We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our return stay from last year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our return stay from last year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were as pleased with this holiday as we were last year. Many of the staff were there from last year and remembered us and gave excellent friendly service for the eleven days we were there. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have morning sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your kind review with a five-star rating of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are glad that you have once again experienced a perfect stay with us indulging in true Jetwing Hospitality.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    454
    140
    36
    26
See reviews for
417
728
63
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The property is located in a beautiful setting. The lobby and outdoor dining area, with those trademark chairs lined up against the backdrop of crashing waves, look even better in real life. We had a sea-facing room with the most spectacular view. The staff are very polite, friendly, and helpful...but perhaps the place is slightly understaffed? At times we had to wait at the lobby just to ask trivial questions because the person at the reception was busy or not there. But that was not much of a bother anyway.
If I have something to complain about, it would be that the variety of food at the restaurants was rather limited. Unfortunately, when we visited, Nihal's cafe was under maintenance work, so we didn't get a chance to go there. At the Cardamom cafe, the menu for starters, lunch, and dinner was quite limited (especially for someone allergic to prawn/shrimp). Cinnamon room, the fine dining place, was particularly disappointing (only food-wise... the service and decor were fabulous). Cinnamon room is avoidable. However, the breakfast buffet at Cardamom more than made up for the deficiencies elsewhere. The breakfast was a wonderful and varied blend of local and continental fare. We would spend the entire morning, having hoppers upon hoppers with delicious curries, interspersed with juicy sausages and bacon, all while sipping delicious tea.
There are 2 swimming pools and a nice beach area. I am missing the place already, and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunaina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us and also enjoyed the huge spread at the breakfast buffet.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

While thanking you for your kind understanding on the inconveniences faced, we hope these isolated incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle.

Thank you for your patronage!

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I like this hotel. The rooms are big, the bathrooms well appointed, beds really comfortable, housekeeping very good, swimming pool and lawns great. Loads of wildlife as well with birds, chipmunks and lizards.

This is a great hotel, I stayed for 4 days as part of a wedding happening at the hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and fresh with an awesome view over the ocean. The only criticism would be that some of the food from the day menu was a bit hit and miss - the club sandwich comes with the weirdest chips in the world.

I would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from reception as it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us and also enjoyed the huge spread at the breakfast buffet.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay. Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Jetwing Lighthouse was an amazing hotel! From the moment we stepped through the door, my partner and I were treated like royalty. The location was incredible and the building itself was spectacular. Our room overlooked the pool and the beach and was stunning. I have never slept in a bed so comfortable. The food was delicious, especially the Sri Lankan specialties off the menu (not to be missed!) and Robert Claesson personally made our anniversary unforgettable by giving us a solitary dining table under the stars. Thank you Robert! Our stay was perfect. We have no hesitation in recommending the Jetwing Lighthouse to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room up high to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in while enjoying sumptuous cuisine in our restaurants.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests and we very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again for a longer and yet another memorable stay with us.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

A highlight of our recent (April 2014) stay at Jetwing Lighthouse in Galle was a cooking class conducted by chef Nihal. It cost US $60 each which may seem steep but the class was held for just the two of us and the meal prepared during the demonstration was absolutely wonderful. The $60 bought us a 90 minute cooking demonstration and a fantastic meal of four different curries plus a couple of sambals. Nihal, the chef, explained the various ingredients and their purpose, the techniques of rubbing in the curries and the cooking methods. It was a fascinating and engaging experience which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the Cookery Demonstration you experienced at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed the session conducted by our Executive Chef.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours and we very much appreciate your encouraging feedback and recommendation.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon, for yet another memorable vacation with us. Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Jetwing Lighthouse for 10 nights. The hotel was set in stunning grounds and perfect location to Galle. The view from our room was the best ever experienced so far. The room was large and very clean. My only complaint was the glass door to the loo!!! Even after 15 years of marriage I need some privacy!!!
The food was exceptional every night with a great variety and choice in 3 restaurants.it was my husbands 50th during our stay and the hotel could not do enough to make it a very special occasion. Our champagne breakfast on the terrace was perfect and memorable.
The 2 pools available are clean and safe. The attendants are very friendly and attentive and finding a sunbed and umbrella was never a problem.
All the restrooms throughout the hotel were the cleanest I have experienced In My travels.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful at all times.
I would highly recommend this Small Luxury Hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyn27Ivybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in while savoring great food at our restaurants that feature authentic cuisine from across the globe.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests and we very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you would visit us again soon for longer stays just like the one you had this time.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Julien
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Absolutely gorgeous; charming staff, lovely location - couldn't wish for more ! But I'm still digesting the fact that our reservation was based on the two bungalows in the Mangrove and the fact that on arrival we were told they were no longer available because the clients before us had decided to stay longer ... "HELLO" ... - impossible to find the words to express our disappointment - sincerely hope that you guys enjoyed yourselves having ruined our last nights in SRI LANKA!!

Room Tip: We can only STRESS that you double check and re-check again, if staying in the Mangrove! Be aware t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berne_eclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to bring to our notice the feedback of your recent experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle.

First of all, allow me to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Due to a system error, the property you had reserved happened to get over-booked, and so we had to transfer your reservation to Jetwing Lighthouse, which even we were much hesitant to do so. We truly understand your disappointment, but we assure you that it was in no means intentional.

However, please be kind enough to accept our regrets and we hope this issue would not deter you from staying with us the next time you visit Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#19 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#22 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galle
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#6 Spa Hotel in Galle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing