We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to use as a base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Closenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Closenberg Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Galle
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Good place to use as a base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The good - Clean room, clean toilet, friendly service, lovely view with a private balcony, impeccable location, decent food.

This is a fairly good hotel to make your home if your going to be spending a lot of time walking or hiking around Galle. It's not top of the line, but if it's a nice place to lay your head in the night and a breathtaking view to wake up to, is what you are looking for then, it's definitely a good choice. The rooms are old, but clean and comfortable with clean linen.

The bad - limited service - the phone is answered about 50% of the time, the staff can be a little bit more professional and the food is limited (though whats available was of good quality). Old building which is sometimes in want of a coat of paint, old furniture which wasn't that great on the eyes as you entered the hotel and a few stains on the bathtub. The restaurant area could use a redesign, the coral on coral with a coral background is a little hard on the eyes...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingmongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    78
    51
    26
    22
See reviews for
56
104
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at Closenberg Hotel. The rooms were immaculate with most offering sea views, the colonial architecture was unique and the food delicious. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, willing to go the extra mile to ensure I made the most out of my time in Galle. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were initially disappointed not to be staying in the centre of Galle however the hotel facilities more than made up for it. The rooms all had views over a nice beach with views of a stupa arising out of the jungle in the distance. The air conditioning worked well and the bathrooms worked well. The public spaces were atmospheric and conducive to lingering. We had one of our best meals in Sri Lanka thanks to Chef Shanil who created a prawn biriyani and assorted small curries that were simply delicious. He even went as far as to obtain hopper pans so we could recreate these Sri Lankan delicacies at home.

To get to the historical core of Galle, a short tuk tuk ride is all it takes.

Room Tip: Stay in the modern part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

A beautiful 150 years old colonial ancestral building restored with great sympathy and respect for its history,Infinity pool is just completing so beautiful over looking the ocean. Services of the staff here was impeccable.I recommend at least 3 to 5 nights stay discover the hotel and surrounding.Dinning set up over looking sea is magnificent we had truly magical stay ,Hope to return soon

Room Tip: all the rooms are different and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warunacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Extremely happy with this hotel. This is a lovely colonial building with a perfect location on the harbor. Most rooms have a private balcony or terrace facing East overlooking the water.

I found the rooms to be very clean, nicely appointed and quite fine. I slept very soundly with the gentle sound of the water in the background. Firm but comfortable mattress.

They are in the process of building a swimming pool as of this posting (Aug-2013), but otherwise I had no issue with the condition of the property and they think should hold on to the colonial charm without

I had the Sri Lankan breakfast and it is one of the best that I've had. I've stayed at many properties in Sri Lanka. The dinner was average. Not bad, but nothing too special.

The service of every single person I interacted with here at this property was friendly, knowledgeable and it felt a bit like a family atmosphere and collegial.

Not a problem for me, but one consideration is that the hotel is up on the cliff, so you need to have a car or van or tuk-tuk to get into town. It's only 5 minutes to Galle town proper and perhaps 8-10 minutes to get to the Fort. There was always a tuk-tuk on hand, so really don't let this stop you unless you want to be right in the Fort or in town proper as soon as you step out of your accommodation.

Thanks Closenberg Hotel, I'll be back.

Room Tip: rooms have private balconies or walk-out patio terraces. the main colonial rooms are only open durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lahlahlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I booked the hotel for one night in January 2013. Just for fun (wanted some atmospheric place for a change).

Well, it is true, what is written here – there is some restoration needed. Anyway I won’t say it is too bad – rather tired than completely ruined. At least my room saw some recent painting and was really clean. However, something could be done to the bathroom: replacing the taps and clearing the sewage could do a good job. I was living in a contemporary block of the hotel stylized to resemble the older building, which dates back to the colonial times. For me it was a good stylization, nothing more is really needed (at least in the rooms). The style may seem simple or coarse, but it is a good match for the old part of the hotel, which is also not too smooth or luxurious.

The staff is amazing. You get all sorts of help (or “help” depending on how you may treat it). You’ll get a card from a guy saying his brother is a taxi driver and may take you to some excursions for a reasonable price (I never checked that afterwards). You’ll have a tuktuk driver at the entrance eager to take you to Galle (more expensive, than if you catch a tuktuk in the street). That’s on the one hand. You have a greeting tea, a lady helping you arrange the mosquito net and everybody asking you, whether you need anything. On the other hand. You sleep to the sound of the waves…

…7 a.m. The phone is ringing. Their question is – when you plan to check out today. Well… ordinary check-out hour, that is 12, as everywhere else. OK, they say. Do you want tea or coffee? Errrr… I know that locals wake up early, but… am I also supposed to do the same? OK, I’d have my coffee later… probably in two hours… Well, I never had that coffee. And never heard about it again. No early rising – no coffee (singing: “It’s now or never…”) 

Anyway, I don’t treat that too seriously. I had my atmosphere I was after. That’s the main thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgaginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed here in May 2013 for few days to attend a scheduled meeting in the city. My stay was very comfortable and refreshing. From beginning till end the way the staff members pampered, was very amazing. Nothing was difficult there; rooms were perfect and had all the things of need. All the guys here are very friendly, they guided me a lot about the nearest tourist destinations of the city. The way they served that delicious food, was simply great. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.0 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
6.6 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.6 mi away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#14 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Closenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Closenberg Hotel

Property: Closenberg Hotel
Address: 11 Closenberg Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Closenberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closenberg was built by Captain Bayley in 1860 on top of a peninsula overlooking Galle harbor and the Indian Ocean. Since 1889 it belongs to the Perera Abeyewardene family and is today preserved as a heritage hotel. Large spacious halls, long verandas adorned with antique furniture and terraced gardens are in keeping with Dutch architecture. High ceilings resting on tall round columns and large louvered Teak doors set in arched doorways permit the flow of cool air. Alongside an experience of Sri Lanka's rich colonial past, we offer our guest a welcoming atmosphere, fine dining and an unparalleled view. Closenberg Hotel unique features are: The best location at the middle of Galle Harbor, Uninterrupted seaview from all our rooms, Direct access to beautiful sandy beach ideal and safe for surfing and swimming in all seasons, The unique and timeless elegance of an old Sri Lankan Heritage Hotel often copied but so hard to achieve, A sophisticated blend of service, tradition and cultural experiences Luna Terrace Bar Lounge is the funky trendy place to go and be seen in Galle. Great selection of cocktails, top brand spirits, tapas and fine cafe food. The new infinity pool overlooking the surf of Magalle Bay is a "must have experienced". Closenberg is the ideal gateway for enjoying the beauty of Southern Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Closenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Closenberg Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing