We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jetwing Lighthouse
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Awesome location and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were taken to Jetwing lighthouse for a business lunch. Arriving early were had the selection of either a table outside or inside both overlooking the sea. The views are spectacular and worthy of a leisurely lunch.

Granted the service was a tad slow but it didn't spoil the dining experience which was surpassed by the great Sri Lankan curries we selected.

A memorable location and meal.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent most experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle.

We are very thankful for your encouraging feedback on our food and we are glad you had enjoyed your lunch while complimenting the scenery surrounding the property. Please accept our humble apologies if any inconvenience was caused during your visit to the hotel.

We hope you will visit us another time to experience more of our unique Jetwing hospitality. We will be delighted to welcome you.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    453
    139
    36
    26
See reviews for
416
726
63
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Gorgeous property. Slightly expensive but lovely. The lounge facing the sea is the best feature of this hotel. The sound of the sea waves, the sunset, the beautiful sea... everything is stunning.

The reception guys initially told us early check in wasn't possible as the rooms were all occupied but then gave us our rooms within an hour early in the morning.
The rooms are very nice with a lovely Bath and balcony facing the sea.

Loved the installations on the staircase.
The staff is helpful and courteous. The breakfast spread is wide and the food is decent.

The hotel isn't far from the Fort area which is very lively and fun. Has a lot of great options food wise n for shopping.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pm1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing review on Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are glad to know you have had a wonderful stay with us, enjoying the picturesque surroundings, a comfortable room to stay in while also tasting the various dishes from our breakfast buffet.

We maintain a standard time for check-ins and check-outs for all our Guests. On special incidents where the Guests arrive earlier than the set time, we do our best to satisfy them by releasing the allocated rooms if they are by then vacant and ready. This is only on availability and according to the day’s occupancy.

We are very much appreciative of your positive feedback on our services and facilities. Having indulged in our unique hospitality, we hope you will visit us again when you come on vacation to Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed in a delux room with my wife on 16th /17th weekend during this month. Room is very spacious and clean. Staff is very friendly with all the guests and looked after us very wel. Check in was very quick and within few minutes we were taken to the room. Also I should mention they manage all these in a weekend where the hotel is 100% occupied. You must taste the food there, it is amazing. Specially the dinner they offer with various types of BBQ. Even for breakfast and lunch there was a good selection. This hotel has two pools and are very large. All rooms are facing the beach and view is nice and relaxing.
Only issue we found out is on the number of tv channels offer and the quality. Also it is not as per the tv channel guide provided in the room. This we mentioned to the reception at the time we were checking out.
Other than that I must say, it was a superb time spent at this hotel. I will definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLAbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review on Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are delighted to know your stay with us had been a relaxing one, experiencing a comfortable and spacious room to stay in while enjoying the various cuisines at our Restaurants.

It is always a treat to receive positive feedback from satisfied Guests like yourself. I am certain my Staff will be overwhelmed once I share your review with them.

Your comments regarding the channel guide and the number of channels offered will be looked in to. Thank you for bringing your observations to our concern.

Having indulged in our Jetwing hospitality we hope you will come again for yet another memorable stay with us. We will be pleased to welcome you and treat you better.

Until the next time, thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel, but pricey. The loveliest area - especially at sunset- is the outside lounge that overlooks the sea.

Despite the assurance of an early check - in, we were kept waiting for over an hour. This was despite the fact that the hotel was at low occupancy. Methinks its because they were trying to fob us off with a pricier room, which we were told was already ready for occupation...

Anyway, the rest of the stay went smoothly. Our room was lovely. It was sheer luxury to slide the door and have an immense bathroom area for one's ablutions.

And the iconic staircase... One of famed architect Geoffrey Bawa's best creations

The beach was also lovely and he food was great. The buffet was wide and varied.

My only quarrel with this hotel is that they should ensure their guest relations officers and roomboys are better equipped with local knowledge. They were unable to answer our basic questions on the timings of various attractions, and our roomboy, nice as he was, didn't seem to have even heard of the famed Peddlars Street.

The hotel is within easy access to most sites in Galle but the charges of the tuk- tuks vary widely. So be prepared to bargain. A tuk from the Galle station should be no more than Rs 200 as should be the fare to most of the attractions - ie- the Fort and ramparts, Peddlars' Inn etc.
All in all an enjoyable stay,

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor closer to the guest relations officers' desk have better beach frontag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krajjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know your stay with us had been an enjoyable one.

We maintain a standard time for check-ins and check-outs of all Guests, as similarly done in any other hotel around the world. We are sorry about not having your room ready on arrival and I am certain our Guest Relation Officers would have suggested a different room in hope to render a hassle free check-in experience to you.

Saying that, we are much appreciative of you positive feedback on our rooms, restaurants and the architectural concept. Your comments regarding poor knowledge of our staff members on excursions will be immediately looked in to and developed with the help of necessary training.

All in all, thank you for taking time to bring to our attention your recent experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We hope you will return soon and not allow isolated incidents to deter you from doing so.

We will be delighted to greet you and serve you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We were walk in lunch customers staying in a villa nearby. We opted for the pool bar lunch.

Nice setting, lovely view, menu small but adequate.

We ordered for our party at 1:30pm and waited 1:15 for food for 4 adults and 6 kids, when the food arrived, some was cold and the interval between first meal and last hitting the table was 20mins. Not very polished.

The waiter was on his own and fighting a loosing battle with whatever was going on behind the scenes. Elsewhere, staff are everywhere! I felt for the guy.

When we spoke to the manager the feeling I got was indifference. Maybe we should have been unpleasant in our comments.....that might have elicited a different response.

Aside from the nice view and building, the experience fell way short of expectation and was significantly more costly in comparison to other excellent independant tripadvisor reviewed places nearby.

Go, have a coffee there.....enjoy the view, then find a small family run place for better service and food at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all allow us to extend our humble apologies while thanking you for taking time to bring to our attention your recent most experience at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. Rest assured your feedback has our full attention.

We at Jetwing Lighthouse have gained much positive feedback from Guests all over the world for our unique services and facilities. It is very unlikely for such an incident as explained by you to have taken place. But it had, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and your family and we are also apologetic for having let down your high expectations on our hospitality.

We will surely be taking serious note of your comments and inquire as to why the services had been slow on the particular day. In the meantime we will also take necessary action to make sure such isolated incidents do not occur in future for any of our Guests.

Allow us to once again apologize and make this an opportunity to welcome you and your family once again to experience best of service that we are already well known for.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A lovely hotel right by the sea and the food was excellent - a good choice on the menu and you can choose form two restaurants.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and no complaints, we were impressed

Room Tip: stay in the super deluxe rooms - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garycoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review on Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are pleased to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments are a recommendation to our fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. We are very much appreciative of your positive feedback on our services and facilities and hope you will return for yet another memorable stay with us.


Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

very big hotel. Nice service but I was expected much better impresion especialy this is SLH member. THE food Quality is digferent. One Dinner the food was Keys say average taste - buffet dinner. Second dinner was much better. The tuna steak was perfect done! The breakfast as for such a hotel is too weak in my opinion. The variety and range of the food is to low. Taste - average. The location is fantastic but you cannot swim here in the ocean. It's danger. Instead you have two pools. Very spacious rooms and bathrooms. Big balconies. Accommodation is quiet nice. WiFi everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nowakadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Lighthouse, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very descriptive review of your stay at Jetwing Lighthouse, Galle. We are happy to know you had enjoyed the location of our property with its mesmerizing view of the Indian Ocean.

All your comments on our services and facilities are well noted and we thank you for complimenting a few of our dishes along with the Tuna Dish that you had enjoyed. Since we offer different Menus on a daily basis, the dishes presented too are quite different from one another. I believe your tastes would have matched best with the Menu in which you enjoyed the Tuna Dish.

However, we regret any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us and hope that isolated incidents will not keep you away from visiting us the next time you come on vacation to Sri Lanka.

We will be delighted to greet you and treat you better.

Thank you for your patronage.

PRIYANTHIKA WIJENAIKE
General Manager
Jetwing Lighthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
9.9 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
3.5 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#17 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#22 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Lighthouse

Property: Jetwing Lighthouse
Address: Dadella, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galle
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
#7 Spa Hotel in Galle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Family Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Lighthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark that stands along the Galle coastline, Jetwing Lighthouse blends minimalist elegance with splashes of sophistication set amidst breathtaking ocean views. Designed by famed architect Geoffrey Bawa, this luxurious hotel lets you indulge in the finer things in life as you travel back in time and explore Sri Lanka's colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Jetwing Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Lighthouse Galle
Jetwing Lighthouse Hotel Galle
Lighthouse Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing