We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a stay..”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Janaka & Ruvini
Galle,

We spent one night of our honeymoon trip in Lighthouse. Nothing bad about it I can remember. all went well. we enjoyed the night. Food was to the expectation, especially sea food, we are from Galle so we know the taste of fresh fish. The room, overlooking the ocean, was well kept with a giant bed with a lot of comfort.The bathroom was clean and tidy. Staff was friendly and served us well.
So,Jetwing Lighthouse is worth a visit again and certainly we will....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janaka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse Galle.

We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us indulging in our Jetwing hospitality and enjoying sumptuous sea food cuisine prepared by our very own award winning culinary team of experts.

It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests. We appreciate very much your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a beautifully designed hotel - stunning sculpture in the entrance and tasteful furniture and artwork in all the public areas plus beautiful large rooms that have been very thoughtfully designed. There are also two pools and a fantastic little beach with lots of rock pools. Great views from all the rooms. It is a 10 minute tuktuk ride into Galle old town which is a lovely place to visit and wander around.

A family of 4, we stayed there in 2 rooms for 5 nights on a half board basis at the end of a long Sri Lanka road trip so we were looking forward to kicking back and relaxing with books. Unfortunately the service lets the place down. Generally this is an issue of poor training rather than will on the behalf of staff. There were problems with over 70% probably of our drinks orders over the course of our stay - either all the drinks arriving late, or some of them arriving late or one or two being wrong, or in some cases several just not arriving at all. Several times for lunch or dinner in the restaurant we just waited an inordinate time. No-one seemed to be in charge. The breakfast buffet was always great and the (twice weekly) buffet dinners also excellent, but when we ate from the table d'hote menu the food was just okay - beautifully presented but often just not that tasty. The guest service/reception person who checked us in gave us some misleading information about the availability of our rooms and generally seemed disinterested and unwilling/unable to help. For example I asked her mass times at the nearby (less than 2 miles away) Catholic cathedral, she gave up after 1 minute in my presence and never got back to me with the info or contacted me to tell me. I found out myself on the internet! There were other examples of this throughout our stay. Given the perceived quality of the hotel (and in comparison to 3 other hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka) I was very surprised

The one exception was the naturalist who was excellent; I booked a whale watching trip through him which turned into an 8 hours on the sea nightmare due to boat engine troubles . Not his fault at all but he found out about the difficulty, came round to my room, apologised and really wanted to put it right by offering me another (different) trip. I didn't take him up on his offer but really appreciated the effort he went to to check up on me & follow up. If only the rest of the staff were so pro-active.

So I loved the location and the rooms, but if you go be prepared for less than average service. By no means a disaster, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony_No
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us while assuring you that we continually try to do our very best for all of our valuable guests, but unfortunately sometimes we do fail.

I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to rectify and improve our standards and procedure the hotel practices in order to provide our guests with a memorable vacation as all of our guests are vitally important and we always strive to meet up with their expectations and above.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I booked a suite in this hotel for my family. The suite was very good with ample space. The wash room is spacious and all the facilities are adequate for a family. The only drawback was sleeping. It had only one king size bed and therefore we had to take another extra bed. The main purpose of booking a suite was to sleep well but sleeping was just like booking ordinary room. It was good if they can provide separate beds for the children specially in a suite.
The restaurant is also had some drawbacks. The variety of foods for lunch is less but the dinner was okay and breakfast is all right. But few minutes after starting the meal time I noticed several meals are over and they did not provide attention to fill them. Although there were 2 girls looking for guests to see what they need I would like if they can look at the buffet to see what is lack there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manjula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us although there were a few draw backs. We appreciate very much your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

However, we have noted the issues you mentioned with regards to the extra bed and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent such recurrences in future.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The best choice possible for breakfast (in fact it is hard to limit oneself...),fine romantic outside dining with different menus every night and very helpful and friendly staff.
We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay reading around the the 2 infinity swimming pools,enjoying the lovely massage center and a nice boat excursion on the river.
Galle is minutes away and fun for shopping so I would definitely recommend this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room in the aisle close to the restaurant:best view and no stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackielec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse.

We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us while also having enjoyed the dining options available for you and also the International spread at our breakfast buffet.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. We appreciate your kind sentiments and we hope that your next stay at Jetwing Lighthouse would be a even more memorable one.
Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were as pleased with this holiday as we were last year. Many of the staff were there from last year and remembered us and gave excellent friendly service for the eleven days we were there. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have morning sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your kind review with a five-star rating of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are glad that you have once again experienced a perfect stay with us indulging in true Jetwing Hospitality.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The property is located in a beautiful setting. The lobby and outdoor dining area, with those trademark chairs lined up against the backdrop of crashing waves, look even better in real life. We had a sea-facing room with the most spectacular view. The staff are very polite, friendly, and helpful...but perhaps the place is slightly understaffed? At times we had to wait at the lobby just to ask trivial questions because the person at the reception was busy or not there. But that was not much of a bother anyway.
If I have something to complain about, it would be that the variety of food at the restaurants was rather limited. Unfortunately, when we visited, Nihal's cafe was under maintenance work, so we didn't get a chance to go there. At the Cardamom cafe, the menu for starters, lunch, and dinner was quite limited (especially for someone allergic to prawn/shrimp). Cinnamon room, the fine dining place, was particularly disappointing (only food-wise... the service and decor were fabulous). Cinnamon room is avoidable. However, the breakfast buffet at Cardamom more than made up for the deficiencies elsewhere. The breakfast was a wonderful and varied blend of local and continental fare. We would spend the entire morning, having hoppers upon hoppers with delicious curries, interspersed with juicy sausages and bacon, all while sipping delicious tea.
There are 2 swimming pools and a nice beach area. I am missing the place already, and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunaina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us and also enjoyed the huge spread at the breakfast buffet.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

While thanking you for your kind understanding on the inconveniences faced, we hope these isolated incidents would not deter you from visiting us again the next time you are in Galle.

Thank you for your patronage!

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I like this hotel. The rooms are big, the bathrooms well appointed, beds really comfortable, housekeeping very good, swimming pool and lawns great. Loads of wildlife as well with birds, chipmunks and lizards.

This is a great hotel, I stayed for 4 days as part of a wedding happening at the hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and fresh with an awesome view over the ocean. The only criticism would be that some of the food from the day menu was a bit hit and miss - the club sandwich comes with the weirdest chips in the world.

I would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from reception as it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay with us and also enjoyed the huge spread at the breakfast buffet.

It is indeed a pleasure to read reviews such as yours.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback, we hope you would visit us again soon for a longer stay. Thank you for your patronage.

Priyanthika Wijenaike
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 25 in Galle
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 25 in Galle
275 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £126 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing