We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inner peace restored in days”
Review of Niyagama House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Niyagama House
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Inner peace restored in days”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This is a long overdue review. Niyagama house was a chosen escape given our hectic banking jobs in Singapore. Both my partner and I had high expectations of the trip to rest our overworked minds and bodies, but we knew that trying to fix that in 5 nights would be near impossible
But Niyagama house did! From the friendly and ever caring Elke, the attentive staff who spoke English sufficiently to understand what we need, the lovely chefs who tried their best to accommodate all dietary restrictions, and even the kind and sweet natured transport drivers who were ever patient, these characters made our trip extra memorable and helped us to return home completely rejuvenated and rested. For once we were able to sleep by 10pm and get up by sunrise, completed well rested, to thoroughly enjoy ourselves in Elke's yoga classes.
Niyagama house is situated in a meticulously cared for tea plantation, and is home to the most lovely plantation dogs who will follow you in your stroll dutifully and patiently to make sure you have the most peaceful, tranquil, relaxing stroll in your life.
The only little gripe I could think of is if the staff forgets to light the incense at dinner, there might be some mozzies or bugs. This is easily solved by lighting an incense however.
If not for the fact that the partner and I are trying to visit as many new countries as possible, we'll return to Niyagama house in a heartbeat. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhippofoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    14
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
122
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Niyagama House just blowed our mind. it's one of the best places we visited among our numerous travels. If you are looking for a calm, quite place to have a moment with yourself and nature, its a place to go. First of all, the house is beautifully designed and decorated by the owner, Elke. Spacious place full of light, warm wood and nice touches everywhere you glance. Facilities include georgeous swimming pool with mesmerising view of fallen stars in the water at night, massage room, library. To soothe the soul and strengthen body, early morning meditations and two times a day yoga classes by Elke are available. Groups are quite small, as there are just 7 guest rooms in the house, hence the lessons are very personal. The house is located 10 km away from Galle, but it's not a problem as in advance booked tuk tuk will bring you to the city in c.20 min. The house is located on a hill of a tea plantation, and the manager will give you a tour around if you are interested to learn more about local plants and tea growing.
The service was super, friendly and attentive, very considered, helpful.
We spend two days/2 nights at Niyagama and felt that all that time we were guests of De Silva family, it's as personal it goes.

Please be aware that the owners chosen "no children below 12 y" policy.

To reach the place - need to arrange tuk tuk from Galle or have your own driver, as the place is 10 km away from Galle.

If you are fussy about food, please consider having dinner in Galle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Olga,

thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. And thank you for the wonderful words.

I am especially happy that you also mentioned our yoga classes, that are also available for walk-in guests. Now as the low season here started we picked up our intensive kitchen training again. So that we can offer not only traditional Sri Lankan and out special Asian Fusion Menu, but also a variety of other "mouthwatering" options for all, who are "fussy about food" ;-).

All the best for both of you!
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful retreat in the beautiful hills outside Galle. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The pool is lovely for relaxing and the food was excellent (especially the Sri Lankan curries and breakfast). Elke and her team do a wonderful job of making you feel welcome and making sure you're comfortable during your stay. We stayed in the Tourmaline room for 2 nights and then moved to the Pearl suite for our last night after some very noisy neighbors kept us awake most of the night...Elke and her team were only too happy to upgrade us to the pearl suite. We didn't do any yoga during our stay but most other guests did and Elke seems like a great teacher. Although the location was very remote, we enjoyed this the most and it was only a short tuk tuk ride into the centre of galle. We can't wait to come back and experience niyagama house again, thank you Elke and staff!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear "hist",

thanx a lot for this wonderful review! We were really happy to offer you the Pearl Suite for better tranquility. As we were not fully booked it just was the perfect solution for making you happy without the need to scold the noisy neighbor ;-))).

It would be wonderful to welcome you here again. Just rebember: repeating guests will get the best prices ;-).

All the best to you and "R",
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a very disappointing stay. The room was tiny, and the service was very poor. If you are expecting luxury, do not stay here! The food was not of a good quality (we were served Kraft Singles plastic cheese at breakfast), and the staff were quite rude. We had an oil massage during our stay (which was in a small dark room). After the massage we showered using the towels provided, and the hotel claimed we had left oil stains on the towels and that we had to pay to replace them! Absolute madness. They wouldn't let us leave the hotel until we paid for the towels. Honestly the worst service I have received anywhere in Asia. Apart from the lovely pool, there is really no reason to stay at this hotel. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Matt,

first of all: thank you very much for the good advice concerning the cheese. This was already on my To-Do-List and now we offer fresh cut slices from a tasty block cheese, made in Sri Lanka.

Now to the size of the room and massage room: You are a really tall guy, so I can understand your impression. But we have photos of our rooms on our website (even with square feet information), so you should have booked a bigger room that matches your impressive stature. And when I have a massage, my eyes are almost the whole time closed ;-). But: the posh Spa Bungalow will hopefully be under construction soon.

Now to the massage towels: as English is your mother language I was really wondering that you did not understand, what you signed on your Spa voucher. Green oil = please use green towels and not the whites ones. Is that so difficult? And please: in the end you did not pay a single rupee for destroying several white towels. We just gave in to your not-understanding...

In the end I am happy for a bad review, so that interested people don't think that we pay for all the good ones :-)))!

May your future travels be full of huge rooms. All the best,
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, a real retreat in the hills with a beautiful pool, a well designed and luxury house and gorgeous rooms. The food was good and breakfast (included) was generous. We did the free meditation and bought some yoga classes which were excellent. We also took the free walk around the hotel grounds and saw the tea puckers and lovely fruit trees. We loved it here and didn't want to leave at the end. Elka and the rest of the team were really lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJLvsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiyagamaHouse, Owner at Niyagama House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear K, dear J,

big hug and a huge THANK YOU for your wonderful review! You light up my day and I will print it out for the rest of the crew. Keep up your great yoga! I am hopefully in S. soon to check out all the studios that you can choose from ;-).

All the best for your future,
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We found Niyagama House by accident really, we were due to go up to Kandy and decided spur of the moment to change our plans and travel to Galle instead, so the morning of our departure we got onto our ipad - googled Galle - and found Niyagama House. It scored highly on all the sites, however one is always still a little wary. We need not have feared, as immediately upon arrival, we knew we'd hit jackpot! I won't repeat all the lovely sentiments already written, but we reiterate that this retreat is not to be missed, Elke and her amazing team have this little serene haven working it's magic for all their guests. Since our return to Bath, we feel like we're the marketing team for this property, telling everyone, if they need a treat, then take themselves off to Sri Lanka and be sure to check into Niyagama House!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkingfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

There is not much need to add more to the reviews already on here, other than to back them all up!
We had two nights here, after a fantastic (but quite hectic) tour of Sri Lanka. Arriving here was like balm to the soul - from crowded, noisy streets to the quiet and calm of the plantation - heaven. The knots began to unravel even before the 90 minute Ayurvedic massage.
By day 2, I was so relaxed that I almost fell asleep in the morning meditation class - I finally opening my eyes to find that everyone else had tiptoed away!
The pool is breathtaking - Elke designed it herself - and it is big enough to have a proper swim in, the water clear and un-tainted by chlorine. At dusk you can watch the kingfishers having a dip.
We stayed in Sapphire - a large corner room with two double four-poster beds (I was travelling with a friend). Waking up to the sounds of the jungle was magical.
Superb food, lovely staff, stunning architecture - really, cannot rave about this place enough!

Room Tip: Ours was perfect for two friends sharing - but I would imagine they are all pretty special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
5.2 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
5.4 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,713 reviews
6.4 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
5.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
4.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niyagama House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niyagama House

Property: Niyagama House
Address: Niyagama | Akmeemana, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Niyagama House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niyagama House is a retreat with seven luxury rooms in the middle of a tea plantation. Situated only 9 kilometer inland (a 20 minutes tuktuk drive) from the beaches at the Indian Ocean and the charming World Heritage Site Galle Fort, it is a perfect place for relaxation and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Niyagama House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing