We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moonstone Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Luxury interior
Luxury lounge fully equip
Homely and comfortable
Elephants on our beach
Fitted to the highest standard throughout
High ceiling with high end decor
beautiful night lighting creating a wonderful magical atmosphere
Tasteful interior
On-suite master bathroom
luxurious bedrooms with wonderful soft mattress's
Italian inspired bathroom
Relax in the lounge in total luxury
Highly trained staff clean to the highest standards
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sophandca...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

wonderful villa, wonderful staff on a lovely beach with a beautiful pool!!! can't fault this villa, only wish we could have stayed longer but we had an amazing time here & would highly recommend getting a tuk tuk (which they provide) to unawatuna beach as there is a lovely stretch of little shops and restaurants there and galle fort (another amazing place, full of lovely little lanes of cafes and shops) these are both so nearby, only a short tuk tuk ride away which makes the location of the villa. - the tuk tuk drivers we had, a father and son, we're so lovely and the english of the staff is exceptional !! you could easily never leave this villa and have a great holiday!! thank u so much to everyone who made our stay amazing (:

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameskitc...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for 6 weeks over april and may 2016. Dom's communication whilst booking was excellent and he even helped to organise our transfers from the airport. The villa is lovely and sits on a fantastic quiet beach, the pool is relatively small, but is excellent for young children. Dom and all the staff were brilliant and made us feel incredibly welcome, chef in particular was great - especially with fussy children!
The villa is about 10 minutes in a tuktuk from galle and although you can hear the road, it didnt bother us at all. Buses are also every couple of minutes and incredibly cheap.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the beach and the pool
Liked least: The road, but wasn't a particular problem
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luv2cher
Summerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous vacation rental near Galle, Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We just got back from a wonderful 6 weeks at the Moonstone Villa! The property is right on the beach, about 10 minutes to Galle via tuk tuk, has a great dipping pool, fully equipped kitchen, security, daily housekeeping and chef! Honestly we had planned to do our own cooking, however our rental price included breakfasts and if we wanted we could have the chef cook lunch and dinner....it didn't take long and we had chef Nimal cooking almost every night for us! We had a couple of friends join us for two weeks and between the 4 of us we had a variety of dietary restrictions! Vegetarian, food allergies, gluten-free, dairy free etc. The chef was absolutely incredible stick handling through it all. The villa owners live a couple doors down the beach, warm and friendly hosts....with some great story telling! Dom is a writer and you've got to have a read of his adventures - really exciting. Tennis courts are about 10 minutes away at the Jetwing Lighthouse Resort. We bought a membership for the tennis, also enabled us to use the resort facilities if we wanted. Wifi and TV satellite, air conditioned. Pictures are a good reflection of the actual property. Best part of the whole stay was getting to know the staff and hosts, truly, all wonderful people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff and hosts, superb. Private, beachfront.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArlinF
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding holiday”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We travelled to Sri Lanka in a large group of 4 families (14 people) and rented the Moonstone Villa as well as the property next door (same owner). I must say that this was one of the best vacations we had due to the outstanding service of the staff, travel to and from the Colombo airport, the beautiful accommodation and the lovely people of Sri Lanka. We had a fleet of Tuk Tuk drivers (loosely affiliated with the villa - deal with the brothers) who arranged all our local transportation, even picking up beverages, food and snacks as required. When we arrived we had a small issue with the A/C but it was handled immediately and without issue. The chef prepared delicious food at a very nominal rate. Overall I would rate this accommodation top marks and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to this region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic!!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiga_11
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Super relaxing”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We spent 6 nights in Moonstone Villa at the start of our 5 weeks in Sri Lanka. The villa is perfect for a family, well equipped, spacious and in a great location. The staff are wonderfully accommodating and all of the food we had prepared by the chef was delicious (the kids menu was a bonus for our fussy eater). The back of the villa opens up to the plunge pool and the beach where we spend our evenings watching the sun set over the water and the fishermen prepare their boats to go out for the night. We were happy to be so close to Galle and made the most of the villa's tuk tuk driver. The only downside is that it is located on a busy road so if you are a light sleeper like me the sound of traffic starts around 6am. This did not seem to bother anyone else in the family and getting up early meant that I was able to enjoy the beach with the locals. I would recommend Moonstone Villa for a family or 2 groups of couples or friends. For us it was the perfect introduction to Sri Lanka

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: backing onto the beach and proximity to Galle
Liked least: busy road
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steveE427...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great Villa - helpfull Owner”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Dom the owner met us at the Railway station in Galle and took us to our Moonstone Villa. Villa was very clean and appointed with air conditioning, TV, Wifi and best of all a private chef.

Villa is right on the beach so we could walk each morning and have a swim.

The chef arived by appointment and cooked us anything we asked for - did a wonderful BBQ including jumbo prawns, pork chops, steak, kebabs and potatoes all at very reasonable prices. The staff bought beer for us upon request so there was really no need to leave the villa at all. We did walk up the beach on lunchtime and found a wonderful bar and grill right on the beach.

Dom the owner and his wife were very helpful and gave us their number in case we needed anything.

Highly recommend this villa in Sri Lanka.

Steve

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: In house cooking by the chef
Liked least: Swimming pool a bit small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally-Ann...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“A little bit of heaven in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our friends (couple) and our family (kids, 5 and 2 years old) had a wonderful stay - so relaxing and so spoiled by the amazing owners and staff at the villa. From the booking process, to the transfers to and from the airport, and to our stay - all was done with professionalism and with the aim of making our stay as enjoyable and seamless as possible, all achieved. Lots of information provided to us about what to do in the area, which service providers to use, etc. The villa is very comfortable with lovely, authentic Sri Lankan decor. A bonus was the air conditioning, generator, wifi and the cable tv. Our meals, cooked every night, were always delicious. with different options for adults and children. Galle is a beautiful place to see and we found the Sri Lankan people so friendly and hospitable. We will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing