We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cedric d
Oyonnax, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a week at the Ivory House and it was wonderful! A lot of thoughts have been put through the design of this house, it is absolutely magnificiant! Mr Sunil (the house manager) and his team are so lovely, the service is efficient without beeing in your face all the time. And as for the food, it was fantastic, Mr Sunil's currys are delicious, so were all the other meals. Food was much better at the villa than in any other places we visited. The Ivory house was perfect for a group of friends like us or for a family. It is really quite, the garden and the pool are devine. We even saw monkeys jumping from tree to tree while swiming in the pool, so unreal!. It is trully the best private house we've ever stayed at, like a luxury resort without the noisy other guests! Can't wait to return!

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Dear Cedric,
Thank you so much for writing the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory House.
Best Regards.
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolajtr...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible villa, only second to the amazing staff there.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our group of 4 friends (in 3 rooms) were blown away by the villa. Having lived in Asia and traveled for some years this is the stand out best I have ever stayed in. Amazing rice paddy setting and the house was colonial yet very modern design. However, it was Suranga, Sunil and the team who were what made our stay amazing. Suranga was our host, transport organiser, cocktail maker and all round man of the day. Having worked in top hotels before mixing cocktails, he was very pleased to suggest to whip up some dark and stormies, caprioskas and moscow mules. Sunil was our 5* chef whose food was the best we had in Sri Lanka. From curry to western food, he could do everything. Make sure you get in the kitchen with him and learn how to make the 10 curries he made for us one night.

This place is designed for entertaining, which was exactly what we had planned. 8 friends were staying in nearby villas and we had them over for two dinner parties. Sunil and Suranga took this in their stride and were actually excited to host. They did not disappoint and were always on standby to fill up drinks, nibbles and made the evenings a great success for 12 people.

It was a little bit hard to find for guests arriving - however they do help to arrange transport and are around to help direct if needed. Only negative would be that the wifi came from two devices which constantly needed charging and though the signal was great, it meant that if you weren't next to one then you did not have wifi. This was sometimes an issue when someone took one to bed! But why do you need wifi when the villa is so good anyway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff, the food, the service!
Liked least: Wifi was in 2 portable devices, so you needed to be near one of them.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Dear Nicole,
Thank you so much for writing the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory House.
Best Regards.
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenai...
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“I want to move in!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

One of the very best villas I have stayed in in all of Asia. The villa itself was spectacular inside and out, refurbished in excellent taste.

Sunil and the team were always very helpful and the food prepared was some of the best on the island. They were friendly and made the whole week that much more special.

Location is about 40 minutes from centre of Galle, but the village has tuk-tuks that are only 5 mins notice away.

I would definitely come here again on my next visit.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Dear Stephen,
Thank you so much for writing the review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards.
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ivory House”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just stayed for a week @ Ivory House.
Suranga and his team; Sunil the 5* chef, Thnuja the house lady and Kelum the gardener couldn’t have made our stay any better, they delivered a 5* service in a really friendly and welcoming environment. They couldn’t do enough for you.
The grounds of the house had all kinds of wildlife that were fascinating to watch; troupes’ of black monkeys would visit at various times during the day, large lizards would patrol the grass looking for meals, a family of Mongoose’s (or is that Môn geese?) would wander about the grounds, love birds and kingfishers would come and drink from the pool at dusk, woodpeckers and parrots were always busy in the trees. Then there were chipmunks, peacocks etc. etc.
All right, the house isn’t close to the beach, but a must do part of being in Sri Lanka is travelling, it’s an adventure all in itself. From travelling by Tuk Tuk or by car (we had hired car + driver for the week which is well worth thinking about), getting anywhere isn’t quick but that gives you time to take in the surroundings, people, environment – everything that is Sri Lanka. When you do arrive at the beach, they are so clean and the surf is great to watch. We visited Mirrisa and Koggala beaches, both were fantastic. PS. Give the one at Galle a miss.
The house itself is well designed with plenty of room. The pool is excellent, good size and more importantly was very warm!! Plenty of space around the house to wander about or just relax. You can also walk from the house to the near bye lake, about 20 minutes. House is adjacent to paddy fields, but apart from that is pretty secluded giving an ideal location for a relaxing hol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Dear Alexander,
Thank you so much for writing the review. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbora A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic family spring break”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a fantastic and relaxing holiday we had. This was our first time booking a villa for holiday and visiting Sri Lanka as well.We were a party of 4 adults and 5 kids
We were looked after very well, be it from our creative chef Sunil, who was ready to fulfill our every whim.He cooked different meals for the kids and us adults too . Kids loved his fish fingers and pancakes. They could eat that all day. Suranga, was very attentive and always ready to spoil the children and us too. The house and the grounds were beautiful and oh so relaxing.
The kids loved the pool, the exploring in the gardens. We saw monkeys and iguanas and kingfishers all from our own comfortable villa.
The only drawback is that the villa is a little ways from the beach. That reflected on times and prices of transport and also food as chef Sunil had to travel a little further to get to shops.
Food was amazing and fresh and we did find it a little more pricey than what we are used to.
Other than that we had amazing holidays, ate fantastic meals and had so much fun.
The beaches were so clean (we could not spot any cigarette butts or other rubbish), locals were always smiling and so willing to help. we will for sure be back and recommend this to our friends.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Dear Barbora,

Thank you very much for taking time to write the review.
We are glad to hear such comments from you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmy6226g
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect January getaway”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

It is with a longing look back that we left Sri Lanka and its "Ivory House". The past two weeks are something we will remember every single second of - we quite forgot where we came from!
From Sunil the chef's mouth watering, exceptional cooking - which rivals any top London restaurant - to Suranga the house boy's five star service, we have been treated like royalty and can't express the gratitude we have for turning what is usually a dull and dreary January into an exotic feast for the senses. Talking of Sunil's cooking, if you have the chance to get in the kitchen with him, do! He is only too happy to teach you anything you may wish to learn about Sri Lankan cuisine; and don't be shy about asking Suranga to organise things like whale watching, a tuc tuc to the glorious, golden beaches or even a heavenly massage. Nothing is too much of an ask for him.
Special thanks must go to Kelum and Thnuja - the gardner and room lady - for constantly endeavouring our stay was as seamless and paradise-like as possible.
With lizards, monkeys, kingfishers and chipmunks to view in their natural habitat, "Ivory House" has been one of our most memorable holidays and though we were sad to leave, we did so happy, incredibly well rested, with full bellies and full hearts.

Thank You!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and their impeccable service / Sunil's cooking
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
Dear Damian,

Thank you very much for taking time to write the review.
We are glad to hear such comments from you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ivory House.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Utter Paradise!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The owners of the Ivory House have created utter paradise against a backdrop of paddy fields, coconut palms, wildlife and simplistic yet stunning village life. The Ivory House is immaculately furnished and decorated in the style of the 5* Amangalla, offering spacious accommodation, peace and tranquility in luxurious style. The property is vast and so spacious, that even when full to capacity, you can still wander around without getting on top of one another or seeing another guest. The infinity pool is perfect for swimming or just lying on the shallow steps of kingfisher blue tiles to cool down from the hot sun. The staff are lovely and very friendly and the service is of a high standard. The food is delicious and a Sri Lankan omelette for breakfast is an essential kick start to any day. The Ivory House was simply the best stay I have ever experienced in a privately owned villa - outstanding. I thoroughly recommend visiting this paradise before it gets fully booked.... for ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Dear Susie,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back when you can get here.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing