We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Galle Fort
More Info
Reviews (3,544)
Filter reviews
3,544 results
Traveller rating
1,871
1,323
302
39
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,871
1,323
302
39
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka nice walk world heritage site narrow streets shops and restaurants must visit place few hours historical place cricket ground tuk tuk dutch architecture old town fort walls sea ramparts portuguese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 3,544 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

I was born and grew up In the fort. Now it is a massive change from our school days. There is the negatives and positives.
The negative is that the ramparts are no more green grass but sand and pebbles.
The positive is that it is no more the sleepy town that we grew up in. It is very vibrant now with lot of shops and tourism. Happy to note that the old look of the buildings are being maintained.
With the highway it is now possible to get there in an hour and a half.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Nazily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

The white lighthouse, coconut trees and the blue sky make this place is so special. Sunny day is a perfect day to visit this place.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Where2Taam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2019 via mobile

The main attraction in the city of Galle.
A heritage site from the colonial era with massive structures and wonderful views of the Indian ocean and Roomassala forest reserve.
Not to be missed by any traveller.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank PDD_sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2019

This is a wonderful place to spend an evening with so many nice restaurants all around the fort. Had an excellent walk over there.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Nikhiiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

It is a Dutch architect marvel at seashore with the famous galle cricket stadium within its premise. It is truly a very unique and beautiful place.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank DrhirdyeshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews