We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully decorated hotel in a perfect location with amazing views out to the ocean”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderfully decorated hotel in a perfect location with amazing views out to the ocean”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From, the moment we arrived we really enjoyed our stay. The entrance staircase was intriguing with the characters spiralling all the way up the stairs , that is then when you are hit with the view looking out to the ocean.

We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which was nice and spacious, extremely well decorated and clean, the bathroom was enormous with a shower and a bath. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. From the balcony there were views of the rocks and the ocean waves crashing over them added to the ambience.

We were lucky to sample the bbq dinner on the saturday evening, the food was extremely tasty and there was plenty of choice, around 10-12 different stands offering different types of food from mongolian grill, local food, bbq fish etc along with the usual buffet salads breads and desserts, all for a very reasonable price. The breakfast were again very good with plenty of choice . We tried the fine dining option on the last night and were very pleasantly surprised, the chefs special prawn curry was delicious.

The swimming pools were both very nice, the smaller one was nice to relax in but there was also the larger one to have a proper swim in, with views out to the ocean again. The gym although we didn't use it looked well equipped.

We took a stroll onto the beach area in front of the hotel to see the sunset which was a very nice experience.

The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and always very quick to help,

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those staying in the Galle area, we had a car and driver so the location was perfect as it was only a short drive from the fort area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second (this is the floor we were on) or the 3 rd floor of the main block as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fabulously descriptive review of your recent stay with Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle.

We are delighted to know you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in while also savoring the scrumptious meals at our restaurants.

We at Lighthouse do our best to make each of our Guests feel homely and make the best of their vacation with us. Going through your comments I understand that our dedicated staff has most certainly delivered best of service, living up to the unique standards of Jetwing hospitality. We are most appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    474
    145
    36
    28
See reviews for
446
764
66
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a one night stay at Jetwing Lighthouse & were very impressed by the overall look of the hotel, our room was big & the view of the pool area & sea was great.

However this didn't last long when we accidentally locked our passports in the safe, this was our fault however getting help to fix this situation was a nightmare. We called the reception twice before dinner to get assistance (they only need to unlock it with a key) then we even went down to ask the reception staff for help but no one came up. In the morning we went down at breakfast & asked for help & still no one came up, we then tried again by phone. At this stage we needed to check out but our passports were still locked away so we went down & asked a final time, again no help came so eventually I asked a cleaner to help me & he rang through to reception to sort it out, they then helped. Reception staff didn't seem to care that we had asked her several times for assistance. This was shocking service!
To top this off we also had a phone call at 5.30am from reception - we did not ask for this.

We did however enjoy our meals, dinner & breakfast, service at meal time was excellent.

It is a shame such a lovely hotel was spoilt by poor service. We have been travelling around Sri Lanka for 3 weeks & this was the worse service we have had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, allow me to thank you for taking time to bring to our attention your feedback following your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. After reviewing your comments, I trust you will allow me to apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you while staying with us and I can assure you that your feedback has our full attention.

Your comment in regards to poor customer service is a cause for great concern. We will ensure further training and supervision to avoid similar occurrences in the future. While thanking you for your encouraging feedback, on behalf of the Management, we sincerely hope this would not deter you from staying with us again next time you visit Galle.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff was great, service at the buffet was so so, with containers not getting refills at appropriate times. But it may be because of the full house. Good selection. Nihal's restaurant was excellent. Great food and menu at Nihals. Rooms were very spacious, comfortable and luxurious (at the new wing, triple 2 adults, 2 kids and infant). Beautiful sunset, night view of horizon from room.

Room Tip: Don't provide valet service, pick a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umesh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your recent stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Being one of the main attractions in the Jetwing group of hotels, we at Lighthouse are always geared up to render best of service to all our Guests. We do our best to extend personalized service while delivering high standards of hospitality. Going through your comments I understand the minor loopholes mentioned and would like to express our humble apologies for any inconvenience caused. Nevertheless, we are very much appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.


Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Jetwing Lighthouse as the last stop of our tour of Sri Lanka. We found the staff welcoming and helpful. The views from the hotel are outstanding - we had a sea view from our room. The only fault we could find was that the choice of vegetarian was very limited, we only stayed for 2 nights but I could have been a problem if we stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review on Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know you had a pleasing stay with us.Your comments on the vegetarian food options have our full attention. I will make sure that necessary changes are made in future.

The next time you are on vacation, we assure you that we will be more than delighted to serve you a few of your personal favorite vegetarian dishes, by our very own culinary experts.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Unlike other large hotels, this hotel actually oozes with charm and character. Once again, Geoffrey Bawa's signature is everywhere. You arrive at the basement and there's a spiral staircase with sculptural balustrades that lead you to the subsequent floors. Geoffrey designed the hotel in such a way that you start from darkness and gradually walking into the light. The moment you get to the first floor, you would be drawn to the sound of the breaking wave and it's only then you realise how precariously close the hotel is actually built to the Indian Ocean. Talking about being close to Nature, this is as good as it gets. On the first floor, you would find dining area, lounge area, hallway that leads to hotel rooms and enclosed sprawling ground, and should you decide to continue on with the spiral staircase, you would get to conference rooms, games room, reflection pond on the top floor. You would expect exceptional customer service from international hotels such as this in Sri Lanka. Once again, an unique experience to behold and yes, do stay here should you have a chance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the beautifully descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.

As a unique creation of great architecture by Late Sir Geoffrey Bawa, we stand as a very significant property in the entire coastal belt of Sri Lanka. Going through your comments, we realize that you have thoroughly enjoyed and understood each aspect of our Jetwing hospitality.

While appreciating your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities, we would like to make this an opportunity to welcome you again to experience yet another memorable stay with us.

We will be more than happy to welcome you with open arms.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENIAKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

On the way back from the Holy City of Kataragama, we stayed at this Hotel for two nights in early June 2014. Our decision to book this hotel was influenced by the positive feedback we received from some of our friends.
I must say that I found the whole experience rather disappointing. May be I expected too much. Sure; you are greeted by an impressive spiral stair case at the entrance taking you to the lobby, dining area and the rooms and the hotel is built high up almost on the beach, giving you the feeling that you are surrounded by the Sea. Those are the positives. Although the rooms, had all the facilities one expects, I would still not consider them to be above average for a major hotel.
The first night we had the Barbecue Buffet. It was a fairly big spread, but I must admit that I did not enjoy it. To me the concentration appears to have been more on presentation than on taste. The Breakfast Buffet was a little bit better. Of course the Breakfast Buffet consisted of the usual Western / European / Asian and Sri Lankan dishes which most major hotels have. But I did not think it was out of the ordinary. I must however say that the Staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost allow me to thank you for taking time to bring to our attention your recent experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. Although you have chosen us through positive feedback from known sources, it is unfortunate to know you had not enjoyed your stay with us.

We at Lighthouse and all other Jetwing properties practice a unique method of hospitality, which prioritizes each simple need of all Guests that walk in through our doors. We are uniformed to cater to all minor/major needs as we make a promise to look after you.

Going through your comments, I understand that we have stood up to your expectations but have not been able to exceed them. Had you spoken to one of the staff members with regards to your meal preferences, we would have surely, out of the menu, created a few dishes especially for you.

I hope the mentioned isolated incidents will not deter you from staying with us in your future vacations to Sri Lanka.

Given the opportunity to delight you the next time, we will be more than happy to have you over.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We finished our 12 day tour of Sri Lanka here and we were glad we did. The rooms are huge, the pools are lovely, the setting is amazing on the rocky coast with most rooms overlooking the ocean. We ate at the main restaurant and the food was lovely - there are also two other more fine dining restaurant options which looked good, but we were very happy with our choice. The gym is well equipped and perfect after a day of lazing by the pool!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AddieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the well descripted review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know you had enjoyed the final days of your Sri Lanka tour with us while experiencing a comfortable room to stay in and also having enjoyed the scrumptious cuisine by our very own culinary experts.

It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback from satisfied Guests and we are very much appreciative of your comments on our facilities.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you will visit us again soon, the next time you come on vacation to the beautiful southern coasts of Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
517 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,405 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing