We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD colonial villla”
Review of Closenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Closenberg Hotel
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have heard so much about this hotel from my parents, and apparently I have been there when I was very small. so I decided to visit and spend the weekend. This is an old ‘’seriously in need of repair’’ colonial style hotel. And that’s about it.

The dining area. What waste of good space. Right in the middle of the dining room there is a ugly, filthy fish tank. Which haven’t been cleaned in years. there. there is also a other coral encrusted THINGS in the dining room. There are insects all over the place. The paint is peeling off and in some places there is green mould on the walls. I know it’s an old building but mould on walls in the dining room is a real turn off.

The food is overpriced with small portions. For a hotel in based in Galle the menu had very few sea food varieties . We went to the Galle fort to have lunch, for the same amount of money we had a really filling meal.

The infinity pool, is beautifully designed and overlooks the sea, but when we are there the pool was so dirty, the water was murky and smelling.

I will not recommend this hotel for couples or family’s. if you are just looking for a place to crash, them this is the place.

I will NOT be staying at this place again.

Room Tip: if you have to stay, ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank JAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel, a little bit outside Galle, used to be the villa of a Dutch entrepreneur, and has a fascinating colonial atmosphere. Furthermore, there is a very scenic pool, and a private (even though a bit awkward) access to the see. The only "minus" is that a renovation is now necessary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A classical hotel, and probably the best in absorbing Sri Lanka's colonial and Dutch cultural heritage in down south Sri Lanka. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help you. Architecture reflects the Dutch colonial heritage of Sri Lanka and the building is probably 150 years old and restored with great delicacy and respect for its history. The most amazing feature of this place is the pool overlooking the ocean. Although the pool is small this amazing view is incredible. This can be recommended for those who are looking for a calm and quiet place in Galle Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved the Luna Terrace and the Infinity pool. The view was spectacular from the rooms and from the terrace & pool. Service was super and food was good. Common areas could be maintained a bit more but not losing its charm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rajitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What this Hotel lacks in modern facilities it certainly makes up for in simplicity, charm and good service. It is a smaller hotel that has done a great job to hold on to its colonial era, decorated in dark wood and white walls (and a strange fish tank, that we were told was part of the original homestead) The waiters float about in cummerbunds and a lovely Sri Lankan smile. The newly added pool area is a great way to absorb the fabulous view this hotel has to offer. There are no swipe cards here, just an old fashioned key to open your door. The rooms were clean but the bathrooms would benefit from an upgrade. It was very refreshing to find a hotel that has stood it ground to keep an old world appeal and provide a real view of the country we were visiting. Our time at The Closenberg was a perfect way to end our stay in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I went to the Closenberg Hotel with a group, and dropped in for afternoon tea on the way to Galle from Matara. The service was slow, but the short eats and tea were good. The staff was polite. The scenery and the view of the bay were breathtaking. The coral decorations in the middle of the lobby area clashed with the old Colonial architecture. I cannot comment about the rooms, but looking from outside, a balcony overlooking the approach road looked in serious need of repair. Overall, good to break journey and enjoy the view of the bay, listening to the sound of the waves. It is cool and refreshing to sit by the pool on a hot afternoon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had my 3rd Stay at Closenberg with the family. We really enjoy the Calm and quiet nature of the hotel as it used to be. New interesting addition is the Salt Water Swimming Pool. It is a small infinity type pool with a nice view of the sea.

The service and the staff was very good as usual.

Room Tip: They have about 16 rooms. Upper floor gets a good view of the sea but the lower floor you get a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nirmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galle
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,805 reviews
4 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#7 of 25 in Galle
148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 25 in Galle
244 reviews
1.7 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
942 reviews
3.6 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#11 of 25 in Galle
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Closenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Closenberg Hotel

Address: 11 Closenberg Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £76 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Closenberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closenberg was built by Captain Bayley in 1860 on top of a peninsula overlooking Galle harbor and the Indian Ocean. Since 1889 it belongs to the Perera Abeyewardene family and is today preserved as a heritage hotel. Large spacious halls, long verandas adorned with antique furniture and terraced gardens are in keeping with Dutch architecture. High ceilings resting on tall round columns and large louvered Teak doors set in arched doorways permit the flow of cool air. Alongside an experience of Sri Lanka's rich colonial past, we offer our guest a welcoming atmosphere, fine dining and an unparalleled view. Closenberg Hotel unique features are: The best location at the middle of Galle Harbor, Uninterrupted seaview from all our rooms, Direct access to beautiful sandy beach ideal and safe for surfing and swimming in all seasons, The unique and timeless elegance of an old Sri Lankan Heritage Hotel often copied but so hard to achieve, A sophisticated blend of service, tradition and cultural experiences Luna Terrace Bar Lounge is the funky trendy place to go and be seen in Galle. Great selection of cocktails, top brand spirits, tapas and fine cafe food. The new infinity pool overlooking the surf of Magalle Bay is a "must have experienced". Closenberg is the ideal gateway for enjoying the beauty of Southern Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Closenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Closenberg Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing