We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Like staying at a home of a good friend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun House
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Like staying at a home of a good friend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Hen, the hotel manager, makes you feel as if you have been friends for years, offers you insightful stops and restaurants along your journey and makes the stay casual (in a good way). The rooms are well designed, service is attentive but not over bearing and restaurant is a must for dinner.
Walking distance to the Galle Fort, Sun House is a great place to stay for a few nights. If you want more if a beach holiday, I would suggest you move to Thalpe afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCTraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    37
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

stop 5 for a night stay enroute to Colombo. Close to local shops. Rooms not to bad, but clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and it was Brilliant experience. Very private and quiet. The food was delicious! I've never had such nice curry in my life. (I stay in an Asian-dominated part of south London). The breakfast was so nice and we had fresh fruit in the morning. Just pure heavenly food, I tell you. Now I'm on my way to f&@king McDonalds in London to get my brekkie :(

It's near the town, but very secluded due to the way the retreat is built. Everyone is friendly, Henri, (a brit) who runs the place- is very helpful and knowledgable and she has a wealth of information about the town. The who has lived there for so staff all speak English and anticipate your needs, which is such a nice change to Premier Inn and Travelodge! There is also wifi so I was able to download The Sun newspaper on my iPad. One of the reviews said don't leave valuables in the room... But that's rubbish. We left our passports and other stuff there that remained untouched. Tuk-tuk drivers are also immediately available in front of the hotel so they can take you anywhere you want. But make sure you haggle the fare as they will inflate it!!

Dislikes- one particular staff member indirectly asked for a tip. I'm not against tipping, but if you've done a good job then you won't even need to ask for a tip now would you? I usually tip 10% after a good service so i didnt like being asked for money. Anyway, I ended up giving 500 rupees to one of the staff and I said "share with the others". Whether or not he actually gave the others any of the money, I'll never know.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ols O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for our last night of our holiday before returning to the UK. We stayed in the Cinnamon suite and it was stunning. It was like something out of an Elle Decoration photo shoot, with a four-poster bed, wrapped in mossie-nets and ceiling fans whirring above your head. The overall finish is far from perfect, but that only added to the romance of the place. It's as if the owners are trying to take you back to a place in time that perfection didn't matter. The whole place had a very intimate feel, whether it be lounging in the sitting room reading a book or sitting out in the gardens with a g&t enjoying the silence.

We ate our evening meal in the restaurant. It was a set price meal (3000R) for 4 courses and it was truly delicious (delicious fish curry!). We finished off with some drinks sat in the courtyard, around a large tree which is adorned with fairy lights - very pretty! Breakfast the next morning was a feast of fresh fruit, muesli, toast and coffee which set us up nicely for the journey home.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and keen to make sure we had a good experience. So, even if you don't stay here, I certainly suggest you have an evening meal here to experience the ambience.

Room Tip: Cinnamon Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were invited by the owner after a chance meeting, to dine at his hotel.
From the moment we stepped through the gates we entered a light, white exotic oasis.
We met the inimitable Henry [the fabulous manager] and were escorted to our dining table on the outside balcony overlooking the fairy lit garden. Imagine, warm tropical air, attentive and courteous staff, good wine and a wonderful meal that was a clever fusion of Sri Lankan and Western cuisine.
We were encouraged to wonder through this boutique hotel and also its sister accomodation, the Dutch house across the road.
Now the question - when we return do we book in at Sun House or the Dutch house. Both had pools, but the Dutch house had beautiful gardens and a faboulous spill pool. The Sun House on the other hand, with its white walls, tiled floors and oh so comfortable sofas. Ahh?

Room Tip: Only spent time at dinner, but oh how I wished we could have stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Very peaceful and calm. Service is efficient and all the staff are incredibly helpful. Our room was v nice and incredibly comfortable.

The food is delicious and fairly reasonably priced.

It is a must to go for supper or stay, we stayed after 2 weeks of beaching and it was welcoming to have the sound of the crickets.

All in all would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CervusElaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

After reading the hotel website and the reviews on this site we were really looking forward to staying here, however we were very disappointed at the standard of accommodation at the hotel.
Our room was situated between the kitchen and sitting area, with the bedroom door leading straight onto the dining terrace, this location meant that there was constant noise, from all sides. There was open lattice work above the doors and we could lie in bed and hear conversations between the diners and the clinking of their cutlery; the banging and clanking in the kitchen and the guests in the sitting areas. It was impossible to go to asleep until the noise stopped. Although the furniture was lovely there was too much which made the room feel cramped. The bathroom had a cracked shower screen and a disgusting wooden toilet seat!! Not quite the luxurious accommodation we were expecting. The pool was tiny, and only suitable for children to play in. The overall appearance of our bedroom, the sitting areas and garden was scruffy and in need of some TLC. We had dinner one evening and again, given the reputation of the hotel, were looking forward to our meal, and again were disappointed.
Although the staff were friendly, I would not return or recommend the hotel as I am sure there are other places that still retain the character of the building but offer a higher standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.8 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#20 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dutch House
The Dutch House
#40 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#33 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amangalla
Amangalla
#17 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#9 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun House

Property: The Sun House
Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#16 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sun House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Sun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun House Hotel Galle
The Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing