We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family holiday”
Garden and House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and House
Interior Pond Garden and House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Garden and House
Interior Pond
Garden and House
Twin Bedroom
Interior Pond
Junior Master Suite
Junior Master Bathroom
View From Balcony
Garden
View from Lower Double Room
Pool Lounge Room
Master Bathroom
Pool
Double Room
Pool Lounge
Double Room
Kitchen
Kids Room - 6 Bunk Beds
Master Bathroom 2
Pool and House at Night
Dining
Living Area
Kitchen
KItchen
Pool at Night
House at Night
Breakfast by Pool
Landing
Interior
Beach Facing Frontage
Double Room Bathroom
View From Upper Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jo A
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a brilliant time at the Skye House for the October half term. We were a family with three young children, 2 uncles and grandparents and we loved every minute. The house is a lovely colonial style villa on a pristine beach with plenty of space, a play ground and swings and a great games room. The garden is lovely for the children to run around and releasing the baby turtles at the sanctuary next door was great. Janaka the villa manager looked after us so well with his great team, they organised Tuk Tuks, transfers and excursions for us and Sam the Chef prepared delicious meals and gave us s cooking class. The house is well located between Galle and Welligama. We will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Yippeeee.....really hope so. Dear Jo....please do come back. It was a pleasure looking after you. Thank you for your review.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raniia N
2 reviews
“Ultimate Holiday Home - You will never want to leave!”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We rented out this place to have our wedding. The wedding was meant to be a beach side garden party for 100 guests and the pictures I saw online seemed promising. Little did I know, the pictures do not do the place justice. The place is stunning with plenty of seating areas with grand bedrooms all with built in en-suites. Plenty of nice areas to chill. Our favourite spots in the house is in the pool or on the upper floor balcony overlooking the ocean. I regretted instantly not choosing to stay there longer.

More than the place itself, what truly made our stay were the wonderful staff who not only tended to our every needs but also went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable.
Their in-house chef catered to our every needs and cooked whatever we felt like (At one point we wanted pasta and he happily obliged. It was delicious).
But most of all to Janaka who is just the most wonderful host. Anything we needed was there in a heartbeat. Need a run to the ATM? He actually went and personally took me to one. Air-con broke down? He'll have a new one installed in the next couple of hours. Absolutely a delight to have a conversation with too.
The wedding itself was stunning and felt like a fairytale. I can only pray that one day we will get the chance to come back. The only downside of our stay was how sad I was to leave. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Dear Raniia, we wish you had stayed longer also and hope that you will come back. First anniversary maybe? Thank you so much for your kind review and the time it took you to write it.
Very best wishes
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam55762...
2 reviews
“Ideal location and perfect for large group”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at Skye for 2 nights and it was the perfect location to explore the Galle area (highlights incl. Dalawella beach, Galle Fort, Sea Turtle Sanctuary, Koggala beach). The set-up is beautiful and it's right on a secluded beach. Loved the support staff as they were very helpful and attended to our every need/request.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tapthorp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The family vacation perfected!”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Skye House excels in each aspect of an ideal family vacation. The house and its decor offer equal parts luxury and comfort. The bedrooms are all spacious and en suite with the total number of beds meaning that a stay here is most suited to either multiple families or large ones. There are all the appropriate mod-cons for such a place and both indoor and outdoor activities are provided for in abundance. The pictures are evidence enough for the beauty of this beach-side villa. The beach itself goes as far as the eye can see though do make note of the season if beach lounging is a requirement for your stay.

The villa is well-staffed, each member is extremely kind and helpful but also respect the privacy of their guests. Staff know the local area very well and can arrange a variety of trips, including trips to Galle wherein the original fort sits proudly against the sea. The staff are also more than happy to school you in a game of cricket. 24hr security dispels all crime-related concerns.

The chef is adept in preparing not only tasty, fresh Sri Lankan food but can also accommodate a wide variety of cuisines, including more child-orientated food. He is happy for the guest to pick from a large menu but we found that letting him use his experience to select and prepare the best local ingredients was a way to ensure only the freshest food was on the table. He can also prepare gargantuan volumes of milkshakes for any sweet-toothed guests.

I found no issues with my stay at Skye House and I anticipate that very few people ever would.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
A little late in the response to this one! Thank you so much for a wonderful review. Skye House is indeed one of our personal favourites and we are extremely happy you had such a great time.

Skye House will always be waiting if you plan a return trip. We have already passed on your comments to the team at Skye. Happy travels! Regards - The EVM team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a blissful 8 night stay in Skye House with two other families (6 adults and 6 children altogether). The house, layout and location was fantastic, with the kids loving the garden gate right onto the beach and the warm indian ocean! Nothing was too much trouble for Janeka and his hard working team! Samantha's authentic food was excellent and catered for all tastes. Janeka organised and recommended lots of excursions for us including, tea plantation, cinnamon experience, boat trip on Koggala lake, lunch out in Galle, dinner at the Fortress hotel, sunset cruise from Mirissa, elephant ride, bike trecking through paddy fields, picnic and snorkelling on Jungle beach and a particular high light for my 11 year old son was getting to drive Janeka's tuk tuk on several occasions! He even took us to his local village to join in the Sri Lankan New Year games and celebrations. The locals were extremely friendly and we felt safe where ever we went. It was lovely to get up to a beautifully prepared breakfast of fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs, pancakes, Sri Lankan omelettes and hoppers! We had a most memorable time at Skye House and would be delighted to return one day. A big thank you to Janeka and his team xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Dear Fiona,
Thank you so much for writing the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Skye House.
Best Regards.
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryl2191...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beach holiday”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this property is really excellent. A short distance from Galle and shops. The facilities were adequate but not plush. More comfortable sitting room furniture would have been much appreciated. All the removable covers on the furniture were dirty and stained from previous occupants. Covers should be taken off and washed in preparation of the incoming occupants.

The staff were friendly and willing to please us with any request made. The chef is to be commended for the variety of meals served exactly to our liking.

A wonderful holiday venue for children and young families.

The beach was above expectations and could have been excellent with the removal of large items of debris left from incoming tides.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Access to the beach
Liked least: The very few beach towels put out each day. Some days there were none.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful home for a large family group, and great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A group of 8 of us stayed at Skye House in July 2015. Two families with mostly adult children. This was the second of our two week trip to Sri Lanka and our villa stay was for some rest and recreation after a busy first week of activities. The Villa is welcoming, beautiful and private. Whilst right on the main road in to Galle, it hides securely behind a large wall & gate to reveal a tranquil oasis. The bedrooms are large with very comfortable beds and spacious ensuite bathrooms. The view from upstairs bedrooms is straight to the ocean. Living areas also spacious and the pool very inviting. The staff were very attentive. Janaka looked after us well and every meal prepared by the chef Samantha was outstanding. There is direct beach access, however as the weather was very windy when we were there, the water was too rough and we did not go to the beach at all - we relaxed by the pool instead.

The location was good - only a 15-20 min car ride to Galle for sight seeing, shopping and eating, and right on the bus route. The local bus was an experience in itself! It is also only a couple of doors away from a Turtle Hatchery which was worth a visit. We also went on a local guided bike tour with Idle Bike Tours that was just up the road.

Overall a lovely, relaxing and comfortable stay. We would have stayed longer if the weather had been better.

Only comment for improvements - the wifi did not work in both lounge area and pool room. Could only have one or the other which restricted use of the pool room. And also the cable TV did not work on the TV in pool room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and chef
Liked least: Wifi not throughout both living areas.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing