We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pedlar62 Guest House
Ranked #7 of 121 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Cant believe the review condemning this wonderful little traditional house. We loved it. Our room was spotlessly clean. Our AC was working although the traditional house was cooler than others we'd experienced in our 3 week tour and we slept without it one night by choice. The two shower heads meant that you could choose from a cold shower or hot shower. The hot one being a later addition- why not. The breakfast was delicious and the balcony overlooking the street below was a lovely bonus. We spent time catching up on wi fi and people watching. It's amazing that Youngryman was so traumatised by his experience even after 45 years of travelling! Just goes to show how different we are. We are in our 60's and are also widely travelled. I work for an airline. My first concern always is cleanliness. Box ticked. My next is location. Box ticked. A bonus is character. Box ticked. Pedlar 62 ticks lots more besides. We loved it and will visit again one day happily.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordiewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    47
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
129
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

You can't get any more central in the fort area of Galle if you tried. Nice guesthouse with good size rooms with ac, fan, mosquito net and hot water. The owner, Ravi is a very nice gentlemen with good stories and information. There is a nice communal verandah with serves as a relax/breakfast area. Ravi was very accommodating to give us a room to shower after we checked out and helped us organize transportation to our next destination.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMsadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was a terrible experience, a case which shook our faith in Trip Advisor. We were shown to a windowless room at the back of the second floor. The air-conditioning, (essential under the extremely hot and humid conditions in Galle, Sri Lanka) was not working. That is to say, it went on for about 20 seconds and then went off in uncontrollable cycles, and, when it was on, it did not produce any cold air. The person who showed us the room, (who turned out to be the father of Ravi), first tried to convince us this AC was working. That defied reality. Then he tried to persuade us to wait for an electrician. Worst of all, when asked if there was another room, he denied there were any available. When we decided to leave and took our luggage downstairs, a call came from Ravi, also trying to get us to wait for a repair and finally revealing there was another room - where we ended up spending the night. What more do I have to say? It was traumatic.

On the following day Ravi made a weak attempt to explain the events as some sort of language miscommunication. But this was not a complex matter. Whatever may be the failings of his father's English there was no doubt he tried to convince us a broken air conditioner was working and then denied there was another room. In short, he tried everything possible to get us to stay in a hellhole.

As humorous relief from this sad story I will post a photograph of the shower in the barely satisfactory second room, the strangest such apparatus I have seen in forty-five years of travel. It consisted of two separate shower heads, one delivering only cold water, the other only hot water. Their streams had to be combined in midair to create a shower.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Youngryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We felt to lucky to have chosen Pedlar 62 Guesthouse. It was the perfect home to end our stay in Sri Lanka. Ravi and his parents are wonderful people, and welcome you to their home with warmth and caring. We felt like we were family guests, treated with great care and warmth. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There were lots of places to store your clothes and tables at the bedside were such a great convenience.

You too will be quite fortunate if you decide to stay at Pedlar62. It is a great guesthouse with a great location. Very highly recommended!

Longleat

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longleat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple nights and it was great. Very friendly staff and perfect location. Would highly recommend to someone looking for a no till guest house. Not too fancy, but nicer than basic. Great breakfast on the second floor balcony. Bathroom could use a little upgrading.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank acroglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our short stay in Pedlar 62 has been a real pleasure :

- the hotel is really central (on the main street, but very calm)
- the room are big and clean
- good beds
- A very nice and old house, very well maintained!
- very welcoming and helpful!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexisscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January, taking 2 rooms for our family of 4. We found Ravi to be the most attentive host and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were generous, clean and comfortable. The convenience of the central position was excellent.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fort Printers
The Fort Printers
#2 of 121 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#4 of 121 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deco On 44
Deco On 44
#5 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#9 of 121 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedlar62 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedlar62 Guest House

Property: Pedlar62 Guest House
Address: No 62 Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedlar62 Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Pedlar62 are proud of its unique atmosphere located within the heart of Galle fort, the Dutch Unesco World Heritage Site situated in the southern part of Sri Lanka. Pedlar62 is not just only another place where you find lodgings to spend your holiday but also offers you the most comfortable stay within a price you can afford. It is indeed a pleasure for us to serve you to make your journey so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Pedlar62 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing