We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and Gracious Hospitality”
Review of The Sun House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sun House
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for 4 nights at the Sun House in Galle. The shady courtyard, delicious lime and ginger drink and warm greeting from the manager were very welcome after a long day that started at the game park 4 hours south of Galle at 5 in the morning. The whole experience of the Sun House was like being invited into someone's lovely home, from the cosy drawing room, the shelves lined with really interesting books, the jazz notes drifting through the old colonial house at sunset and the fantastic food and cocktails offered from the kitchen and bar. The service was the best we had experienced during our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. All the staff were so helpful and so professional -- something we had found lacking in the other properties we visited during our tour of the island. Also the food was as good as any good restaurant at home -- healthy gourmet with an emphasis on the fantastic seafood sourced daily and much of the produce coming from the garden that is maintained below the hotel . So many hotels these days lack the warmth and personality of the Sun House. We'll certainly be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

On arrival here we were given a drink, left alone for 15mins then shown to the wrong room! On departure our bill was incorrect. We subsequently heard that Henry the long standing and respected(by many reviewers) manager had left and had been replaced on a temporary basis. Perhaps the chef had also left, as although the food was good, it was not outstanding as implied by previous reviewers. We stayed in the cinnamon suite complete with amazing library. The bath is outside the suite on a small un-overlooked balcony,and ventilation for the suite is provided by overhead fans.The windows are unglazed. Weare light sleepers, and the variable noise from the port area interfered with our sleep. We were moved to a suite in the Dutch House(opposite) with no problem. Perhaps on reflection the Sun House is more suited to younger guests, and the Dutch House for older travellers.

Room Tip: If you are not fleet of foot beware of the narrowish and curving staircase leading to the cinnamon s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank densilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Sun House as part of our Honeymoon Tour across Asia. We arrived at the Sun House in some way knowing what to expect based on reading all the other reviews on TripAdvisor before booking.

The charm of this place is outstanding and we felt so fortunate to be able have booked the Cinnamon Suite which in itself is so historic. The room was massively spacious decorated by hundreds and hundreds of books in the living room and about a hundred more in the bedroom! Yes there is no AC and yes there is no television so if you feel that is of importance to you I would strongly recommend booking elsewhere as they are adement about keeping the place "as it was." You can get a little hot in the room but there are fans to cool you down.

As for the food it is absolutely top notch. We had some excellent meals both for breakfast and for dinner. I believe they have set menus only that are made the day of and are shown to you earlier should you like to join them that night for dinner. I must say the curry was excellent and the Chilean white wine was a fantastic compliment to go with it.

The service we received from Anil and Priyantha made us feel completely at home and in good hands. A big thanks to Claire for assisting in our reservation before arrival.

All in all I would strongly recommend the Sun House should you be looking for something unique and different. Galle is breathtaking and its history is lush.

Room Tip: We booked the Cinnamon Suite based on other recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenetziaOleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Read about the Sun House through Tripadvisor and decided to try it out for myself. The ground transfers were punctual, polite and very efficient. Transfer from Colombo airport took just over 3 hours, but it was a journey into tranquility.

The team at Sun House were ready when we arrived, and check-in took mere minutes and I quickly found myself shown to the Cinnamon Suite (approx USD250/night). The Sun House boasts only six rooms/suites, and is of colonial origin.

The Cinnamon Suite is worth every cent for someone who wants space and peace. Although it isn't air-conditioned, the room is light and airy, and the fans work well. Despite daytime temperatures around 34C, the room never once felt warm or stuffy.

At the top of the stairs to the room, I was greeted by a spacious lounge area with bookshelves of well-read books, a colonial desk, and a very comfortable sofa. The bedroom was clean, and a four-poster bed adorned with petals, offered protection from any bugs (which I found none of in the 3 days I was there) with simple white mosquito nets that hung down tastefully from the top of the bed.

The bathroom offers hot water and a rain shower, the hotel's own spice shampoo, natural soaps and body scrubs, is a truly welcome and invigorating way to start and end a relaxing day out and about in Galle. There's even an outdoor bathtub that's discreet and private.

The hotel restaurants offer truly authentic Sri Lankan meals, so fresh that my stomach protested as soon as I ingested 'normal' food at the airport. Dinners are around USD20-25 per pax, consisting of 3 courses - an appetizer, a main, and dessert, washed down by cool water (or pick from a decent range of wines). The curries are awesome, and everything tastes wholesome without being overwhelming. The fish, lamb and chicken are brilliantly fresh and a delight for the palate.

Breakfasts can be had in the veranda, and the Sun House offers the usual English breakfast, but skip that and go for the Sri Lankan porridge instead (I cannot recall the name) - made from rice, coconut, and have it with fresh fruits, drizzled with treacle and fresh curd on the side - a true delight and a wonderful way to start the day. Sri Lankan Hansa, a dark Arabica, is served from a French press, and is rich and flavorful - with 2 teaspoons of brown sugar, it's a bittersweet caramelized syrup worthy of royalty.

There's free Wifi too, but reception from the Cinnamon Suite and the restrurant is patchy at best. It's obviously located in the office across the courtyard, but why anyone would want to get back to the real world from this paradise is beyond me. Nonetheless, internet speeds are decent.

There really is nothing to complain about the Sun House. Coming from life in a city, the Sun House offers a life much more ordinary, a true respite indeed.

Room Tip: There are six rooms in this hotel, and I highly recommend the Cinnamon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed three nights after two nights in tent safari at Yala. Beautiful quiet oasis on edge of Galle in hills. We had standard room with big bathroom but bedroom little small. Would recommend upgrade to larger room. Staff very helpful and breakfast menu great. Set dinner menu excellent if you don't feel like venturing into old fort area but highly recommend Printers Hotel or Galle face hotel if you do. Trouble the black laborador puppy will keep you amused along with relaxing pool lounge area and extensive library. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fayebnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had 2 nights in this beautiful old residence, unfortunately when we were there it was very busy and ,the room we got was very small, but beautifully furnished, the bathroom was nearly as big as the room with everything you could ask for. we discovered next day that they do have bigger rooms which would have been better - one draw back was no tea/coffee making facilities.
Food was good and cooked to order as was the breakfast. The lounge and library were great and very easy to relax in - they have a great library! also a pool if you have time to use it. It is within 5 minutes walk to the town and 10/15 minutes walk to the Fort. Very friendly manager and staff. No TV in room which suited us, but they will supply one if required.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the back in a garden - nice setting but a very small room - we looked in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmackie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nice place. I booked directly through mail and they were very prompt and preoffesional. The lady who manages the property is wonderful and helpful. Take your tips on where to go and where to eat from her.The rooms are nice, the bathrooms not luxurious but cool and clean.
The feel of the property is such that you feel you at at home.The kitchen staff are very friendly and helpful too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JibyThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
4.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 25 in Galle
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#8 of 25 in Galle
570 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#17 of 25 in Galle
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun House

Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#11 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £144 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sun House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun House Hotel Galle
The Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing