We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”
Review of Fortaleza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortaleza
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Forteleza for one week and were perfectly looked after by Ethan and the team! Great rooms, very clean and all modern, a terrific menu in the restaurant and a perfect location to see the area. thanks to the team at Fortaleza! We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for this great review ! Really glad everyone had such a great time; it was a pleasure to meet everyone. We look forward to welcoming you all back here again.

Warm regards

Ethan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

What a great place to end our three week holiday. Fortaleza is a beautifully decorated boutique hotel. The rooms are cool, clean and stylish. Bed was the best we've slept in in Sri Lanka. We stayed in the turquoise room or room Nr 1. The hotel is in the middle of the fort so it is a great place to explore Galle from. Breakfast is delicious, but dinner was superb. We had a table BBQ, which was so tasteful. Staff is all very friendly and helpful. Only minor thing was that the water in the shower never really got warm, but since it was so hot outside this hardly bothered us.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank anneconijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your positive comments, it was a pleasure to have met you. We appreciate the feedback regarding the water, we will definitely be looking into it. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After two months in Sri Lanka I was longing for something smart but cosy with a good variety of food. My staple was the chicken burger or beef with potato wedges. but I also loved the basil pasta with lots of delicious prawns, and the baramundi fish with Risotto was excellent with people coming specifically for it. The restaurant itself is atmospheric with friendly and thoughtful staff, and manned by a lovely knowledgable couple that really know how to take care of there customers. This is the perfect place to go for a refreshing drink (there is a bar nestled in one corner) and as well as cider and a variety of beer they do delicious soft drinks. There is a shaded area protecting you from the sun and a large wall that shows the history of the building through its crumbly but well preserved state. Also filled with beautiful furniture and quirky features. I love this place

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominiquejoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, truly glad you enjoyed the experience, we hope to see you back again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our room was smaller than we expected but it was very clean and the quality of the bed linen and furniture was fantastic. Fortaleza is in the centre of the small fort area. The quality of the food served was excellent, but very expensive. No tv, safe or fridge and noisy from the room above. The bed was a standout. Galle Fort is very different to the rest of the country - a enjoyable change.

Room Tip: We had a room by the front door. Thought it would be noisy but it wasn't too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcK23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank your for your constructive feedback, were all very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us here in the center of Galle Fort. I apologize if you experienced any noise disturbance, this is not usually an issue here.

Your suggestions will not go overlooked and we are already in the process of introducing better safety deposit systems for the rooms.

Thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards

Ethan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the reservations, check-in, to the delicious dinner each night, we absolutely loved our stay at Fortaleza. Our room was comfortable, clean with beautiful decor. You can't go wrong with either the Western or Sri Lanka Breakfast. Natalie and Liam have a well trained staff who cater to your every need. The chef and kitchen staff have new specials nightly. Our pan-fried Baramundi with risotto was to die for and then there's dessert! With just four rooms, the focused and attentive team ensure the visit is tailored to your needs.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnathan98, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I shall forward your positive feedback on to Chef and the entire Fortaleza team.

Im sure you enjoyed the remainder of your journey too, we wish you a safe trip home and hope you will return to stay with us again in the future

Warm regards

Ethan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent one night here and we didn’t regret our choice. We stayed in the library room on the first floor. The room was beautifully furnished and the bed was comfortable. We had a huge afternoon tea at the Amangalla hotel so we didn’t have space to try an evening meal but the menu looked good! The staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over new year.

Stayed in room 1, 1 and 2 are downstairs and less expensive. Galle is very expensive, we went to Galle 2 years ago and it has got more touristy and expensive over the past 2 years so I think you have to expect to pay over the odds to stay in the old town.

Our room was small but nice, great light near the mirror in the room for applying make-up, nice comfortable bed. We faced the street and the staff pulled the shutters across during the evening, even though we were onto the main street we thought it was quiet. The shower and bathroom looked great but it was difficult to get the temperature right on the shower and you have limited hot water. The safety deposit box is a tin which you can just pick up, we had a good laugh about that.

We booked Fortaleza as we knew from our previous visit that not many places within the fort sell alcohol and we booked the restaurant for new years eve when we booked the room. On arrival we were informed that they were having a private party on new years eve, we could eat earlier but would be basically on our own and infringing on their party. We were disappointed by this news but were fortunately saved by the New years eve BBQ buffet @ Deco On 44.

We ate in the restaurant on our first evening, we treated ourselves to some Western style food. We both ate steak and chips - really great and the wine list is small but reasonably priced - great meal.

We were not informed if our rate included breakfast and it wasn't stated that it was in the 'in-room' information but it is included and it's very nice. There is a choice of muesli, eggs, toast etc but we thought that for a rate of $158 once taxes have been added it is a bit mean and petty to charge extra if you want a rasher of bacon.

Fortaleza is a restaurant with rooms so there is limited service, fine for us but this might not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walkertravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#9 of 25 in Galle
567 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,805 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#14 of 25 in Galle
28 reviews
5.1 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
246 reviews
0 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 25 in Galle
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortaleza

Address: No. 9 Church Cross Street | Galle Fort, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Price Range: £89 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortaleza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortaleza boutique hotel is located within the heart of Galle Fort, As its coral walls attest was once a 17th century Dutch spice warehouse. Now five comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms decked with hand made furniture and flowers exude their own personality. Set behind this beautiful building lies our shady courtyard restaurant and bar, perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a great meeting point to chill out with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing