We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique stay”
Review of Fortaleza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortaleza
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked to stay in room 3, the smallest room at Fortaleza, expecting a tiny boutique room after having read online reviews.

After a relaxed and welcoming check in, we opened the door to find a beautiful, stylish room. The one off furniture and four poster bed added to the luxurious feel, with nice touches such as fresh flowers and quirky books. The bathroom was modern and clean with a great rain shower. The room was spotless and well maintained.

Breakfast was fantastic with a nice selection of fresh and perfectly cooked dishes- the muesli with curd was delicious!

We ate at Fortaleza both nights, enjoying mezze, salads, homemade burgers and good wine. The menu is small but there is a specials board that is updated daily. Service was relaxed but attentive.

Overall a great place to stay in the Fort and we would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuckers0nTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed two nights at Fortaleza. The location is great, but if you are to reside within Galle Fort, there really isn't a bad location. Fortaleza is lovely, tasteful, and just a tiny bit impersonal. The rooms are clean and well-kept with a lovely bathroom. We enjoyed the breakfast in the courtyard each morning and the best coffee on our travels through Sri Lanka. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and while we found the food very good, it wasn't really worth the price. Still, it was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HH_MrsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

With only 4 rooms this was our smallest 'hotel' on this trip. We were in the 'library' room and it was lovely - complete with a 4 poster bed and 'antique' furniture. Galle was so different from the other places we visited - an old fort town the centre is protected and 'undeveloped', the sea views are magnificent.
'Our' sundown was extraordinary - it started off seemingly disappointing but the number of people with cameras on tripods suggested there might be better to come - and after sundown the clouds in the sky turned bright bright pink amidst what was still very blue sky all around them! Amazing.
Food and drink in the bar/courtyard was excellent and good value (we had their speciality chicken burger as a change from all the excellent curries we had enjoyed all week).
Galle is very touristy but really pleasant for all that. There must have been a high profile trial at the courthouse because the square outside was packed with Sri Lankans trying to hear and glimpse proceedings.
(I dropped a 'large' Rupee note out of my pocket and someone came running up to me to say I had dropped it - a first for me in any country!).
Our last night in Sri Lanka before our R&R and we really enjoyed our trip from West to North to South - we had enjoyed excellent service from very friendly people, much of it thanks to our driver Sian from SL Driver Tours who looked after us very well in our (always) clean Toyota.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms but avoid the ground floor (no view) and the 'library'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good value hotel. We stayed in room 3 downstairs. It's small but kitted out with beautiful furniture and bedding. The room was very clean and had nice touches of candles and books. Suresh was very helpful and easygoing during booking and our stay. We had a great breakfast and good food in the nicely atmospheric restaurant. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sday22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Fortaleza is an elegant and wonderfully appointed oasis in a lovely colonial town. We stayed a day in a beautifully appointed room. Clean, elegantly designed bathroom. The owner, Natalie, is an amazing hostess. We enjoyed our stay immensely in this charming boutique hotel. Five stars for ambiance, service, food, and well. everything!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nini822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I visited for dinner in november wanting to give my cousin a special evening out ... and that I most certainly got at Fortaleza !!! The ambience was magical .. takibg you toba far off land ... fantastic seafood bbq ... great wine and such personal and warm service ... Two thumbs up !!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank U328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Fortaleza is a beautifully done out old building with quality furnishings, delicious food and warm,friendly service. The owner Natalie makes sure her guests have a special experience within the fort and is always available to share tips on where to go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keely P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 25 in Galle
570 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#14 of 25 in Galle
30 reviews
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
0 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 25 in Galle
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortaleza

Address: No. 9 Church Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Price Range: £89 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortaleza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortaleza boutique hotel is located within the heart of Galle Fort, As its coral walls attest was once a 17th century Dutch spice warehouse. Now five comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms decked with hand made furniture and flowers exude their own personality. Set behind this beautiful building lies our shady courtyard restaurant and bar, perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a great meeting point to chill out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing