We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun House”
Review of The Sun House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sun House
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
EK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sun House”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

After reading the hotel website and the reviews on this site we were really looking forward to staying here, however we were very disappointed at the standard of accommodation at the hotel.
Our room was situated between the kitchen and sitting area, with the bedroom door leading straight onto the dining terrace, this location meant that there was constant noise, from all sides. There was open lattice work above the doors and we could lie in bed and hear conversations between the diners and the clinking of their cutlery; the banging and clanking in the kitchen and the guests in the sitting areas. It was impossible to go to asleep until the noise stopped. Although the furniture was lovely there was too much which made the room feel cramped. The bathroom had a cracked shower screen and a disgusting wooden toilet seat!! Not quite the luxurious accommodation we were expecting. The pool was tiny, and only suitable for children to play in. The overall appearance of our bedroom, the sitting areas and garden was scruffy and in need of some TLC. We had dinner one evening and again, given the reputation of the hotel, were looking forward to our meal, and again were disappointed.
Although the staff were friendly, I would not return or recommend the hotel as I am sure there are other places that still retain the character of the building but offer a higher standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    37
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
105
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It would not be possible for Henri and her team to do anything more for us. The Sun House has all the charm and grandeur of a fine colonial home. The food and the service were also outstanding.

Honestly the Sun House is a haven in the midst of the madness that is Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtedMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This beautifully restored Dutch house has so much character and is close to perfection. The living room area and the library really took us back in time. The cinnamon suite we stayed in is worth every penny. It has been voted by Conde Nast as the most beautiful room in the world. We understand why. Miss Henri, the manager, was very attentive throughout our stay. Although the management staff under seemed a bit odd. After Rick Stein's review on the food, our expectations were very high but unfortunately we were slightly disappointed. Shame, as everything else was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kands2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here (for our second time) in July 2011 ; the weather was surprisingly mild . Although unfortunately we missed Henri who was on leave , we were made very welcome by Arabella and Geoffrey , who kindly introduced us to the friendly residents of Galle & who made reliable recommendations for agreeable restaurants and beach clubs for lunch.We ate our dinners at the Sun House and they were excellent and affordable.We stayed in the upstairs suite , which has probably the best views in Asia & a well sited additional outside bathroom ; our two kids enjoyed the "Parrotfish" suite for the second time . We intend to return for the annual January literary festival . We would not consider staying anywhere else in Galle.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickingib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

First time in Sri Lanka and we didnt quite know what to expect......and then we reached the Sun House, Galle......and it was absoutely amazing. A cozy quaint welcoming warm and wonderful place....thats how we would describe the place. The property is over 150 years old and has a very colonial old world feel to it. There are 7 wonderfuly charming rooms, a really well stocked library, really friendly and efficient staff, beautiful setting.....everything about it was wonderful....right down ot the hotel Manager - Henry....a unique and fun personality in herself. If you are visting Sri Lanka...you must spend a couple of days in Galle...at the Sun house.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeenaWalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place is wonderful - and gets it right in terms of location, decor and service. A beautiful old colonial bungalow which has been lovingly restored, with gorgeous rooms and bathrooms, set atop a hill overlooking Galle. With a nice garden and plunge pool, and lots of big cushiony sofas to lounge about in. Very good food, all served on the verandah. It's a very relaxed place, where the staff make the guest feel totally comfortable and at home, while providing everything to the highest standard. The service is impeccable - low-key, unostentatious, and yet oh so friendly and there to meet one's every whim (and even whims which you hadn't thought of!). I was really, really impressed - hats off to you all at the Sun House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I fully understand the reason behind the wonderful feedback on trip advisor for this hotel, it is a lovely old house and has a lot of character. The garden is lovely and the sound of birds, monkeys etc was also delightful. We had a standard room, not the large room upstairs that many talk about and I have to say that due to the need for a refurb it didn't feel as clean and fresh as other boutique hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka. The pool is tiny and gave the impression of not being too clean, but maybe it was again the tired look. We couldn't stay at the pool for longer than 5 mins thanks to the mosquitos.
It seemed to be the only place we stayed at that didn't set up citronella candles etc to repel the mosquitos. We had a wonderful welcome by Henri, and it's a shame that warmth didn't carry though for the two days we stayed there.
We had dinner at the hotel one night and it was good. Breakfast was OK. Service OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
The Dutch House
The Dutch House
#15 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#11 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#4 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
4.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#3 of 23 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun House

Property: The Sun House
Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sun House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun House Hotel Galle
The Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing