We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant way to end our stay in Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A brilliant way to end our stay in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was the final hotel in our tour of Sri Lanka and a brilliant way to spend the remaining four nights of our holiday. A well-appointed hotel with fantastic views of the Indian Ocean. Our room had a balcony that was the wall separating us from the Indian Ocean (we could just throw open the doors of the room and sit on the balcony just yards from the Indian Ocean - the only drawback was that our neighbour decided to make a mobile call while walking along the wall across the balconies of several rooms, which reduced the feeling of privacy (although we still loved the balcony and room)). The room was large, clean and well maintained, with a separate bath and separate shower, bath robes, flip-flops, etc. Some minor maintenance issues (some rust in the plugholes of sinks) but still a room that felt luxurious. There was a sense of damp on entering the room but that is just due to location and AC. Leave the AC off for a short while and you soon lose this. All staff excellent and food in the Cinnamon Room (fine dining) Cardamom Cafe (buffet and ala carte) and Anchor Bar and Terrace excellent. Drinks and cocktails - an excellent range and very good - try the Marmelo Sri Lankan cocktail - tried both terrace bars and enjoyed both (the Coat of Arms Bar and Terrace also has a pool table) . There are two large pools with a number of sun loungers. We enjoyed the top pool, beside the Anchor poolside bar and terrace - it was less exposed and a little quieter. We had a private transfer booked to the airport and after chasing the rep for this we found out surprisingly we had a 5:30am start to the airport (this was a surprise as we expected it to be 7am). The hotel on request did us a good packed breakfast. When we arrived for pick-up at reception no sign of the driver at 5:40am. The bell captain and receptionist were both very helpful and rang the number we had been given and were told that in fact we would be picked up at 7am. We then prepared to wait until 7am when the driver appeared at 5:45am. He explained he had been told 7am (he arrived early for that) - the problem had been the rep who had given us the wrong time. So we arrived at the airport an hour and half earlier than both the driver and we were expecting (although this helped us get good seats on the plane). This mix-up was not the hotel's fault (or driver) but we mention it as the staff in the hotel were extremely helpful, particularly the bell captain and receptionist, and we did not get the chance to say this in the end-of-stay questionnaire. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the well descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know you have had an amazing stay with us, experiencing a spacious and comfortable room to stay in while enjoying the picturesque view of the Indian Ocean.

Your compliments on our service of food and beverages is very much appreciated. Our dedicated and attentive staff is always geared up to deliver nothing but the best of service to all our Guests. It is pleasing to know that all our operational staff and the culinary experts have lived up to the expected standards of Jetwing Hospitality.

However, we regret any inconvenience during your stay with us and hope you will visit us again the next time you come on vacation to the southern coasts of Sri Lanka.

Looking forward to seeing you and serving you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    453
    139
    36
    26
See reviews for
416
726
63
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our stay at this Geoffery Bawa designed hotel was a delight. The hotel is beautifully sited to take advantage of the natural beauty of the Galle coastline and lovely architectural details are on display at every turn. Our well appointed, spacious room was first class. Huge bed. Meals were first rate. Staff were attentive to our needs at all times. Only disappointment was that we only stayed one night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizRob60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the well recommended review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle.
We are most delighted to know you had an amazing stay with us, experiencing a spacious room to relax while enjoying scrumptious meals by our very own culinary experts.

We are very much appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our services, facilities and our truly dedicated staff. It always is a treat for all of us to receive positive comments from happy Guests.

Having indulged in our Jetwing Hospitality, we hope you will coma back soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have recently come back from Staying at the Jetwing hotel for 1 week. All in all it was a really pleasant experience and would recommend.


- The staff (cleaning and restaurants) especially the restaurant staff, they where very friendly and provided a excellent service that was very attentive. I cannot express how impressed I was with the staff in the restaurants. The staff on the front desk and Customer relation desk although pleasant weren't at the same level of wanting to provide a good service. I wouldn't let this out you off though.

A couple of times over the holiday I witnessed guests treating the staff terrible, by clicking their figures and generally being rude. The staff where very humble and always had a smile even though some of the guests had little to no manners and didn't deserve it.

- Good base for exploring the local area, Galle, Galle Fort, Unawatuna and Hikkadua. The hotel also does tours to some other locations and national parks. However I would decide on what you want to do and book it outside the hotel as it will be a lot cheaper and just as good. Also the same for hotel transfers. I wouldn't bother going to Hikkadua though, not special and really not that nice a place to visit.

- Lovely rooms, very spacious and comfy,

- Great pools

- Food: was a really good quality, the menus had enough to keep everyone happy and the prices were ok, but expensive for water, get it when you are out and you will save a fortune.

- Cocktails were really very well priced.

- Gym was nice

- You have access to the sea and a beach but you cannot swim, The beach was lovely to walk along and see the fishermen and locals all out enjoying the evening.

Cons:

- It was slightly too expensive for what you got. I wouldn't put the hotel at a 5star but it is a clear 4star with some special bits.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We went out of season so it was quite and there was little entertainment, but what this was not a problem in the slightest as there was still loads to do, might be more of problem if you had kids that needed entertaining.

Final point: I loved the fact the Jetwing gave information on how they are trying to be a Green hotel and in your room you are encouraged to be more Green as well. This is a brilliant touch and very important to be recognised as well.

Well done Jetwing,

Room Tip: Get a sea view on the second or third floor in the block nearest to the main restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEB016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know you have had a pleasant stay with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in while also enjoying the meals at our Restaurants.

It is always great to receive positive comments from satisfied Guests like yourself. We are very much appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities. The hard work of our dedicated staff feels well paid off. Thank you.

However, we regret if any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Having indulged in our unique standards of Jetwing Hospitality, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Looking forward to seeing you and serving you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a first class hotel with excellent rooms, food and amenities. Rooms are generous in size and beds are enromous, as KY T has noted. There is a stunning view over the sea from our room. The hotel has two huge pools and a big gym. July is the low season, and the hotel is relatively empty - thus service is very good - almost more waiters than guests!

However, we are told that in high season it becomes very busy and perhaps not such a good time to visit.

My wife and I would rate this hotel as one of the best we have visited in Sri Lanka (and the competition is strong!)

Stanley P

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly facing the sea - some rooms look onto the back of the hotel and have no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review of your recent stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know you had an amazing stay with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in while also enjoying the scrumptious cuisine served in our Restaurants.

We at Lighthouse do our best to make each Guest feel satisfied of our services at all times during their period of stay. Going through your review we understand that we have succeeded in living up to your expectations.

Having indulged in our unique standards of Jetwing Hospitality, we hope you will stay with us again, the next time you visit Galle.We will be glad to welcome you and serve you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a very gorgeous hotel, from the architecture to the decor to the stunning vista of the sea with waves crashing against the rocks. The restaurant where breakfast was served was right next to the coast and offered front-row seats of the crashing surf.

The room was fantastic, the bed was insanely big and so was the bathroom. The pools were great as well.

The service here, however, ranged from confused to leisurely and even brusque and could certainly be much better. Room facilities were not working perfectly either. For example, the TV in my room showed only black-and-white images when I turned it on, and required a lot of adjusting to get the colour back.

Room for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your descriptive review on Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle.

We are happy to know you had enjoyed the beauty of our property while also experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in.Going through your comments we do understand a few drawbacks and would like to extend our humble apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured, these matters will be immediately addressed and accordingly rectified.

We will be more than delighted to welcome you, should you decide to stay with us the next time you visit Galle. We also hope that minor issues will not deter you from doing so.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I haven't been impressed by the overall look of the hotel. The breackfast wasn't so good as they had the same food every day and we stood more then 10 days over there
As for the rooms ........indead there were very spacious but you'll see in the pictures uploaded below a lot of rust on the window case, mould fungus on the ceiling of the bathroom ,broken doors and so on.
Actually I noticed that this hotel has a 5* rate but trust me that that more then 3 it does not!!!!
Also is very very expensive and the stuff they just want to take your money for each services they are expecting tips a lot of tips .

Room Tip: the rooms are aged
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Emilia1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. Jetwing Lighthouse is considered a master-piece of Sir Geoffrey Bawa. I regret that it was not the choice of your liking to have experienced the product.

With regards to the breakfast buffet, as you may have observed, not only guests in-house but also the many guests travelling the coastal way break journey to repeat the experience of having a luxuririous breakfast which the hotel has been serving for the past many years. Which includes items that should consist in an international buffet plus additional action counters serving traditional sri lankan and international food and also many other Asian food items , which I assume is a treat for every guest which many will agree with me on.

During this period of the year, due to high humidity and more sea breezes, maintaining the property takes a lot of work, which is the reason you have found items corroded and with fungus. Which our maintenance staff closely observes and tries their best to rectify immediately.

Regarding the misunderstanding of Staff expecting tips, I can assure you that our staff is well groomed and also trained to keep up to the standards of the organization, hence would not practice such ill manners for which the disciplinary actions taken are quite stern.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I visited the Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel as a walk-in guest, along with my architect friends who designed the new guest wing and pool side restaurant that have been opened recently. Being close associates of Geoffrey Bawa himself, they were entrusted with the task of adding the new wing, in keeping with the original design that Mr Bawa had done.
The hotel has been kept as a living archive of Mr Bawa's work, and even the original furniture, fittings etc have all been retained as a part of the Geoffrey Bawa heritage. The sculptural railing done in metal by Laki Senanayake (Geoffrey Bawa's draftsman) depicts the conquer of Ceylon by the Portuguese. If you are a fan of his work, you should make it a point to stay a night or two in the Lighthouse Hotel. It is not just a hotel, but a living example of the timeless architecture of one of Asia's most influential architects.
Th only thing one could complain about is the average quality of food and service. While there, make sure to sit on the terrace overlooking the beach, while sipping on some Old Arrack on ice. Incidentally, this was Mr Bawa's favorite drink too.
I also visited the two-room retreat that's located in walking distance from the hotel. This is a very intimate property, set amidst mangroves and ensuring the most private of stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know you had enjoyed every aspect of the hotel while also closely observing the great architectural features by Late Sir Geoffrey Bawa.

However, we would also like to make this an opportunity to extend our apologies, if any inconvenience was caused. Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality, we hope you will visit us again soon, for yet another memorable stay with us.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#17 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#22 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galle
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#7 Spa Hotel in Galle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing