We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be very good if it weren't for for a couple of problems”
Review of Lady Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lady Hill
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would be very good if it weren't for for a couple of problems”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here two nights towards the end of a week in Sri Lanka and I had high expectations as we walked in to be greeted by gracious staff, cold towels and a very nice welcome drink. It's quite a lovely little boutique hotel and the rooms very modern, well maintained, compact but efficient. They seem, however, to have a problem with their hot water. We all had cold showers at night and again at 5am the next morning. Some of our party had an exceptionally early start as we were going whale-watching. When the water didn't seem to be heating up at all, calls were made to night reception to no avail. This resulted in a member of our party (unfortunately the oldest, in his 70s) to go off in search of a response, stumbling about in complete darkness on the ground floor and calling for help. The night watchman materialised out of a corner and obliged by flicking on a switch. Despite explaining the problem to the staff in the daytime and describing the unfortunate adventure, we were treated to a 2nd night of cold water. The staff seemed to not understand at all, which is disappointing and really doesn't match the appearance of the hotel, nor the price. It may not be in the higher end of hotels in Galle, but neither is it a cheap motel, and it is reasonable for us all to expect better. If it weren't for this, our stay would have been very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    122
    37
    13
    14
See reviews for
53
111
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Galle is one of our favorite destinations within Sri Lanka - since both me and my wife are 'tickled pink' over antiques and antiquities ! The trouble though is that Galle either has really expensive hotels - and the cheap ones leave much to be desired for (to put it mildly and politically correctly !)

Lady Hill was a chance find - and this was over 8 years ago. Ever since then, if we are going to Galle, Lady Hill is where we call out first ! Here is why :
1. It is affordable - it truly is excellent value for money
2. It has a charm of its own - the pool certainly helps with the kids - but overall, there is a unique 'ambience' to the place
3. The food is excellent - the ham and cheese omelet in the morning a personal favorite of mine - and you MUST TRY THE SEA FOOD PLATTER - for 1500SLR it is BY FAR the best value for money platter you can find anywhere in SL ! Needless to say, it tastes brilliant !
4. The service is friendly, and everyone has a smile - makes a HUGE difference !
5. It is close to town - but at the same time, far away enough ! The views from the restaurant at the top is excellent !

So, looking for a place in Galle, give Lady Hill a try - you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidusha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,001 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We were served tamarind juice upon arrival.
Lady Hill indeed, the lady lies on top of a hill in the city of Galle (pronounced Gaul). The “Lady” perhaps represents a feminine theme in its own right and a ripe opportunity for the building designer (architect) to pride himself of a somewhat different from the common designs. The wall paint is white, the linens and an illuminated acrylic tube inserted in a pole like frome to emit a soft light effect. The doors and cabinets have a white wash trim including railings to the balcony, the lounge and a shimmery silver floor in the bathroom. The bathrooms have mirror in all corners to give an open and wide look when in fact, you could barely move or turn around to move freely. But darn it, the rooms are soooooo tiny. A far cry from what we have been used to all week. The total square footage of these rooms are not even hald of our previous accommodations. Breakfast is a choice of western or Sri Lanka curry theme or “plate” service, not like the buffet from the other hotels. This is fine with me as I cannot possibly eat all those choices. This hotel only has about 15 rooms therefore it makes sense for them to have smaller breakfasts. Pool is in front of the reception with no amenities whatsoever. The rooftop restaurant has an excellent view of the city. During breakfast, the servers took our orders and confused every single one and gave them to the wrong people who ordered them. Oh my!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiana_Jonesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was an awesome experience in my life. Just before this day we had bad experience in UBR and Lady Hill was a haven compared to UBR.
The room was new and clean. Enchanting view from balcony increased this feeling.
Anyway menu is a little bit complicated but delicious.

Room Tip: My room was 302. It was on the third floor and had the best view of town over the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADG19830310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a local friend who checks in all his visiting guests here. To say that we loved our stay would be an understatement. We had a back breaking road trip to Galle from the hills...but all the weariness vanished when we were welcomed with hot towels, herbal drinks and flowers. Nice touch for a boutique hotel. The rooms were in the new renovated building; though small, it didn't feel crammed. The tiny balcony overlooked the shimmering city before. Dinner was a delight, with the waiters going the extra mile to get us what we wanted though we were the only diners. Ditto with breakfast. Though we were the only guests, the spread on our table was splendid. The clincher however was the pool...had it to myself all morning and I loved it. Highly recommended for the views, the service and the quiet.

Room Tip: New rooms are sparkling clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissiefrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Looking for accommodation during Colombo Fashion Week Resortwear 2013 in Galle proved to be frightfully difficult. A chance discover on a website made me book the Lady Hill and it was a great choice. The room was clean and spacious. It was well appointed. The hotel which sits atop a hill has a splendid view of the harbour. The staff are very nice always with a smile on their face too. The Sri Lankan breakfast we had was simply divine and generous portions too. Lady Hill although is not on the beach is lucky to have a nice pool. A true discovery it realy is a hidden gem of Galle

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houten
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

In august we stayed our last two nights in Kandy in Lady Hill, a luxury hotel with perfect, modern rooms, a nice balcony to sit and read, fish ponds inside the hotel, etc. When relaxing in the swimming pool, you can watch the monkeys being fed at about 5.00 PM (they don’t come too close to the pool). From the hotel and the pool you have a great view over part of the area.
We appreciated the very friendly, helpfull personal. A misunderstanding about the reservation was solved in good harmony with coulance from the manager; thanks again.
We left for Colombo at 9.00 PM; after checking out in the morning, we still could use facilitys of the hotel with all help of the personal.
Good restaurant with a perfect view over the whole area; beautiful in the evening!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.5 mi away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
1.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Fort Hotel
Galle Fort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Galle
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#13 of 23 in Galle
310 reviews
4.8 mi away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#8 of 23 in Galle
254 reviews
4.4 mi away
Niyagama House
Niyagama House
#4 of 23 in Galle
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hill

Property: Lady Hill
Address: 29 Upper Dickson Road, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galle
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lady Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the highest point of the ancient port city of Galle sits the Lady Hill Hotel, where you will be overwhelmed by the breathtaking and panoramic “Bird’s Eye View” of the lush green countryside stretching from the tea covered slopes of the Southern foothills all the way down to merge with the brilliant blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Located in close proximity to the city’s pulsating heart and to some of the best beaches in the Island, yet secluded enough to offer a measure of tranquility and serenity, that the discerning traveler eagerly looks forward to after a weary bout of sightseeing and exploration. Thereby, adhering to the watchwords “Lose yourself in the Experience and not in the Crowd”.Entering the portals of the Lady Hill, one is treated to an architectural edifice, echoing the legacy of the ancient Colonial Dutch period, from the imposing entrance archway, down to the natural cobblestone floor. However, as you progress through the lobby, where you will be greeted with the traditional Sri Lankan welcome of “AYUBOWAN”, which translates as “May You Have Long Life”, you notice a subtle but appreciative change in the conceptual idea.You will be ushered to your room via a rustic granite stone stairway, flanked by a strip of fresh water fish ponds and upon entering your room, will be amazed to find that you have been transported from the past into the future within the space of a few short ticks of the clock. The rooms are furnished with ultra modern futuristic style décor and posses state of the art facilities and amenities which are all that you, as an honored guest, could possibly hope for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lady Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hill Hotel Galle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing