We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moonstone Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Luxury interior
Luxury lounge fully equip
Homely and comfortable
Elephants on our beach
Fitted to the highest standard throughout
High ceiling with high end decor
beautiful night lighting creating a wonderful magical atmosphere
Tasteful interior
On-suite master bathroom
luxurious bedrooms with wonderful soft mattress's
Italian inspired bathroom
Relax in the lounge in total luxury
Highly trained staff clean to the highest standards
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Arlin F
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding holiday”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We travelled to Sri Lanka in a large group of 4 families (14 people) and rented the Moonstone Villa as well as the property next door (same owner). I must say that this was one of the best vacations we had due to the outstanding service of the staff, travel to and from the Colombo airport, the beautiful accommodation and the lovely people of Sri Lanka. We had a fleet of Tuk Tuk drivers (loosely affiliated with the villa - deal with the brothers) who arranged all our local transportation, even picking up beverages, food and snacks as required. When we arrived we had a small issue with the A/C but it was handled immediately and without issue. The chef prepared delicious food at a very nominal rate. Overall I would rate this accommodation top marks and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to this region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic!!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiga_11
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Super relaxing”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We spent 6 nights in Moonstone Villa at the start of our 5 weeks in Sri Lanka. The villa is perfect for a family, well equipped, spacious and in a great location. The staff are wonderfully accommodating and all of the food we had prepared by the chef was delicious (the kids menu was a bonus for our fussy eater). The back of the villa opens up to the plunge pool and the beach where we spend our evenings watching the sun set over the water and the fishermen prepare their boats to go out for the night. We were happy to be so close to Galle and made the most of the villa's tuk tuk driver. The only downside is that it is located on a busy road so if you are a light sleeper like me the sound of traffic starts around 6am. This did not seem to bother anyone else in the family and getting up early meant that I was able to enjoy the beach with the locals. I would recommend Moonstone Villa for a family or 2 groups of couples or friends. For us it was the perfect introduction to Sri Lanka

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: backing onto the beach and proximity to Galle
Liked least: busy road
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steveE427...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great Villa - helpfull Owner”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Dom the owner met us at the Railway station in Galle and took us to our Moonstone Villa. Villa was very clean and appointed with air conditioning, TV, Wifi and best of all a private chef.

Villa is right on the beach so we could walk each morning and have a swim.

The chef arived by appointment and cooked us anything we asked for - did a wonderful BBQ including jumbo prawns, pork chops, steak, kebabs and potatoes all at very reasonable prices. The staff bought beer for us upon request so there was really no need to leave the villa at all. We did walk up the beach on lunchtime and found a wonderful bar and grill right on the beach.

Dom the owner and his wife were very helpful and gave us their number in case we needed anything.

Highly recommend this villa in Sri Lanka.

Steve

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: In house cooking by the chef
Liked least: Swimming pool a bit small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally-Ann...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“A little bit of heaven in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our friends (couple) and our family (kids, 5 and 2 years old) had a wonderful stay - so relaxing and so spoiled by the amazing owners and staff at the villa. From the booking process, to the transfers to and from the airport, and to our stay - all was done with professionalism and with the aim of making our stay as enjoyable and seamless as possible, all achieved. Lots of information provided to us about what to do in the area, which service providers to use, etc. The villa is very comfortable with lovely, authentic Sri Lankan decor. A bonus was the air conditioning, generator, wifi and the cable tv. Our meals, cooked every night, were always delicious. with different options for adults and children. Galle is a beautiful place to see and we found the Sri Lankan people so friendly and hospitable. We will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great place to stay. When you are trying to book from overseas it can be difficult to understand how holiday homes run in other countries. We were a bit concerned because some holiday homes seem to have "live in" staff which is not what we wanted. Moonstone Villa is the best of both worlds - the housekeeper and chef live very close by but not in the house. While we originally thought we would self cater for evening meals we rapidly changed our minds and decided to have the meal cooked for us. Not only enjoying more relaxing time but experiencing more local cuisine - although there were also European options available.
Very easy and cheap to get tuk tuk ride into Galle although we ended up only doing this for one day as the villa was so lovely to relax at !
The internet was spasmodic and weak - did not worry us as we had data on our phones and the owner did tell us that faster broadband was due into the area soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great house layout for 2 couples
Liked least: During heavy rain there were a couple of very minor leaks
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iantravel...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife and I had a long rental at the villa during the first quarter of 2015, with friends and family visiting us throughout our stay. Firstly the owners Dom & Anna (who live nearby) and staff were great. They worked hard to ensure we enjoyed a truly memorable holiday. The villa is located on the coastal side of the Colombo to Galle Highway and backs onto a lovely stretch of beach which is mostly deserted apart from a few residents and some local fishermen. An early morning or late afternoon walk along the beach is recommended. The locals are very friendly and will stop to chat.

The villa is spacious and one of the bedrooms can be changed to accommodate a double bed or four bunks. Dom & Anna have equipped the villa to a high spec with very comfortable beds, UK style 13A sockets, a water cooler and a HiFi which has an Apple docking system and which also takes MP3 CDs. The villa even has a generator to cater for power failures! The main bedroom has an en-suite bathroom while the other two bedrooms share a bathroom. Breakfast is provided by the staff every morning which we ate whilst sitting on the sundeck looking out to sea. Breakfast can comprise, fresh fruit, juice, toast, your choice of eggs, croissants, pancakes, tea/coffee and even a traditional potato curry with string hoppers which was wonderful. Just let the chef know of your choice for breakfast. The chef can also cook lunch and evening dinner/BBQ if required. We enjoyed many evening dinners but the chef's signature dish has to be the Sri Lankan curry which was excellent.

The sundeck, pool and garden are complemented by the view of the sea and the sound of the waves breaking on the beach. The high walls and greenery surrounding the sun deck offer a degree of privacy and shade.

The staff (Nimal, Kanthi, Raj and Ajith) are very friendly, helpful and courteous. As you would expect on a long rental, things do go wrong occasionally. A measure of good service is how quickly these situations are resolved and on this point, the staff cannot be faulted.

On occasions we took a 10 minute tuk tuk ride to Galle Fort which has a number of good restaurants and from where you can obtain welcome refreshment after a stroll along the ramparts and Fort Wall.

You will not be disappointed if you choose to holiday at the villa as it is very restful and ideally placed to travel to Mirissa (for whale watching) and a trip Yala National Park. We hope to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trond H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Holiday”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

6 people between age 20 and 76 for 16 days in Xmas and new year,
An experience for a lifetime.
In the villa you wake up every morning for a great breakfast made from the great discrete staff just as you want it. They can also offer you great lunch or dinner for a very good price.

A great villa between the quiet Galle fort and the busy Hikkaduwa, just a short TucTuc trip away.
The best is in front of the villa, 2.5km beach just for you and some fishermen. The only salespeople you can meet offer you fresh fish or lobster, or just walk 100m for the Beach Bar.
The villa was in a very good condition, all you need, full kitchen where we made our xmas dinner without any problems.

We got 3kg rock-lobster and gave it to our chef. He prepared and made a dinner for 6 people you never get on a restaurant anywhere, we had to do it twice...

Dom followed us up all the time as the excellent host he is.

Remember to tip the persons you want to tip directly and fix the price before you start the tuctuc drive... We all love that place
Our favorite tripat the beach : http://www.wikiloc.com/wikiloc/view.do?id=8575249

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walk on the beach every day and have a swim in 30°C water...
Liked least: The buses from Colombo in the morning, hanging on the horn...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing