We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night sleep in years”
Review of Templeberg Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Templeberg Villa
Ranked #8 of 128 Galle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best night sleep in years”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a really wonderful small boutique hotel, just off the Southern Highway in Galle. It is so quiet and calm and a perfect rest after busy Colombo.
Karin and her staff are so friendly and happy to arrange for lunch or dinner if you want to stay put. The gardens are tranquil and you can see so many different birds, butterflies and monkeys. The bedroom has Ac or fans and is cool and nicely decorate as is the rest of the house.
We spent time in Galle Fort and also took a tour to Yatagalla Temple and Handugoda Tea Estate.
I can't wait to return.
Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms simple and inviting and if you are a family there is a bungalow with adjoining bathroom to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
56
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Villa Templeberg. Although it is situated a little way outside Galle town and fort it was cooler and quieter than being in the middle of the town itself- and it is only a short tuk tuk ride away. The villa is a stylish and elegant retreat in a traditional Dutch style and the rooms are very comfortable and well maintained. We were warmly welcomed by Karin and her staff who went out of their way to make us feel at home. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosQuintBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a pleasant stay of five nights at Templeberg Villa. The longer we were there the more we enjoyed staying at the villa and experiencing the warm hospitality from all staff.
We stayed in the saffron room , which was very large, it was enjoyable to then walk straight out onto the front porch of the villa and be served tea before breakfast.
Templeberg is located about 10 minutes away on a tuk tuk to the nearest swimming (jungle beach). Staff at the villa can organise the tuk tuk, it is a little bit further to Galle Fort , but again it can be easily reached with a tuk tuk. Sudu the resident driver was very safe and always had a huge smile. The food was excellent, we ate the best Sri Lankan curries we had on our two week trip of the country at the villa. The cook, Trixie makes an assortment of curries for you each evening. Each morning you were provided with fresh fruit, cereals as well as a Sri Lankan specialty such as hoppers. Also if you get a chance do a cooking class with Trixie. The class includes a fun trip to the Galle market to get the ingredients. Karin also took us for a visit to a local temple, not the kind of authentic experience you get with large hotels and organised tours.
The only down side is the lack of a decent pool (there is a smaller plunge type pool). We understand the villa is progressing plans to install a pool soon.
We felt Templeberg offered good value accommodation, especially for the Galle area, the villa does not have all the fine details of a five star western style hotel but you have to remember you would pay a lot more for such features in the Galle area.
We had an enjoyable time at Templeberg, and we left relaxed, the staff definitely make the experience enjoyable and treat you as one of their family.

Room Tip: Saffron Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I'm so happy and lucky that I've choosed this hotel for my university graduation trip. Everything is just perfect. Karin and her team have made this hotel so heartwarming and unique. Trixie, thank u so much for ur delicious dinner, best pumpkin curry I've ever had. Sudu, ur smile made me very happy every morning . Achila, hope I spell the name right, ur a very good guy, having a perfect time talking to u. U have given us a lot of useful advertises. And thnx for the juice~
And also big thnx to the night watcher and the gardener and the maid . U guys r the best.
Last but not the least, Karin , u have a superb taste for artifacts and paintings . Ur hotel is like a big art museum. I really wanna steal one of those antique masks. Lol and to Mumu and Rewa, u two girls stole my heart!!! Try to steal u two but failed~ and Mumu, stop bullying Rewa!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisChien0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was fortunate enough to return to Templeburg Villa, Galle, Sri Lanka for the second time.

Can I say that things are only getting better! My last review was a reflection of a great stay at
a very good property. But wait there is so much more...

Some stylish touches have been made to the Villa with the rooms now reflecting a fabulous colour coordination and feeling even more traditional and welcoming.

Two brand new bathrooms, tastefully styled and very functional - no hideous shower screens or curtains - brilliant design - truly 5 Star!

My stay was during a time when two of the owners, Brent & Christopher, were over from Melbourne
and I need to say what EXCELLENT hosts they are ... combined with the adorable team of staff
they have at the Villa always smiling and at your beck and call - I never wanted to leave....

It is obvious that Karin, one of the owners who resides in Sri Lanka, has a good relationship with the team to keep things ticking away nicely. The Team worked tirelessly to ensure a high level of service is provided at the Villa, right down to ironing of my sheets! Love it.

Generously I was included in a lunch with local friends of the Templeburg Villa team and the food was AWESOME..... I'm sure there should be chef hat awarded to loveable Trixie love a curry, there was garlic and pumpkin curry - yes Garlic curry - you think to yourself What??
It was the best curry I have ever had complimented with the perfect prawns, papadums and dahl...you hungry now!

A massage is highly recommended at Templeberg, Achila one of the team, works through those knots and knarls to take you to the serenity of the surroundings of Sri Lanka the perfect combination.

You can see from my photos that this was such an amazing trip, I look forward to a return visit to experience all the exciting developments the Templeburg team have planned... See you then ....

Room Tip: The blue room is excellent and as a single female traveller I felt so safe, in the heart of the acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJW008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our stay at Templeberg was superb. Set amongst palms on a hillside 10 minutes tuk tuk ride from Galle fort, this Dutch colonial home is atmospheric and tastefully renovated.
Ruled by the hospitable and informative Karin, (aka Madam Templeberg) the plantation is an oasis from the heat and buzz of the outside Sri lankan world. The staff here are fabulous, alert to your every need. The breakfasts are fresh and delicious, and Trixey's dinners are worth staying in for! Try a massage with Achula - sensational to get over a long flight.
Special mention must go to Reva and Mumu, the canine Templeberg team - we wanted to take them home! Highly recommend the villa for a laid back and well located stay with wonderful people who make you feel like family!

Room Tip: Large plantation suite is the best with the largest bed and room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If your looking for peace and tranquility then look no further.. Villa Templeberg offers old worldly charm with great service. Only a stone throw off the end of the motorway to Galle Fort this heavenly Dutch Colonial Villa it is nestled amongst five acre of palm trees. The place has three large bedrooms with onsuites and a two bedroom bungalow with a share bathroom ideal for friends or families. This is my second time here and little has changed.. Some atheistic to the garden and buildings but Trixie cooking is Devine and tux tux is always on hand to get you to Unawatuna, Jungle Beach, the Fort or down to Talpe Bay. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The front plantation is large and is great for a couple .. Can also add extra bed for small child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
4.0 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
3.3 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
232 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mango House
Mango House
#4 of 128 in Galle
237 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Fort Bazaar
The Fort Bazaar
#1 of 23 in Galle
187 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jetwing Kurulubedda
Jetwing Kurulubedda
#2 of 134 in Galle
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templeberg Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templeberg Villa

Property: Templeberg Villa
Address: Babaragoda Road off Akuressa Road, Loressakanda, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Templeberg Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Templeberg Villa is a boutique Dutch- Colonial breakfast included accommodation option set on a 5 acre tea and coconut estate near to the historical Galle Fort with a dramatic 30m jungle edge infinity pool. Built in 1864 and updated yearly, it features 6 bedrooms, a 20 seat outdoor dining area, landscaped gardens, large Suites and Double rooms with free Wi-Fi. Fitted with tiled flooring, evaporative cooling and overhead and floor fans, Four Poster mosquito netted beds with ample storage space, occasional chairs and writing desks. Each room option has a private bathroom with walk-in showers and toiletries. Two Suites occupy the front of the villa with separate sitting areas, private French doored balconies, antique soft furnishings and fully equipped western bathrooms. The beautifully appointed Navy Room with Queen Four Poster Bed, occasional chair, private bathroom and garden views is a fantastic entry level room. The 2 bedroom Family bungalow with adjoining doors, private bathroom, single, bunk bed or Queen configurations and outdoor dining options is a popular choice with families. The 10 full time staff arrange everything from airport shuttle and tuk tuk transport, housekeeping, laundry, sightseeing activities, home cooked meals, yoga, massage and health and well being services. A complimentary Sri Lankan and Western breakfast is included. Tailored meals are also provided by the in house cook starting from 1200LKR per person. Meals can also be eaten in neighbouring beach and Fort areas or takeaway meals can be arranged from the popular southern Indian Lime Leaf Restaurant from the Beach at Bona Vista. Hawker stalls in Kaduruduwa village also sell rice packets and meals. Easily accessible to Galle Fort, Unawatuna and Thalpe beaches. Major Tourist attractions of the Southern Coast are a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away. Fluently-conversed in Swedish and French, the friendly New Zealand/Swedish host can assist guests with any requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Templeberg Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing