We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice but not worth the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dutch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dutch House
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very nice property, but could be kept better. Food was very good and people/service were very good also.
Stayed in the VOC; room was a bit shabby, and had spider webs.
Room was dark too.
Wouldn't recommend more than 3 nights here, and only if you're looking to really unwind.
Air con not well positioned; was blowing on us all through the night.
Just didn't meet expectations...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wix93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for almost a week and would stay again if and when we are next in Galle. We found the room to be clean and homely. We found the staff to be very friendly and the definite best part was the quality of the food at the Sun house next door. The infinity pool was also very pleasant.

As for value I would say good to very good but it needs to be because the price is expensive I would say. Cost and value are relative terms and for us it was worth the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room in the Dutch House and liked it very much. We ate in the Sun house next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed for 5 nites in April & found the Dutch House to be a tasteful , relaxing , laid back boutique hotel - as previously said almost like staying at a friends house.
The staff were ever helpful & discreet , invisible almost but always at hand for your every request.
Meals over at the Sun House were exceptional & again the setting was inspiring overlooking a lovely garden & pool area
The renovation of this old mansion is understated elegance - a perfect example of how an old building should be lovingly restored without te introduction of glitz & glamour.
The grounds & pool are delightful - faded & reflect a bygone era but serene , you really feel you have the place to yourself
Perhaps the AC output could be increased but that's nit picking - overall a truly restful & peaceful place

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdarch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My wife and I spent one night (thankfully) at this property immediately following a heavenly two day stay at Aditya Resort, just a few miles up the road. After seeing the rave reviews of the Dutch House we felt we had to experience this property ourselves. What a mistake!

As an example of a Dutch period house it was nice, tastefully decorated, with gardens well maintained and a well furnished room. But that was all. The service was woeful, although our impression was that the well-meaning staff were trying to please but had little or no training. There was no evidence of any management or supervision, possibly because we were the only guests in the house.

We ordered lunch from the menu shortly after arrival and were presented with an unpalatable pasta dish that was cold and dry and a chicken wrap that appeared to have been taken straight out of the fridge. Dinner was not available on the premises and we had to cross the road in the monsoon rain to a sister property - the Sun House to experience a set menu with very limited choice and a cost that was exorbitant even by 5 star restaurant standards.

The property does not appear to have a stand-by generator as we had a power outage that night from about 4 AM which lasted more than 3 hours. During that time we had to feel our way around in pitch darkness to find and light a candle we had earlier seen in the bathroom and lose 3 hours sleep without fans or airconditioning to cool the place. No explanation or apology was forthcoming that morning. The crowning glory came that morning at breakfast when we were told for the first time that if we wanted a Sri Lankan breakfast we should have told the staff the previous day! I rest my case......

Maybe the attitude we encountered is a reflection of the off season and being the unfortunate only guests in the hotel at the time. If that is the case, maybe it would be better to close the hotel during this period rather than to subject the guests to appaling service and still charge prices more than double those we paid at 5 star hotels in Colombo. This was unquestionably the low-light of our stay in Sri Lanka and we are truly fortunate that it lasted only one night - a nightmare on Upper Dickson Road that we will never forget.

Room Tip: Keep a candle close at hand and your car handy so you can eat somewhere, anywhere, else than on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyJ160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I went with my friend Hannah for a charity fund raising function.. struggled to find the place at night bcuz i in gall some people knows this road from different names ultimately i had a fair deal with a took took guy to show me the way to dutch house.
wearing red funny clothes dunno about fund raising but i went with Hannah,
she took some painting and a night package in dutch house
good food also excellent staff with great garden with infinity pool..
basically it is expensive but u have to try once..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great spot. Only four rooms (I think) and it really feels as if you are staying in a private home. Beautiful setting and remarkably well decorated. Spectacular, really. Our room was massive and made me feel like an English Earl from the colonial era. I'm a pretty spoiled traveler and this place is special.

Sun House is across the street and has a nice bar and good food. It is the sister property and a bit larger. I think we made the correct call by staying at Dutch House and using Sun House when it suited us.

Truly a special place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TSF3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a really pretty, peaceful property on the hill above Galle. Very quiet and relaxing. Attentive staff; very well appointed and apportioned suites. Lovely infinity pool. Good breakfast, and the Sun House and Dick's Bar are 30 seconds' walk for great drinks and dinner.

Room Tip: Ours was the Blue Room - spacious suite with a private door straight into the garden and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sun House
The Sun House
#29 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#20 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Amangalla
Amangalla
#17 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#36 of 60 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apa Villa Illuketia
Apa Villa Illuketia
#33 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dutch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dutch House

Property: The Dutch House
Address: 18 Upper Dickson Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#18 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dutch House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Dutch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dutch House Hotel Galle
Dutch Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing