We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
163
84
23
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
84
23
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library room fajitas master bedroom galle fort boutique hotel middle street cross street sri lanka refreshing drink where breakfast is served the ground floor four poster bed two nights historic building first floor the hotel manager beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We went for dinner it's was in galle fort food is not that much great. not value of money service were very slow they were not welcoming restaurent is smell some of staff were friendly not all of them but they need to emprove

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank pujashetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethan S, Owner at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

What a strange review.
Our staff are not smelly, every employee has a clean uniform provided to them and every guest is greeted at the door. Please do let us know what you had to eat and why you were unhappy with our food.
Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at Fortaleza after catching the train from Colombo to Galle (which was an experience). We were greeted with cool welcome drinks and were able to go to our room to refresh before officially checking in which was a nice touch. Ethan, the hotel manager, was welcoming and helpful throughout our stay giving us recommendations of where to go. There was a very relaxed atmosphere and the hotel staff were friendly and attentive. The building itself was impressive - a colonial style house with a courtyard that served drinks and local Sri Lankan food. We had dinner one night and breakfast the next morning both of which were excellent. The room we stayed in was number 5 and had a huge four poster bed and nice bathroom. The air con struggled to cool such a large room on occasions but not to the point where we couldn't sleep. The hotel is in a good location within the Fort only a minute or so in any direction to reach the sea front. We will definitely be back to visit beautiful Galle and will certainly stay at Fortaleza again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Read89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review. it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay the ambiance and our food. Thx for the heads up on the AC we will get it serviced.
hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Today we visit down town Galla and after walking around the Portuguese wall under the sun wanted to have a drink. Somehow we end up to Fortalezza. Great service great yard and great food. Try the dishes of the day !very friendly and accommodative service

Stayed: April 2017
Thank TazMatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Galle Fort has some amazing top end accommodation but this was really fantastic. we stayed in 1Court Square..a fantastic apartment with a lovely balcony overlooking the square. The facilities were excellent and it was only a short walk to the main Fortaleza for breakfast. The staff were friendly and the manager excellent..friendly and efficient

Room Tip: Def recommend 1 Court Square for location and ambience
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Had the highly recommended dish of the day - Sri Lankan Seafood curry and jasmine rice.

The dish was way too salty.

We sent it back and apparently the chef and the general manager tasted it and they maintained that that's how salty the dish should be.

We've had our share of Sri Lankan curries and if this is how salty they should be, more plates would be sent back to the kitchen than consumed.

Not a memorable lunch to start off with at all.

PS- Thanks for the Wifi

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DeepanTravelog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews