but the staff moved the venue and still made it perfect. A huge thank you to Dersika, she was simply fantastic and was more than professional in dealing with our requirements and concerns. It really is a magical place to get married, the singers and dancers were great. We did not get a chance to thank them on the day, so please do pass on our appreciation, they were fantastic.

The spa is excellent, we had the floral baths, massages, steam rooms, etc on a few occasions, several hours of being pampered really made the holiday.

During the last week we did an overnight stay at one of the sister hotels in Yala, so we could do the safari, that was so magical, it is two days that will be warm in our hearts forever. The Yala hotel is just awesome, with the best location out of any hotel I have stayed in.

I will deal with the renovation work, yes there is a small amount of work, it is not intrusive, and is at the back of the spa. We are pleased we chose this hotel and experienced something very special.

Our big thanks to Dersika, Robert (hotel manager), the pool guys, in fact everyone we came into contact. This is a special hotel, with a unique style, I hope it never changes, as we will be back.

Room Tip: WE stayed in 304, had a great view, was very quiet, clean and tidy. We moved from 321 as had noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thepoddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse Galle and for your five-star rating. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality, and experiencing sumptuous cuisine at our restaurants, while also enjoying the facilities such as the luxurious treatments at our Spa.

We appreciate very much your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities. However, we have noted the issues you mentioned and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent such recurrences. We appreciate your kind sentiments and we hope that your next stay at our hotel would be a longer one.

Thank you for your patronage.

PriyanthikaWijenaike
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
671 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing