We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely relaxing”
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely relaxing”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful hotel for 4 nights.  The pool area was fantastic, the water is like a warm bath! You can easily laze the day away at the pool restaurant lounging in the comfy couches from lunch through to high tea.  Service was fantastic, food beautiful & varied.  Maintenance could be improved throughout the hotel it's the little niggly things that are being overlooked like stuck doors, remote controls & telephones not working.  These are small issues which take the gloss of an otherwise perfect experience

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springvalepharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at the Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad to know your stay with us had been relaxing.

We are very much appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities. Reading through your comments we understand that the dedication of our staff has surely paid off. Thank you.

Being a property with direct contact with the sea breeze throughout the year, maintenance is one of the most difficult duties on a daily basis. Repairs and malfunctions are closely observed by the maintenance team and are rectified at their earliest.

However, we regret any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Having indulged in our hospitality, we hope you will visit us again, for yet another relaxing vacation.

Thank you for your patronage.


PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    466
    144
    36
    27
See reviews for
439
750
66
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stopped by here on our travels through Galle for the buffet lunch. All the expectations of the full Sri Lankan buffet with action stations and all wonders of offerings. We were suitably full. Amazing view of the ocean from both in and outside - could sit there for hours with drinks and forget about the rest of the world. We didn't stay here, but the hotel is beautiful from the part that we saw, stunning internal staircase. Well worth it. March/April 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambra_Chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad to know you had enjoyed your short visit to the hotel.

Our award winning culinary team of experts are always ready to tantalize the taste buds of those who wish to be pampered with various types of cuisines. We are most delighted you had been suitably full with our Sri Lankan Buffet.

Having indulged in our services, we hope you will visit us again for a longer stay, to experience a comfortable and spacious room along with other hotel facilities that we have to offer.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had been intending to stay at this "friends recommended" hotel for a few years and it lived up to, and sometimes exceeded , expectations. The food at Nihal's restaurant in particular was superb both in quality and presentation. The Hotel's beautiful position by the Indian Ocean, spacious bedrooms and excellent staff have been well documented and we agree with all comments.
If the Lighthouse would welcome suggestions here are two:
1, Include mangos on the breakfast buffet fruit selection.
2, As there are many steps and few lifts in the hotel, a recommendation to those with mobility difficulties to request lower floor rooms would be considerate.

Room Tip: See above ref stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know you had a truly enjoyable stay with us.

It is a pleasure to receive positive comments from satisfied Guests like yourself at it compliments the hard work of our dedicated staff. We are very much appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities.

We at Jetwing Lighthouse, with open arms accept all suggestions for improvement as they help us increase our levels of service standards. We thus, most humbly accept your suggestions while thanking you for taking time to bring them to our attention.

Having indulged in our truly unique Jetwing Hospitality, we hope you will visit us again soon.

We will be glad to see you and serve you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Colombo on the highway bus down to Galle in time for breakfast. It is well worth the early start. Great view sat outside just taking in the sights and sounds of the indian ocean. The breakfast has great variety from juices, fruits, sweet pastries to a proper full English, with good bacon and sausages! (Rs1300 pp)

If you are visited Galle, travel early and go to the Jetwing for breakfast, it's only 3km from the bus/train station, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle on Trip Advisor. This being your 03rd generous review on us, we are truly humbled.

We are glad to know the Breakfast Buffet at the Cardamom keeps satisfying you each time you visit us. It is great pleasure to know that our services and facilities have surely not decreased. Your encouraging feedback says it all. Thank you.

It will always be a delight to have you over again. Having indulged in our unique Jetwing Hospitality, we hope you will come back soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was the final hotel in our tour of Sri Lanka and a brilliant way to spend the remaining four nights of our holiday. A well-appointed hotel with fantastic views of the Indian Ocean. Our room had a balcony that was the wall separating us from the Indian Ocean (we could just throw open the doors of the room and sit on the balcony just yards from the Indian Ocean - the only drawback was that our neighbour decided to make a mobile call while walking along the wall across the balconies of several rooms, which reduced the feeling of privacy (although we still loved the balcony and room)). The room was large, clean and well maintained, with a separate bath and separate shower, bath robes, flip-flops, etc. Some minor maintenance issues (some rust in the plugholes of sinks) but still a room that felt luxurious. There was a sense of damp on entering the room but that is just due to location and AC. Leave the AC off for a short while and you soon lose this. All staff excellent and food in the Cinnamon Room (fine dining) Cardamom Cafe (buffet and ala carte) and Anchor Bar and Terrace excellent. Drinks and cocktails - an excellent range and very good - try the Marmelo Sri Lankan cocktail - tried both terrace bars and enjoyed both (the Coat of Arms Bar and Terrace also has a pool table) . There are two large pools with a number of sun loungers. We enjoyed the top pool, beside the Anchor poolside bar and terrace - it was less exposed and a little quieter. We had a private transfer booked to the airport and after chasing the rep for this we found out surprisingly we had a 5:30am start to the airport (this was a surprise as we expected it to be 7am). The hotel on request did us a good packed breakfast. When we arrived for pick-up at reception no sign of the driver at 5:40am. The bell captain and receptionist were both very helpful and rang the number we had been given and were told that in fact we would be picked up at 7am. We then prepared to wait until 7am when the driver appeared at 5:45am. He explained he had been told 7am (he arrived early for that) - the problem had been the rep who had given us the wrong time. So we arrived at the airport an hour and half earlier than both the driver and we were expecting (although this helped us get good seats on the plane). This mix-up was not the hotel's fault (or driver) but we mention it as the staff in the hotel were extremely helpful, particularly the bell captain and receptionist, and we did not get the chance to say this in the end-of-stay questionnaire. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the well descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know you have had an amazing stay with us, experiencing a spacious and comfortable room to stay in while enjoying the picturesque view of the Indian Ocean.

Your compliments on our service of food and beverages is very much appreciated. Our dedicated and attentive staff is always geared up to deliver nothing but the best of service to all our Guests. It is pleasing to know that all our operational staff and the culinary experts have lived up to the expected standards of Jetwing Hospitality.

However, we regret any inconvenience during your stay with us and hope you will visit us again the next time you come on vacation to the southern coasts of Sri Lanka.

Looking forward to seeing you and serving you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our stay at this Geoffery Bawa designed hotel was a delight. The hotel is beautifully sited to take advantage of the natural beauty of the Galle coastline and lovely architectural details are on display at every turn. Our well appointed, spacious room was first class. Huge bed. Meals were first rate. Staff were attentive to our needs at all times. Only disappointment was that we only stayed one night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizRob60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the well recommended review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle.
We are most delighted to know you had an amazing stay with us, experiencing a spacious room to relax while enjoying scrumptious meals by our very own culinary experts.

We are very much appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our services, facilities and our truly dedicated staff. It always is a treat for all of us to receive positive comments from happy Guests.

Having indulged in our Jetwing Hospitality, we hope you will coma back soon.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have recently come back from Staying at the Jetwing hotel for 1 week. All in all it was a really pleasant experience and would recommend.


- The staff (cleaning and restaurants) especially the restaurant staff, they where very friendly and provided a excellent service that was very attentive. I cannot express how impressed I was with the staff in the restaurants. The staff on the front desk and Customer relation desk although pleasant weren't at the same level of wanting to provide a good service. I wouldn't let this out you off though.

A couple of times over the holiday I witnessed guests treating the staff terrible, by clicking their figures and generally being rude. The staff where very humble and always had a smile even though some of the guests had little to no manners and didn't deserve it.

- Good base for exploring the local area, Galle, Galle Fort, Unawatuna and Hikkadua. The hotel also does tours to some other locations and national parks. However I would decide on what you want to do and book it outside the hotel as it will be a lot cheaper and just as good. Also the same for hotel transfers. I wouldn't bother going to Hikkadua though, not special and really not that nice a place to visit.

- Lovely rooms, very spacious and comfy,

- Great pools

- Food: was a really good quality, the menus had enough to keep everyone happy and the prices were ok, but expensive for water, get it when you are out and you will save a fortune.

- Cocktails were really very well priced.

- Gym was nice

- You have access to the sea and a beach but you cannot swim, The beach was lovely to walk along and see the fishermen and locals all out enjoying the evening.

Cons:

- It was slightly too expensive for what you got. I wouldn't put the hotel at a 5star but it is a clear 4star with some special bits.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We went out of season so it was quite and there was little entertainment, but what this was not a problem in the slightest as there was still loads to do, might be more of problem if you had kids that needed entertaining.

Final point: I loved the fact the Jetwing gave information on how they are trying to be a Green hotel and in your room you are encouraged to be more Green as well. This is a brilliant touch and very important to be recognised as well.

Well done Jetwing,

Room Tip: Get a sea view on the second or third floor in the block nearest to the main restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEB016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know you have had a pleasant stay with us, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in while also enjoying the meals at our Restaurants.

It is always great to receive positive comments from satisfied Guests like yourself. We are very much appreciative of your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities. The hard work of our dedicated staff feels well paid off. Thank you.

However, we regret if any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Having indulged in our unique standards of Jetwing Hospitality, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Looking forward to seeing you and serving you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#6 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#3 Spa Hotel in Galle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#3 Family Hotel in Galle
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing