We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A1 for Service, for Views and for Trying Hard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lady Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lady Hill
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A1 for Service, for Views and for Trying Hard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We loved this boutique hotel within walking distance of everything but on a hill overlooking Galle. Fabulous roof top restaurant which could not do enough to cater to our particular vegetarian needs. No TV reception a minus and very small cramped rooms but nicely renovated with great balcony and views second to none - they put us in a triple room which provided some respite from the cramp. Nevertheless, it is a great hotel and though not in the class of some of the upmarket ones in the Old Fort section of town, it didnt have the exhorbitant price tag. Bought nice sapphire jewellery for little money from the hotel gift shop - best value anywhere. Fabulous served breakfast with the best roti I have ever tasted. Good work people of this hotel - you take great pride and we appreciated the service with a smile and customer service attitude.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms just under the restaurant kitchen and away from the tempple/mosque loudspeakers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    121
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
50
110
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

It is like a guest house but the service is in league with any world class hotel .great rooms great personalized service ,great views ,May be away from the fort ,I am a housekeeper by trade and I was blown away by the simplicity of an amazing turn down service provided during our stay .one place I will definitely stay if I visit Sri Lanka again .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pragyagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in that "hotel" for one night to see Galle in July. It's may be a hotel for asian people but it's just a guest house for european standards!
It's on the hill, far from the fort, it has 4 floors and no lift, the rooms are renewed (quite tasteless) but the bathroom has exactly 2 sq meters, the sheets are patched, no more white but grey and they smell to mildew (as well as the towels), there's no buffet for breakfast (just continental breakfast) and at 11 in the morning the swimming pool is not yet cleaned (I wonder if they clean it sometimes?).
Avoid absolutely if you want a real hotel and choose a hotel in the fort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mininani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We got a new room which was really good. Hotel staff is efficient and very Nice. Nice view on Galle.

+ : staff, location, new room, people are very nice
- : no elevators for old people

Don't miss the monkeys

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VG75004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I want there on July 2013,the retaurant is fantastic view at 360° covering the town of Galle ,food is good and good service , just for one or two nights there that's perfect. A real good choice....
You just have to clim the "hill" ....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night in this hotel but it was a great experience. From the moment we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpfull. We were greated at the drive way by the bellboy and welcomed by several staff members with cold towels and welcome drinks. We were checked in by Diresh who immediately explained all facilities of the hotel.

The rooms were beautiful and spacious with a nice balcony. We enjoyed a good room service lunch before exploring the city. At the end of the afternoon we had some beers' at the rooftop terracce and we watched the sun set, following by an amazing seafood platter.

The next morning we had breakfast which you van order from a menu before we checked out.

In general it was a great stay! My husband and I both work for 5 star hotels in Dubai, so we are used to luxury and high standard service and we must say that the people from this hotel really understand what guests are looking for in a hotel. One suggestion we have is to promote your roof top terracce, as it has an amazing view on Galle and the food is excellent!

Thanks to Diresh for his hospitality

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

we were at galle for two nights. it was a fabulous stay. Very old douch house converted to a hotel. nice pool over looking the galle city the roof top bar gives a panaromic view towards Galle city.very friendly staff. excellent fine ding menus. modern rooms with nice private balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.5 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
0.1 mi away
The Sun House
The Sun House
#10 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#13 of 23 in Galle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dutch House
The Dutch House
#15 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#3 of 23 in Galle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hill

Property: Lady Hill
Address: 29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galle
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lady Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the highest point of the ancient port city of Galle sits the Lady Hill Hotel, where you will be overwhelmed by the breathtaking and panoramic “Bird’s Eye View” of the lush green countryside stretching from the tea covered slopes of the Southern foothills all the way down to merge with the brilliant blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Located in close proximity to the city’s pulsating heart and to some of the best beaches in the Island, yet secluded enough to offer a measure of tranquility and serenity, that the discerning traveler eagerly looks forward to after a weary bout of sightseeing and exploration. Thereby, adhering to the watchwords “Lose yourself in the Experience and not in the Crowd”.Entering the portals of the Lady Hill, one is treated to an architectural edifice, echoing the legacy of the ancient Colonial Dutch period, from the imposing entrance archway, down to the natural cobblestone floor. However, as you progress through the lobby, where you will be greeted with the traditional Sri Lankan welcome of “AYUBOWAN”, which translates as “May You Have Long Life”, you notice a subtle but appreciative change in the conceptual idea.You will be ushered to your room via a rustic granite stone stairway, flanked by a strip of fresh water fish ponds and upon entering your room, will be amazed to find that you have been transported from the past into the future within the space of a few short ticks of the clock. The rooms are furnished with ultra modern futuristic style décor and posses state of the art facilities and amenities which are all that you, as an honored guest, could possibly hope for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing