We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Sri Lankan food”

Lucky Fort Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: WE ARE GIVING THE VERY BEST SRI LANKAN RICE AND 10 CURRIES JUST FOR 950Rs (8 US$) .AND IT IS ENOUGH FOR TWO HUNGRY PERSONS.We are giving Sri Lankan breakfast ,lunch and dinner.there is a one room available for rent for the foreigners.tourists are welcome!!!!!!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Sri Lankan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is a small family restaurant, the daughter serves the food and the mother cooks it.

The 10 curry / rice meal is an absolute bargain and is authentic Sri Lankan.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steven_pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    289
    95
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Meal in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We love this cute little family restaurant.The family use fresh top quality ingredients and take pride in their cooking.We loved it so much we returned.Soul food.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ju_juPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Homemade, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We went to the Lucky Fort restaurant after reading about it on here and it ended up being our favourite meal of our entire trip. The restaurant itself took a bit of finding but it's well worth it. It is literally in a family's back garden and the evening we were there the mum cooked the food and the daughter served it.

We had the taster meal so we had a selection of dishes, all but one were vegetarian, and it was all homemade and delicious. Each dish had its own unique flavour and non of it was too spicy. When we were eating they kept checking that we were enjoying the food and whether we wanted a top up on any of the dishes. The smoothies made of fresh fruit were also delicious.

The price was ridiculously cheap for the amount of, and quality of the food. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NicolaandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem in Galle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lovely restaurant in a quiet back street in Galle. Recommended, The ten curry meal was delightful and the fish and dal great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nev12three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good Food, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This is a really cute place in a little street with a super nice owner, whose mother is also the cook. The food seems authentic and very good, however just a little but bland and touristy. As everywhere in galle, the food is much more pricy than elsewhere in sri lanka, reckon witg roughly 1000 rupees pp.

Helpful?
5 Thank Schdero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Fort Restaurant also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Lucky Fort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing