We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Galle”
Review of Lady Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lady Hill
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We got a new room which was really good. Hotel staff is efficient and very Nice. Nice view on Galle.

+ : staff, location, new room, people are very nice
- : no elevators for old people

Don't miss the monkeys

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VG75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Lady Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

I want there on July 2013,the retaurant is fantastic view at 360° covering the town of Galle ,food is good and good service , just for one or two nights there that's perfect. A real good choice....
You just have to clim the "hill" ....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night in this hotel but it was a great experience. From the moment we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpfull. We were greated at the drive way by the bellboy and welcomed by several staff members with cold towels and welcome drinks. We were checked in by Diresh who immediately explained all facilities of the hotel.

The rooms were beautiful and spacious with a nice balcony. We enjoyed a good room service lunch before exploring the city. At the end of the afternoon we had some beers' at the rooftop terracce and we watched the sun set, following by an amazing seafood platter.

The next morning we had breakfast which you van order from a menu before we checked out.

In general it was a great stay! My husband and I both work for 5 star hotels in Dubai, so we are used to luxury and high standard service and we must say that the people from this hotel really understand what guests are looking for in a hotel. One suggestion we have is to promote your roof top terracce, as it has an amazing view on Galle and the food is excellent!

Thanks to Diresh for his hospitality

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

we were at galle for two nights. it was a fabulous stay. Very old douch house converted to a hotel. nice pool over looking the galle city the roof top bar gives a panaromic view towards Galle city.very friendly staff. excellent fine ding menus. modern rooms with nice private balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prabath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, particulary the food and beverage manager. Good food. A litle out of town but with beautiful city view from the roof top restaurant. Bathroom very small. Look over the terrace railing to see monkeys swinging from the electric wires

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank gottogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and I was pleasantly surprised. Our room had undergone complete renovation. The bathroom and room was on the small side but it was nicely designed with room for luggage and storage etc. there was a lovely view of the city and temples set amongst the green bush.. The sunrise was beautiful each day. The staff were lovely and the chef more than happy to cook for us outside the menu choice. we didn't come to Sri Lanka to have Western food so the evening meal of curries was delicious, and when we asked for String Hoppers for breakfast ( with some notice given ) they were only too happy to do it for us. The pool was lovely and the views from the terrace restaurant. I liked the location too... Only 10 mins walk from the centre at the most.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank NZGirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Newly revamped this hotel is beautifully modern and very comfortable.
the maitre de in charge of the restaurants is extreemly attentive and very kind.(I felt unwell,over tired and he was genuinely concerned)
The other staff are all at a similar level.
The hotel is all on different levels!
It is a little noisy but it is due to the town and not the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahdeharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,758 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bartizan
The Bartizan
#14 of 23 in Galle
15 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amari Galle
Amari Galle
#8 of 23 in Galle
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#16 of 23 in Galle
327 reviews
4.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hill

Address: 29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galle
#6 Spa Hotel in Galle
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galle
Price Range: £65 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lady Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the highest point of the ancient port city of Galle sits the Lady Hill Hotel, where you will be overwhelmed by the breathtaking and panoramic “Bird’s Eye View” of the lush green countryside stretching from the tea covered slopes of the Southern foothills all the way down to merge with the brilliant blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Located in close proximity to the city’s pulsating heart and to some of the best beaches in the Island, yet secluded enough to offer a measure of tranquility and serenity, that the discerning traveler eagerly looks forward to after a weary bout of sightseeing and exploration. Thereby, adhering to the watchwords “Lose yourself in the Experience and not in the Crowd”.Entering the portals of the Lady Hill, one is treated to an architectural edifice, echoing the legacy of the ancient Colonial Dutch period, from the imposing entrance archway, down to the natural cobblestone floor. However, as you progress through the lobby, where you will be greeted with the traditional Sri Lankan welcome of “AYUBOWAN”, which translates as “May You Have Long Life”, you notice a subtle but appreciative change in the conceptual idea.You will be ushered to your room via a rustic granite stone stairway, flanked by a strip of fresh water fish ponds and upon entering your room, will be amazed to find that you have been transported from the past into the future within the space of a few short ticks of the clock. The rooms are furnished with ultra modern futuristic style décor and posses state of the art facilities and amenities which are all that you, as an honored guest, could possibly hope for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lady Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing