We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
174
89
25
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
89
25
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library room fajitas master bedroom galle fort middle street cross street sri lanka boutique hotel where breakfast is served refreshing drink tuna lovely courtyard the main hotel within easy walking distance four poster bed the ground floor stunning hotel
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Today we visit down town Galla and after walking around the Portuguese wall under the sun wanted to have a drink. Somehow we end up to Fortalezza. Great service great yard and great food. Try the dishes of the day !very friendly and accommodative service

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank TazMatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Galle Fort has some amazing top end accommodation but this was really fantastic. we stayed in 1Court Square..a fantastic apartment with a lovely balcony overlooking the square. The facilities were excellent and it was only a short walk to the main Fortaleza for breakfast. The staff were friendly and the manager excellent..friendly and efficient

Room tip: Def recommend 1 Court Square for location and ambience
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank alastairm286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Had the highly recommended dish of the day - Sri Lankan Seafood curry and jasmine rice.

The dish was way too salty.

We sent it back and apparently the chef and the general manager tasted it and they maintained that that's how salty the dish should be.

We've had our share of Sri Lankan curries and if this is how salty they should be, more plates would be sent back to the kitchen than consumed.

Not a memorable lunch to start off with at all.

PS- Thanks for the Wifi

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DeepanTravelog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The Fortaleza hotel has their rooms spread out in different location at Galle Forte. We booked the Luxury Apartment at the Court Square. There was a bedroom on the ground floor and a small room with a balcony at the upper level. Enough space for a family of 4. Just one bathroom. For breakfast we had to walk up to the main building which was around 5 - 6 minutes away. We loved the stay - the apartment was very charmingly done up - you see the Dutch influence all over. This apartment was close to restaurants and shopping. And also close to the sea. Food was fabulous - breakfast included in the rate but we also had lunch there a few times and it was excellent.
Service is very good though they take some time to come if you call them from the room. Only small point - no swimming pool on the premises - so if you have kids that's difficult. But they do have a tie up with Talpe beach club which is 20 mins away by auto if you want to venture there for a swim. That's a lovely place too by the sea and could go out there one day. It is outside Galle Forte.
But otherwise the Fortaleza hotel was fabulous - met exceeded our expectations. Loved the stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
1  Thank ninamukherji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

So good to enjoy the comfort and ambience of this old building in the heart of the old walled town of Galle.Our room was full of character and history and very comfortable too. We were well looked after in every respect and enjoyed the courtyard restaurant.The location is perfect for wandering and discovering the old Fort.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosieStAlbansUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews