We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stylish, classy, boutique hotel in a fab location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortaleza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortaleza
Ranked #14 of 270 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylish, classy, boutique hotel in a fab location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We absolutely loved this place. The host is fantastic; as are the rest of the staff, the place immaculate and the food superb. They really have done their research with regard to the history of Galle and the style accentuates that history in a fabulous way. Its all in the detail really; everything is taken care of, the service impeccable. Try their Italian restaurant up the road too as the food was delicious and much needed after overdosing on sri lankan cuisine! Hot tip: Buy their coffee table book Galle Fort: World Heritage Site and use the walking tour in the back to discover the fort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtbilko_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    63
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
119
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Highly recommend this hotel providing excellent value for money for very stylish, clean and comfortable rooms. An absolute haven when looking for home comforts, reliable service, good food, and excellent travel advice from the owners who truly understand the Western traveller.

Very tasteful indeed and a much needed escape from another hotel which was booked via the net which turned out to be simply awful and in the same price range.. there was no comparison
Thank you Hotel Fortaleza you saved me.!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaC_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a delightful boutique hotel, well run by Nathalie and her partner. With just three rooms, it is charming, intimate and a pleasure to stay in. Excellent food, and the best coffee I have had in Sri Lanka. The passion fruit sodas are also delicious.
The location in the heart of the fort is idea, so you can pop in and out of street life, sightseeing etc., then retreat to your cool airconditioned room with billowing mosquito nets etc.
Highy recommended.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BoutiqueFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Due to a change in the travel itenirary only one night was spent here, however it was a stay that I would strongly reccomend for others.

We stayed in the library room which was tranquil with the window closed and yet allowed you to observe the hustle and bustle of the area with the window open. The room was decorated tastefully and was simplistic. A great attention was paid to detail with authentic sri lankan fans and flowers in the room and furniture in keeping with the theme. In additon to this books of sri lankan art and travel guides were placed within the room.

The breakfast was cooked to perfection and again it followed the simplistic theme but was of a very high quality, something which resonated throughout the hotel.

The location was perfect from which to view galle as all sights were in walking distance. Natalie was a very helpful host and nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff to organise. I would reccomend staying here if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful escape. With only 3 rooms available it allows the staff to pay you greater attention and the entire accomodation has a very relaxed feel about it. I noted that a lot of people came to eat in the restaurant for a quiet escape.

Room Tip: I would reccomend opting for either the library or master rooms which are located upstairs and are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabiKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

One of the best places we ever stayed in. We felt welcome and very well taken care of. This place has a soul, and the great attention to detail is visible at literally every corner. With two words: pure (p)leasure.
There are 3 rooms, priced in a range, one downstairs and 2 upstairs. Downstairs there is a patio and a restaurant, serving different specials every day. There is a variety of fruit sodas, ice teas and juices to choose from. Breakfast is included, and I mention this with a reason: there is a Sri Lankan traditional breakfast to preorder (very good), but you should absolutely not miss the coddled eggs with spinach. Served in tiny glasses, they are heavenly.
If we return to Galle, this will be where we hang our hats. Would always recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drobna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Lovely traditional court yard setting with stylish modern touches. Although the menu is not extensive it has a thoughtful selection of dishes. There are daily specials. We had the chicken burger and rice amd curry from the menu and one of the daily specials - prawn spaghetti. All delicious. This was followed by double servings of the lovely cake of the day - carrot cake - because it was so yummy. Coffee also very good (for Sri Lanka!!)
Would highly recommend for a laid back stylish place with excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Excellent food and service. Good menu for children and adults. Good atmosphere we ate here a few times when in the Fort during our holiday, Would definately go back and the children loved it.
The Farbrothers, Hants, UK

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#20 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.4 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#3 of 270 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 60 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#14 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortaleza

Property: Fortaleza
Address: No. 9 Church Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortaleza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortaleza boutique hotel is located within the heart of Galle Fort, As its coral walls attest was once a 17th century Dutch spice warehouse. Now five comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms decked with hand made furniture and flowers exude their own personality. Set behind this beautiful building lies our shady courtyard restaurant and bar, perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a great meeting point to chill out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing