We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Niyagama House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lady Hill(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Florie Villa(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Star Light Hotel(Unawatuna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Amangalla(Galle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
244
16
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
16
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga classestea plantationyoga roomamethyst roominner peaceamazing yogagreat teachertuk tukbeautiful retreatsmall teasurrounding jungleperfect place to relax and unwindsri lankastunning architecturefull body massageno alcoholbike tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It's a short stay here but we were impressed with the excellent service rendered to us. The place is very clean and and it has beautiful architecture. The host, Elka is very friendly and helpful in helping us in planning our day trip itinerary. We end off the day with home cooked Sri Langkan dinner... It was so good that we asked for 2nd serving on the dishes. The staff there are also very attentive to ensuring that they deliver good service. It is also a good place to for yoga session in such a serene environment. A great place for relaxation!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 674hazelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Hazel,


sorry for this response being so late! Still I don't want to miss this opportunity and send you a huge thank you for this review!!! Every time I am tired from work I flip through these fantastic reviews and they lift me up again. So it happened also with your review and I read it out loud at the staff meeting to share your lines with them.
I wish you and C. all the best and hope to see you again here in Niyagama House!

Take care,
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We started our honeymoon around Sri Lanka in Galle and chose Niyagama House as the first place to stay. It's tranquil and relaxed atmosphere was perfect to relax a little and recharge.
Situated a few kilometers outside of town in their own little tea plantation yet close enough to historic Galle to pay the fort and surrounding sights a visit it was just what we had looked for.
The new built villa radiates a classic aura as if it had been around since colonial times. The very stylish enterieur tastefully bridges the time of former days to modern interior design.
The friendly staff only completed the most memorable stay.
Most recommended and definitely our first choice for our next visit to Galle!

Room Tip: All seven rooms are awesome. Amethyst Room is their cosy top floor retreat. Pearl Suite probably the most spacious room you can get including an awesome terrace balcony overlooking the green hills.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva-und-Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Eva, dear Jan,

I just stumbled upon your review and was astonished to find without my answer... I thought, that I already had replied - well, better now then never ;-))).
Thank you very very much for this review and your kind words! Every review is like a precious gift and means a lot to us. I hope, everything is fine and who knows - maybe we can meet in my old "hometown" in Germany, when I will be there for my next visit.
Wishing you all the best for your "new" future together!

Take care,
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Niyagama house let you come to rest. Beautifully located on a tea plantage the open and spacious house offers great rooms, which nice bathrooms and excellent beds. At night there are quite a few bugs, but the klamboe prevents them from coming in. The German hostess is very helpfull and certainly knows what she is doing, we both thougth that she was definitely striving for perfection. The food is very good, and so are the fresh cocktails. The pool is a real threat, not only beacause is has a nice location and lightening, but mostly because of the soft water. One of two nights here a definitely spend worthwile

Room Tip: Make sure that your klamboe is put down before darkness
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjebbeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Tjebbeo,

thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure, to have you here as our guests and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. As the rainy season is now over, the bugs almost disappeared and as you already mentioned, the mosquito net is providing a safe sleep without any closer contact to them ;-).

All the best to both of you and many greetings up into the north,
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived in Galle for two nights and had booked the Tourmaline room as the balcony faced the rising sun. The rooms are beautifully laid out, if a bit on the small side with wonderful balconies and bathrooms. The first problem was that the staff had left the balcony doors wide open and it was just after dusk meaning that the interior of the room was literally awash with insects of all varieties. The supplied mosquito net did little to keep them out and we had almost as many insects inside as out. The second night we informed them that they needed to close the balcony doors before the sun set to avoid this - we felt that these were the sorts of things that a boutique place really should already know! Having said that, the second night was much better with little or no insects.

Guests should be aware that there is no A/C in the rooms at the moment. However, A/Cs have been installed and I'm assuming they will be commissioned for the high season later this year - I'd check to see what the status is as it will get much hotter towards Xmas.

The absolute highlight of this place is the pool! It is a wonderful infinity pool which uses a non-chlorine (or any other chemical) cleaning method and it really really works! We spent ages in the pool and on the first night we watched fireflies in the forest from the infinity edge. Magical!

We must also mention the food which was excellent (pumpkin and ginger soup).

Our German host was efficient but we felt that the place lacked the Sri Lankan warmth which is what people really come to SL for. Oddly, little things like the hot water not working in the morning (solar heated and because the sun wasn't strong enough they needed to turn on the boiler when we reported the cold water...), the insect issue discussed above and not being prepared to provide accommodation for our driver all felt like this place isn't quite ready. When I brought up the fact that all places that charge this sort of money would sort out accommodation she still flatly refused and insisted that we pay. The cost of putting up our driver was c. 6 GBP per night, when you consider how little this is compared to what we were paying per night it left a decidedly bad taste in our mouth.

In terms of value for money, I hope that they don't increase the prices once the A/C and other bits and pieces that they are still working on are finally up and running. If they don't then this place will indeed be good value for money (especially for the pool!!!). If, and when they get these things right (and the warmth of service!) this place could truly be one of the gems of Galle!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Shyam,

thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor.
I am still sorry about the bugs in your room, but travelling during the rainy season it is sometimes hard to avoid them. Our housekeeping team is doing the turndown service every day at 5.30 pm, so normally there is no problem.

I am happy to tell you that the air conditioning is already working in 4 rooms and by November we will have installed them also in the others (for the same room price), even though is is here cooler in December then in July.

Sorry to hear that you missed the Sri Lankan atmosphere! My husband is Sri Lankan and actually almost the whole team of Niyagama House are family members, trying to do the best they can.

As we are just open since December 2013, we still need to build driver accommodations, which is also mentioned in the FAQs on our website. But we take your suggestion into consideration and are already working on a solution for that. So thank you for mentioning it.


Wishing you all the best for your future and hoping to welcome here again - with a bright warm smile full of hospitality.

Kind regards,
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Staff at Niyagama house were extremely attentive and helpful. The scenery around the house were tranquil. It's the perfect place for retreat.

Unfortutnately during our stay, the wifi is not working and the yoga instructor happened to be away.

& the speed of the serving the food could be improved. Perhaps the staff could have check with the guest how fast they would like the food to be served.

All in all, this hotel is excellent. We'll definitely choose this hotel if we were to return.

P/S: The pool and the yoghurt with cereal were amazing! You just got to try! Can give the massage a miss if you had tried massage from other SEA countries.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank attitudenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Nick,

thank you so much for posting a review here and we are very happy that you liked our place!

Unfortunately me and my husband needed to be in Germany for a funeral, so we could not organize a yoga teacher to substitute me. This will be organized for the future.

On the speed of serving food we are already working, also asking the guests for a pre-order if possible, in order to avoid waiting time.

So thanks again for your good remarks! It would be wonderful to welcome you here are for days full of yoga and tasty food ;-)!

All the best,
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews