We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sandwiches”

La Clochette Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 137 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Hi We opened this restaurant recently, coming form France. It is located in the Fort of Galle : 3 Parawa Street (a small road off Pedlar street, near the Remparts ; ask for the French Café as many people know. We are open from about 8:30 am till about 10:00 pm (however depending on the season and some special national days off in Srilanka). We work with local products and local young staff we progressively train : it is also our commitment to the country and we do our best with what we find in the place ; we don't pretend anything else. We serve BREAKFAST, BRUNCH, LUNCH, TEA/COFFE TIME, DINER. You will find (all home made in our bakery) : croissants, brioches, lemon and chocolate pies, fresh juices, good espresso and tea, etc..., as well as some typical French dishes as Coq au Vin, Sole fish in Riesling wine sauce.. Also some "family" food as Pasta and Pizzas. We also create new dishes from time to time. PATIO IN THE BACK SIDE, INTERNATIONAL MUSIC, FREE WIFI . Thank you :)
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

If you are tired of the rice&curry, you can eat French baguette with French fries.The patio is smart, very quiet and cool.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandrine239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    58
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Love the courtyard at the back ”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We decided to try something different for a meal out and stumbled upon this place. The setting was lovely- small tables and benches in a secluded courtyard with little lights and plants. We had a burger and a dessert each which were very good.

Helpful?
Thank grace c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Brioche!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stopped here for breakfast and had some really authentic brioche and jam - delicious. The coffee with was great too but I was sad they didn't have croissants the day we visited

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tpw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Why call this french ?”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Longing to have something else than curry we walked into la Clochette ,but the concept is tottaly
strange ,by all standards : they have croissants ,you can look at them ,but only can have them by
ordering as take away .....trying other snacks ,choice is poor ,and nothing slightly french .
To finish ,the music was so loud ,and inconveniet that we rushed away,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripalmenara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Clochette Ba... ., Gérant at La Clochette Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Madam, we are normally happy to read constructive critics. Yet we found yours extremely excessive if not aggressive, especially since it is based on wrong assumptions :
Since you are wondering what is French we have :
Brioche, Baguette, pains au chocolats, croissants (when not sold out), butter (famous Elle et Vire), Chocolate, Coffee, and .... 2/3 of lunch and dinner dishes !! And 1/2 of music !
May be you did not have time to check...
Apart form that when the music is too loud when we go somewhere we kindly ask if they can put it lower and this is done immediately and with smiles : easy and nice. Because some like it loud , others like low...
Excess in ratings and comments may not give credit to them anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I've been reminiscing upon my time in Galle Fort during July 2013. I have many fond memories of La Clochette and It is fantastic to find this excellent restaurant - which during my stay was seemingly overlooked by diners - is now ranked #5 out of 70 restaurants in Galle. Thank you Charles & Gaelle.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaDando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Clochette Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 
Galle, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to La Clochette Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing