We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Fortaleza

Fortaleza
Ranked #14 of 159 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fortaleza is a courtyard Restaurant with a Bar. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menu is Western with an Asian influence. We have a specials board which changes almost every day.
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were seated in the central courtyard. The ambiance was very good, however a bit too dark. I had a problem reading the menu. Not an issue though.

The food that was served was different, not the normally spicy Sri Lankan cuisine, even though that evening I fancied a hot fish curry!. We both had a fish dish. The fish was very fresh, well prepared and tasted very good. The service was excellent and very cordial.

We enjoyed the meal. No complaints.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tdealwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, Owner at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your review we are glad that you enjoyed our fish dishes. Thx for the feed back re the lack of light. warm regards Natalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 310 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We came here expecting Italian...which it's definitely not! There is one spaghetti dish on the menu, but apart from that not much else Italian. Once we adjusted to the menu we had the most enjoyable and delicious meal with a really nice bottle of wine. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the ambience and setting is perfect!! It was our last night in Galle and it was unforgettable! I would highly recommend!

Thank Fionanmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, Owner at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

We are happy to hear you had a great evening with us. I'm not sure why many people expect us to be Italian ....must be something to do with the name....which is actually Portuguese. Thx for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our first dinner of the honeymoon outside of the hotel, and it really didn't disappoint. A fantastic recommendation from Experience Travel who organised our honeymoon. Great food, great service and lovely fizz. We really couldn't believe the quality of the food that far from Italy!

Highly recommended

Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, Owner at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Wow ... Thx you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Definitely go here for the ambience - the restaurant is pretty and set in a courtyard garden. Food however is a little pricey for what it is and not great. It's edible, but not spectacular. However, given the standards of restaurants in the fort area at the moment, perhaps this one is really a little better than most?

Very limited wine list which was a tad over-priced

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, Owner at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thanks Karina for your feedback on our food, I glad you enjoyed the restaurant ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We found fortaleza over internet and decide to have a try . The place offers different menus every night and guess what , no Curry ! After 10 days in sri lanka, my mouth was on fire with so many curries, fortaleza we have a sunday roast ! Huuuuhhaaaa

Thank Mrloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, Owner at Fortaleza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Great to hear, We feel the same.....!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortaleza also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing