We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovly little shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid House

Orchid House
Ranked #3 of 48 Shopping in Galle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tea, clothes, spices, books, silver jewellery, antiques, pottery, handicrafts, handloom, herbal products, organic products, recycle products, gift items, pashminas, jewellery repairs, tea tasting area, coconut shell products. 100% Sri Lankan hand made products.leather products.inscence sticks
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovly little shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

It's a nice tea shop with a huge variety of items to choose from.since the items are so nicely arranged it's so easy to find out. Galle fort has developed so much some times you may find the same items cheaper or half the price in some shops. But the speciality of this shop is that the owner will always help you in finding the piece that you always wanted.
Like other shops in fort bargaining is not possible in this shop, it has a strict marked price concept. Other than that it's a nice shops filled with little things that you can always take away to present.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Boutique Tea and Gifts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were very happy with our purchases from this well stocked shop. The white tea was reasonable and came in both a caddy or package. The toys were well made and there were some nice shirts and blouses upstairs. The front of shop assistance was very helpful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mookiandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadian working in Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place for shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Loads of great products and with lots of variety. Friendly staff. We purchased some bowls that were reasonably priced.

Helpful?
1 Thank adfasdfjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 stop shop for the most beautiful jewellery & souvenirs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I think I made about 3 or 4 visits to Orchid House during my stay around the area at the beginning of November. The shop is very inviting (nice and cool inside), and if you love silver jewellery and gemstones - then WOW! this is the place to go. Such fantastic and original designs, & great workmanship, really really stunning. Also a very relaxing place in which to spend time trying on, and then deciding which is the ring (or rings in my case!) for you. As I was at the end of my trip looking for gifts for friends and family back home it was the ideal place for picking up creative, interesting (and transportable) souvenirs. Awesome shop. Loved it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sjbest22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were just checking shops in Fort. And here we found that display and selection quite nice. Tea and incense are the things we can get anytime,anywhere in Sri Lanka but to find what you really like is not easy. Here, the shop keeper is keen to market what he sells and can answer questions in English . I found the price a bit more expensive than other shops. Still this is a one stop shopping place for all the souvenir needs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MommyandmeColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yameenhussain, Owner at Orchid House, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for your comments.
I think you were in my shop 5 or 6 days ago with 2 ladies and you were asking from me for discount and i refused to give as i have a strict policy of FIX PRICE.
you were mentioning Bit expensive than other shops.
You showed me receipt buying a cinnamon toothpic holder for lkr 550/- and in my shop lkr 580/-
Thats the only product you showed me expensive.all other pices you and your friends purchased it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orchid House also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Orchid House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing