We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Jetwing Lighthouse as the last stop of our tour of Sri Lanka. We found the staff welcoming and helpful. The views from the hotel are outstanding - we had a sea view from our room. The only fault we could find was that the choice of vegetarian was very limited, we only stayed for 2 nights but I could have been a problem if we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review on Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know you had a pleasing stay with us.Your comments on the vegetarian food options have our full attention. I will make sure that necessary changes are made in future.

The next time you are on vacation, we assure you that we will be more than delighted to serve you a few of your personal favorite vegetarian dishes, by our very own culinary experts.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

852 - 858 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Unlike other large hotels, this hotel actually oozes with charm and character. Once again, Geoffrey Bawa's signature is everywhere. You arrive at the basement and there's a spiral staircase with sculptural balustrades that lead you to the subsequent floors. Geoffrey designed the hotel in such a way that you start from darkness and gradually walking into the light. The moment you get to the first floor, you would be drawn to the sound of the breaking wave and it's only then you realise how precariously close the hotel is actually built to the Indian Ocean. Talking about being close to Nature, this is as good as it gets. On the first floor, you would find dining area, lounge area, hallway that leads to hotel rooms and enclosed sprawling ground, and should you decide to continue on with the spiral staircase, you would get to conference rooms, games room, reflection pond on the top floor. You would expect exceptional customer service from international hotels such as this in Sri Lanka. Once again, an unique experience to behold and yes, do stay here should you have a chance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the beautifully descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.

As a unique creation of great architecture by Late Sir Geoffrey Bawa, we stand as a very significant property in the entire coastal belt of Sri Lanka. Going through your comments, we realize that you have thoroughly enjoyed and understood each aspect of our Jetwing hospitality.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities, we would like to make this an opportunity to welcome you again to experience yet another memorable stay with us.

We will be more than happy to welcome you with open arms.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENIAKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

On the way back from the Holy City of Kataragama, we stayed at this Hotel for two nights in early June 2014. Our decision to book this hotel was influenced by the positive feedback we received from some of our friends.
I must say that I found the whole experience rather disappointing. May be I expected too much. Sure; you are greeted by an impressive spiral stair case at the entrance taking you to the lobby, dining area and the rooms and the hotel is built high up almost on the beach, giving you the feeling that you are surrounded by the Sea. Those are the positives. Although the rooms, had all the facilities one expects, I would still not consider them to be above average for a major hotel.
The first night we had the Barbecue Buffet. It was a fairly big spread, but I must admit that I did not enjoy it. To me the concentration appears to have been more on presentation than on taste. The Breakfast Buffet was a little bit better. Of course the Breakfast Buffet consisted of the usual Western / European / Asian and Sri Lankan dishes which most major hotels have. But I did not think it was out of the ordinary. I must however say that the Staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost allow me to thank you for taking time to bring to our attention your recent experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. Although you have chosen us through positive feedback from known sources, it is unfortunate to know you had not enjoyed your stay with us.

We at Lighthouse and all other Jetwing properties practice a unique method of hospitality, which prioritizes each simple need of all Guests that walk in through our doors. We are uniformed to cater to all minor/major needs as we make a promise to look after you.

Going through your comments, I understand that we have stood up to your expectations but have not been able to exceed them. Had you spoken to one of the staff members with regards to your meal preferences, we would have surely, out of the menu, created a few dishes especially for you.

I hope the mentioned isolated incidents will not deter you from staying with us in your future vacations to Sri Lanka.

Given the opportunity to delight you the next time, we will be more than happy to have you over.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We finished our 12 day tour of Sri Lanka here and we were glad we did. The rooms are huge, the pools are lovely, the setting is amazing on the rocky coast with most rooms overlooking the ocean. We ate at the main restaurant and the food was lovely - there are also two other more fine dining restaurant options which looked good, but we were very happy with our choice. The gym is well equipped and perfect after a day of lazing by the pool!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AddieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the well descripted review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know you had enjoyed the final days of your Sri Lanka tour with us while experiencing a comfortable room to stay in and also having enjoyed the scrumptious cuisine by our very own culinary experts.

It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback from satisfied Guests and we are very much appreciative of your comments on our facilities.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you will visit us again soon, the next time you come on vacation to the beautiful southern coasts of Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Jetwing hotel

Among all the hotels we stayed at in Sri lanka, this was definitely my

favorite. The entrance and Foyer Area of the hotel was already

dramatic enough. It was a giant staircase that wounded up towards

the lobby and was filled with all these soldiers and statues.

Once we checked in, we were seated in their patio/large open area

and a trolley was pushed with an assortment of welcome drinks. Most

hotels i've been to usually just give you one kind, but this was the first

time I saw a trolley being brought to us.

The hotel sits right infront of the Indian Ocean. It has fantastic views

but you have to be careful to go near because the waves were huge

when we were there. The rooms we stayed in had the same views.

Really love the decor of the room.I t was so pretty! Blue shutters,

large comfy beds with fluffy pillows and the bathroom was gorgeous

and so so huge.

Meals at the dining area were buffet style and had fantastic

selections! Dinner had a grilling station with fresh seafood and an

assortment of meats.

The only thing though to complain about was an incident we had at

breakfast. Although not directly the hotel's fault, I feel like they could

have done something about it. There were kids who kept running

around the breakfast room. I know it's normal for children to do this

but in a breakfast room filled with adults and people carrying around

hot and cold drinks, and breakable lates of food, an accident was

bound to happen. The parents should have disciplined them more OR

the hotel staff could have told the parents to please take their kids

outside so they can run around and play there instead of inside. The

kids were also somewhat misbehaving and was distracting everyone

(especially us) from having a nice normal breakfast, that is why this

incident bothered me a lot.

Other than that, the hotel was absolutely beautiful ad one of the best

places to stay at.

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean View Room. The views of the the Indian Ocean are so dramatic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know that you have had a wonderful vacation with us.

Your encouraging feedback assures us that we have lived up to the uniquely exclusive standards of hospitality promised by Jetwing to all our Guests. We very much appreciate your positive comments on our services and facilities.

However with regards to the issue you have mentioned, we would like to most humbly extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

Having indulged in our hospitality, we hope you visit us again soon for yet another relaxed and memorable stay with Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed there for three nights during the off season in June 2014. The hotel is the most popular luxuary hotel in Galle and an easy drive to the Fort. The rooms are spacious and have a private balcony and large 5 piece bathrooms. The complex has three pools (a baby pool that was broken on our trip, a shallow pool thats good for kids and a garden level pool that is deep). They were all well maintained and clean. The spa was ok but I have definitly had better massages in resorts for less money. The food was ok but a bit monotenous after three days. The hotel has a small beach just below the hotel which is easily accessible and just right for kids (but you have to be on the beach with them because the currents are strong). All in all it was a relaxing drip but a bit pricey - I would stay there for one night to see the specatular ocean view and to have dinner and dinks on the out door patio area but any more than that and you could get bored if you dont leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beantownmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay with us Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know your 03 days vacation with us had been a pleasant one.

Going through your comments we noticed a few niggles mentioned and would like to extend our humble apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We at Jetwing Lighthouse, are geared up to deliver best of service to all our Guests and we very much appreciate your positive feedback on our services and facilities.

Should you wish to visit Galle the next time you come to Sri Lanka, we will be more than pleased to organize a few excursions or a round tour to make your stay with us a more exciting one. If your visit will be scheduled between October and April, we will be able to take you for Whale watching with our very own Naturalist, an expert about Whales.

Hope to seeing you and welcoming you again.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lunchtime by the pool in the new wing.
Lovely setting, excellent service and reliable food.
Does not let you down, Jetwing everywhere on the Island have a great reputation to uphold. Certainly standards are maintained here. Enjoyed a simple well made lunch with excellent attentive service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of Nihal’s Café at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. It gives us great pleasure to know you have had a wonderful experience enjoying the delicious meals by our very own award winning culinary experts.

It is always a treat to receive positive comments from satisfying Guests and we appreciate very much your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

Thank you for complimenting our standards and having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you will visit us soon, for more epicurean meals at the Nihal’s Café.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
1.1 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 25 in Galle
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.5 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 25 in Galle
275 reviews
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
246 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £126 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing