We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pedlar62 Guest House
Ranked #7 of 160 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a fantastic little spot and a stones throw from Barefoot. You can shop to your hearts content and drop your purchases back as you comb the streets for bargains. We stayed here last and it was a delightful refuge inside the fort walls. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

this property is stunning after being lovingly refurbished by a English family. You walk off the street onto polished floors and head straight into the heart of the building which is a beautiful atrium with a small pool to plunge into, surrounded by comfy seating you can lounge on.

Room was small, bed was comfortable, only negative was there was no safe but the house seemed permanently occupied by the family or their local house keeper and we had no problems. There is also no fridge in the room.

Central location is perfect for exploring Galle there are lots of very good value restraints locally and the owners are happy to make recommendations on your requirements.

Breakfast was good rest furniture, eggs and toast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beckie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pedlar 62 was our first stop in Sri Lanka so we hope it would allow us a good nights sleep and a warm welcome to the country - That it did!

We stayed in one of the front rooms, it had A/C + a fan (to our relief), a large bed with mozzie net, plenty of space for our bags and a big clean bathroom. The shower was split into a hot water unit and a cold water unit but was absolutely no issue, you can adjust the hot water temperature very easily. It was strange at first to have a open shower but this seems to be the norm in Sri Lanka and didn't pose an issue.

Location in the fort is great, although being such a small place everything is central, did not notice the street noise at all. Breakfast in the balcony was great, fresh fruit, eggs (scrambled or Sri Lankan omlette) Toast and Jam, tea or coffee.

The owner and his father are very friendly and made the Wifi available when we needed it, signal and speed were both fine. There were quite a few interesting books available to read in the communal space by the balcony as well.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wuipung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place is fantastically located in the heart of Fort Galle, no more than 15mins walk to anywhere inside the fort; minutes away from shops and food, if you must stay inside the fort but on a tight budget, this is a decent place to spend a night or two.

Host Ravi was friendly and accommodating, rooms are okay, price is good, but all in all this is no where near the "traveler choice" level and for those who have high hopes due to his title, you might want to lower your expectation a bit.

Location:

Great, cannot be better! As I've mentioned, located in the heart of fort Galle where you can pretty much walk to anywhere you wanted to within the fort. You're also no more than 30mins car ride away from the Sea Turtle Project and the Virgin White Tea Plantation.

Food are everywhere around the hotel and shops too, but do take note that shops in Galle closes real early (7-8ish) and restaurant at around 9ish, make sure you start your day early and ends it early, or else you'll be walking in quiet dark alley with nothing opened.


Security:

This place only have 3 rooms and the lock seems to be a bit weak, there are also no in-room safe for your valuable. I recommend to carry your valuable with you when you're going out.


Services:

Some people found it bad, but I found it exceptionally good! Ravi was a very nice host and very accommodating. Energetic and always willing to help, he offered to help us carry two bulky and heavy luggage up and down the stairs, made us great tasting breakfast to our order. On our first night, he even lend us his motor-cycle for half an hour, so I can drive around the fort with my girlfriend, no extra charge, no question asked!

If this doesn't make him a good host, I don't know what does.


Dinning:

Breakfast is included in your rate and is prepared by Ravi. Started off with local fresh fruit, than follow by toasts and egg to your order, completed with SriLankan Tea or Coffee. Sitting in the outdoor balcony area on the 1st floor and enjoying your colonial breakfast, it felt like time has traveled back 50 some years.

No, lunch and dinner is NOT available here.


Rooms and Facilities:

This is family run B&B type of accommodation and there is no facilities other than your room. The room is in decent size with a queen size bad. It looked a bit tired and not as fancy as it is advertised on the hotel booking site. Room was clean but there are a few things that resulting me to take one star away from the rating, which includes:

- Lack of Fridge
- Lack of Safe
- Lack of WIFI
- Lack of Blankets
- Inconsistent hot water supply and water pressure
- Tired looking rooms and decorations

Some review mentioned that the AC is too weak during day time and I agree, however there is a ceiling fan in each room that really helps with the incapability of the ac to produce enough cold air in the room around noon.


Bottom Line:

This is a great place to stay with the price tag, great value for money when you consider accommodation next door is gonna cost you 2-4 times more than what you're paying. But do think twice about living inside the fort as it is pricey and it doesn't really worth the extra cost. One can basically complete touring the entire fort in one day, and you may choose to enter the fort by taxi if you stay in hotels outside the fort which is often only some 15mins away but will save you tons of money in accommodation.

But if you're in a real hurry and only have a day or two to wonder around, Pedlar62 for sure will be on my recommended list.


Tips:

1) Pedlar62 does NOT provide sleeping quarters for drivers. So if you've hired a car with driver for your trip, you'll need to pay about LKR1,500/night (USD13) to him to find a place to stay, he might also ask for money for dinner, LKR300-500/night is a fair amount.

2) This place doesn't have WIFI, I strongly encourage you to get yourself a 3G card at the Colombo Airport upon arrival. The immigration will give our free simcard which is good for like 10 mins of usage, than you'll have to top it up. I personally recommend MobiTel located just after you exit luggage claim, cheapest and provide good nation wide coverage.

Why do you need 3G? 50% of the time the driver you hire have no idea where he's going, google map helps.

3) Here for Dilmar or Mackwoods tea bags? Barefoot located just across the hotel is the cheapest in the whole of Galle, we've compared every shop. (10-30% cheaper than their competitors in Galle and almost 40% cheaper than Airport)

4) Tricycle Taxis are everywhere, LKR500 and the driver to take you on a round the fort tour, give it another LKR2-300 tip and he's your personal tour guide for about 45mins.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crossingtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ravi is absolutely fab and enterprising. The space is very clean, simple and elegant. I fell in love with the furniture, the cute reading nook and the terrace. Ravi and his family clean the place themselves, so it is super clean. The breakfast is amazing and Ravi really gives you the 5 star treatment.
The location is perfect, right in the fort on a street with super adorable shops and ton of eating options around. Ravi has great suggestions too for food, he also hooked us up with a car rental to Mirissa, so is well connected in the area.
Though we were only here one night, but really really loved it. Will be back soon to stay for longer!

Room Tip: There were five of us in the three rooms upstairs, so we had the place to ourselves. All the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rahma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with Ravi and his family- very hospitable, lovely to chat to Ravi over a leisurely breakfast of fresh fruit, omelettes, tea and toast. Room was clean, good big bathroom and very welcoming. An excellent base to explore the surrounding area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sheilaeunson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just finishing up breakfast as I type this at the lovely pedlar 62 guest house. Rooms are what is to be expected from a guesthouse in that they are simple bit this one was impeccably clean, decent bed, intact bug net, hot shower, working air conditioning and lovely breakfast provided every morning. Location is perfect for exploring galle fort and an easy 20 minutes to walk to the bus and train stations. If you are not used to a shower being unenclosed then the showers may surprise you but is a common enough configuration that most travellers shouldnt have a problem. WiFi can be a bit spotty but other than that our stay was perfect. Ravi was a great host and I would definately suggest staying here. Great value for money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ref505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 26 in Galle
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortaleza
Fortaleza
#10 of 26 in Galle
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rampart View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fort Bliss Galle
Fort Bliss Galle
#2 of 160 in Galle
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#3 of 160 in Galle
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seagreen Guesthouse
Seagreen Guesthouse
#5 of 160 in Galle
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedlar62 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedlar62 Guest House

Address: No 62 Pedlar Street, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pedlar62 Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Pedlar62 are proud of its unique atmosphere located within the heart of Galle fort, the Dutch Unesco World Heritage Site situated in the southern part of Sri Lanka. Pedlar62 is not just only another place where you find lodgings to spend your holiday but also offers you the most comfortable stay within a price you can afford. It is indeed a pleasure for us to serve you to make your journey so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pedlar62 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing