We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Galle Fort
More Info
Reviews (3,544)
Filter reviews
3,544 results
Traveller rating
1,871
1,323
302
39
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,871
1,323
302
39
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka nice walk world heritage site narrow streets shops and restaurants must visit place few hours historical place cricket ground tuk tuk dutch architecture old town fort walls sea ramparts portuguese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 3,544 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2019 via mobile

You can have great views while walking around the fort. If you can go for sunrise as the views are astonishing, not many people and it’s not so hot.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Pontinha2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019

The so called Galle Fort is only a wall. If it had any fortifications in the past, they are now nowhere to be seen. All you see is a very wide long wall with a light house at one end. That's it. Call it a fort if you wish. The town, to protect which the wall was built is charming. Parts of the town date back to Dutch era. It is a nicely laid out town and one would love to live here. The beach is good and the sea beautiful.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank mayday1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019

the fort is well worth a visit but prices inside the fort are 30% higher than just outside the wall so beware of purchases, lots of souvenier shops and bars which you will need to get out of the blazing sun as the fort locks the heat in and it gets very very hot

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank swift314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

Nice place to hangout during the day . They have lovely shops and restaurants. Must visit is Ceylon Spa shop here .

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Sumeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2019

Nicely preserved set of ramparts but little else. Nice to walk the perimeter but it gets a bit repetitive.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Dakles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews