We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
221 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ugly, soulless hotel perched above the Indian Ocean a few miles from Galle.

We liked:
• Friendly staff
• Large room & balcony with excellent air-conditioning
• Very large bed which was extremely comfortable
• Well equipped en-suite bathroom
• Fresh coffee in room
• Swimming pool
• View

We disliked:
• Lack of detail i.e. tea/coffee not always topped up, complementary flip-flops - dirty & used
• Water leaking from upper floors in to bath room (other guests experienced the same)
• Ugly building lacking charm and character
• Not close to amenities

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all let me begin by thanking you for taking time to bring to our attention your recent experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, a unique architectural masterpiece, in the southern coast of Sri Lanka.

We are glad to know that you have experienced a spacious and comfortable room with a king bed to stay in, while complementing it with the breathtaking view of the Indian ocean feet away, and most importantly the team of dedicated and friendly staff who are ever so ready to make your stay a pleasant one. We do apologize however for the inconvenience caused during your stay, which we will look into in detail while assuring our guests that a recurrence of this nature will not take place in future.

This luxury property is a piece of art by late Sir Geoffrey Bawa. Having attracted hearts of many tourists, scholars and Architecture Student Groups from all over the world, Jetwing Lighthouse has been highly appreciated and commented upon on the many reviews on Trip Advisor throughout the years. However, it is very unfortunate to know your expectations have differed from what our architectural concept depicts. Nevertheless, Jetwing Hotels do consist of many other properties with different concepts of Interior and architecture to choose from should you wish to indulge in Jetwing hospitality, the next time you visit Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    466
    144
    36
    27
See reviews for
439
749
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is always close to my heart as I tied the knot with my love here at this superb place.I had been to this place more than 7 times.The food,lodging & service is excellent.I also had a great time @ Kurulubedda villas assigned to lighthouse. That place & the boat trip is always cherished memories.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GimalD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are most delighted to know you have enjoyed each of your stays with us and that you are now a happy repeater.

It is always pleasing to receive positive comments from satisfied Guests like yourself as it conveys to us that we have lived up to the unique standards extended by the Jetwing Group of hotels.

Having indulged in our humble hospitality, we hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Galle. Our dedicated and friendly staff will be more than happy to greet and treat you.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Beautiful, comfortable, in addition to the second power outage, the other is quite good. The restaurant's food is very delicious.The cook is great. When I first got to the hotel, lost baggage at the door nobody tube, a bit nerve-racking. Tutu car is very good. The beach is very beautiful. The WIFI in the room can't connect.

Room Tip: Wireless network a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xingruomuyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad to know you have had a good time with us.

Going through your comments I did notice the issues mentioned and would like to extend my humble apologies for any inconvenience caused. I will see to it and make sure such isolated incidents do not occur again in future to any of the Guests.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities. Especially your mention about the food is great motivation for our award winning team of culinary experts.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had planned a one night stay at this hotel and decided to stay for 2 nights. The hotel is superb and offers great value for money.
You are greeted by a wonderful entrance and spiral staircase leading up to the restaurant area and rooms. We had a fantastic room with a great ocean view. Staff were highly trained, efficient and polite. The food selection was outstanding and again very well priced.
We ended our stay with a full massage in the spa which was so relaxing. Special thanks must go to Mr D. Jeewantha, who really took care of us for the full two days and ensured all of our needs where met.
We were treated like Royalty!!
Thanks for a wonderful start to our holiday. We would highly recommend to others.
Stephen & Kumudu Watkin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumudu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Jetwing Lighthouse, experiencing a spacious and comfortable sea view room to stay in, while also enjoying the scrumptious meals prepared by our very own Culinary experts.

The copper finished spiral stairway that greeted you is one of the most significant features of the interior architecture of Jetwing Lighthouse. We are glad you indulged in the concept behind our hospitality.

We are also very appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our dedicated staff members. It reassures us that we have made your vacation, worthwhile.

Making this an opportunity to most warmly welcome you once again the next time you visit Galle. We will be more than delighted to serve you.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful, clean and very well run. The staff went out of their way to help, and were very professional. One of the best hotels I have visited and I would love to go there again. A special thanks to Ms Onali who was a tremendous help in sorting out an issue we had with the travel agents. Cant wait to go back there again.

Room Tip: The views from the third floor were superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review of your recent experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are most delighted to know you have had a wonderful stay with us.

It is always a treat to receive positive comments from satisfied Guests like yourself and we are pleased to know your expectations have been delivered by our dedicated staff and that we have lived up to the Jetwing standards of hospitality.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities we make this an opportunity to invite you to visit us the next time you make a trip to Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

we stayed 2 days in 2 rooms in light house. check in was slow and not create good first impression has to remind the cold towels to the GRO.then she serve.rooming was not up to expectation. excellent food made by chef nihals' team. food service was excellent thanks goes to jewantha and team. nice clean specious room. housekeeping was really helpful my 2 days stay. and we used spa facilities and it was fantastic.

we will come back and hope then you will have better front office.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malinda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad to know you had enjoyed your day vacation with us.

Going through your comments we have noted the issues mentioned and would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent recurrences in future.

While truly appreciating your positive feedback on our services and facilities, we hope you will visit us again, the next time you come to Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

They have meant and kept the word BEAUTIFUL
The hotel is located high up to have the view of the sea whilst you get up. as if you have been bedded in the middle of a stationed ship
Wonderful bathrooms and amenities
Food was on Setmenu and buffet,
wonderful super spread except that the staff in the restaurant were a bit on the crazy side suddenly.
Overall It was SUPER &
As usual Jetwing always keeps up their above average standard with all their hotels.
I would recommend any traveler to go with the Jetwing Chain during their visits to Srilanka; You will never be let down!

Room Tip: High Floor Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chubbacheesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. It gives us great pleasure to know your stay with us had been truly amazing.

We are very much appreciative of your positive feedback as it encourages our dedicated staff to reach higher standards with each Guest they greet and treat.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, I hope you will visit us again in future for yet another relaxing and memorable stay with us.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing